Chevron Left
Voltar para Transtorno do Espectro Autista

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Transtorno do Espectro Autista da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
estrelas
949 classificações
256 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Understanding the characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their implications for behavior, learning and the ability to process information is critical for anyone working or interacting with those on the spectrum -- educators, clinicians, counselors, therapists, medical staff, family and employers. This course will give you a fundamental understanding of what ASD is, how it is diagnosed, the primary areas of impairment, and why prevalence is increasing. Examine the developmental and sensori-motor differences that may impact academic, play, social and self-help skills at different stages of life, including the transition to higher education and employment. Gain a clear understanding of how sensory regulation differs for individuals on the spectrum, and explore practical tools for identifying triggers and communicating feelings. Learn to use evidence-based practices to provide effective interventions and explore typical strengths and weaknesses of individuals on the spectrum in relation to identified impairments. The course culminates with a description of the ASD system of care, an overview of the National Standards Report studies and treatments, and an explanation of how evidence-based practices are established and implemented. Those seeking a more in-depth, instructor-led experience are encouraged to check out the Professional Concentration in Autism offered by UC Davis Extension: https://extension.ucdavis.edu/certificate-program/professional-concentration-autism-spectrum-disorders...

Melhores avaliações

MF

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting and informative. I taught children with special needs for 33 years. I think this course would be very helpful to new teachers and anyone interested in learning basic info on ASD.

KS

Sep 15, 2017

Loved the videos, lots of good material. Wish there had been more discussion, but I was so busy, I might not have been able to participate very much. Overall helpful and useful in my profession.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Transtorno do Espectro Autista

por Edna M

Apr 20, 2016

Excellent!

por Jorge C B

Oct 08, 2019

Excellent

por Mohamed S F

Jun 20, 2019

very good

por Samira N R M A d O

Aug 31, 2017

Perfect!!

por Silvia A d S

Jan 22, 2016

Amazing!

por mais h g

Sep 18, 2018

good...

por Jaime A H D L T

Jun 17, 2019

Genial

por abra

Mar 05, 2019

الخامس

por provost

Aug 21, 2019

Great

por Michelle d M F

Aug 24, 2017

Yay

por Eugenia U

Jan 30, 2016

T

por Kateryna T

Jan 06, 2019

Thank you for such great opportunity to study the ASD in completely new way. I am not American, so it was really wonderful for me, to look at ASD from another side.

I think this course could be a little bit deeper in questions like teaching methods for children with ASD, but this topic is so big, that it`s hard to learn it just in 5 weeks.

Nevertheless, I have finished this course in 1 day, not 5 weeks.

I would like to appriciate for the scholarship, which gave me a Certificate, which I will use in my future work.

Hope to study more about ASD, so I will think about applying to the University of California, Davis, for Master`s degree.

Good luck everybody!

por Miruna S

Apr 04, 2019

Although it was only a general overview of what autism stands for, this course was quite helpful in explaining the basics. The subject is nevertheless vague even for specialists who cannot exactly point at certain causes or treatments, but it is relieving to know that research is being done and more and more people can receive specialized support for this kind of problems.

It's a pity that one cannot finish the course (that means, do the quizzes) without paying for the certificate, and since I don't need a certificate, I still feel like a lost a bit of what might have been a motivation to pay even more attention to certain aspects of the lessons.

por Judy

Feb 12, 2016

This course was a great overview introduction into ASD. The information was presented so the information was not overwhelming. You begin the course by looking at ASD from a wide-lens down to details. This is recommended for anyone who is interested in learning more about ASD and then to take more details classes as needed. The videos that were part of the course were informative. There was not a lot of discussions nor was this class led by any instructor. I wished it had links to more articles or more in-depth information, especially the weeks on the developmental areas.

por Pamela J R

Oct 14, 2017

Thanks for the great information. Hope to see more classes with updated information on research and treatment in the future. As a grandmother of a child with Autism, this type of course is much appreciated to counter all the claims and theories that are made in media, books by non-professionals and anecdotal articles coming from either a romanticized view of Autism or playing on the hopes for a miracle cure that is a predictable phase following diagnosis.

por Charis V N M Y

May 27, 2018

It was great as an introduction; but would also like more in-depth content. Also perhaps things like how with "an increased rate of autism" (which as we've just learnt is more about an increased rate of accurate diagnosis), what specialists and therapists are doing. Particularly if the diagnosis is done really early on, but also how to move forward if unfortunately it's only managed to be identified a lot later in life.

por Paige P

Jul 02, 2018

Had a fantastic time with this course! The clear, thoughtfully-made lessons were excellent! My only qualms were that the quizzes were on the easy side and the course only took about 3-5 hours to complete-- definitely something you could complete in a single day if you wanted to! I would have liked more content that would have truly taken me 5 weeks to complete. Thanks for the helpful info!

por Kate C

Dec 18, 2016

Very good and clear overview of the diagnosis and characteristics of childhood autism and the assessment and choice of effective evidence-based treatment and education. There is very little about adults with autism, and there is no interaction facilitated between learners or between learners and educators.

por Dorothy F

Mar 18, 2019

This course has a lot of information it. However, I felt I was left with more questions than answers. But, that could also be due to the lack of information and research available. It could also be restructured into a different order of the classes/weeks.

por Jasen S

Jun 24, 2016

This course was a good introduction to ASD. I was hoping to learn more about how to best serve students with ASD, but this course was not designed solely for educators. I will now look for a more specialized course in ASD.

por Sheila G

Jun 12, 2017

As an instructional aide for special education I found this course very helpful. Every bit more knowledge we have about ASD can help us educate and support our students.

por Vicky K

Jul 28, 2016

An intresting course. Lectures are small and very easy to comprehend. The whole course has a great structure and help you learn and remember things!

por Liliana S C M

Dec 21, 2019

Me gustó mucho, información útil, debido a que sólo está en inglés me agrada que no haya actividades a realizar, los exámenes refuerzan lo leído.

por Robert T M M

Sep 16, 2019

Nice simple introduction. Opens the doors for learners to follow up on areas of greater detail consistent with their indivudual needs.

por meenakshi b

Dec 25, 2015

very useful course. gave insight into a lot of the issues faced by children with asd. a little more detail would be even more useful.