Chevron Left
Voltar para Transtorno do Espectro Autista

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Transtorno do Espectro Autista da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
842 classificações
224 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Understanding the characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their implications for behavior, learning and the ability to process information is critical for anyone working or interacting with those on the spectrum -- educators, clinicians, counselors, therapists, medical staff, family and employers. This course will give you a fundamental understanding of what ASD is, how it is diagnosed, the primary areas of impairment, and why prevalence is increasing. Examine the developmental and sensori-motor differences that may impact academic, play, social and self-help skills at different stages of life, including the transition to higher education and employment. Gain a clear understanding of how sensory regulation differs for individuals on the spectrum, and explore practical tools for identifying triggers and communicating feelings. Learn to use evidence-based practices to provide effective interventions and explore typical strengths and weaknesses of individuals on the spectrum in relation to identified impairments. The course culminates with a description of the ASD system of care, an overview of the National Standards Report studies and treatments, and an explanation of how evidence-based practices are established and implemented. Those seeking a more in-depth, instructor-led experience are encouraged to check out the Professional Concentration in Autism offered by UC Davis Extension: https://extension.ucdavis.edu/certificate-program/professional-concentration-autism-spectrum-disorders...

Melhores avaliações

MF

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting and informative. I taught children with special needs for 33 years. I think this course would be very helpful to new teachers and anyone interested in learning basic info on ASD.

KS

Sep 15, 2017

Loved the videos, lots of good material. Wish there had been more discussion, but I was so busy, I might not have been able to participate very much. Overall helpful and useful in my profession.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Transtorno do Espectro Autista

por Sheila G

Jun 12, 2017

As an instructional aide for special education I found this course very helpful. Every bit more knowledge we have about ASD can help us educate and support our students.

por Daniela V

Mar 02, 2016

It was excellent, but I expected more feedback in the discussion forums.

por Igor K

Feb 20, 2016

Good but short course. The statment of acomplishment is unaviable.

50$ for short course is a big price

por Kate C

Dec 18, 2016

Very good and clear overview of the diagnosis and characteristics of childhood autism and the assessment and choice of effective evidence-based treatment and education. There is very little about adults with autism, and there is no interaction facilitated between learners or between learners and educators.

por Judy

Feb 12, 2016

This course was a great overview introduction into ASD. The information was presented so the information was not overwhelming. You begin the course by looking at ASD from a wide-lens down to details. This is recommended for anyone who is interested in learning more about ASD and then to take more details classes as needed. The videos that were part of the course were informative. There was not a lot of discussions nor was this class led by any instructor. I wished it had links to more articles or more in-depth information, especially the weeks on the developmental areas.

por Pamela J R

Oct 14, 2017

Thanks for the great information. Hope to see more classes with updated information on research and treatment in the future. As a grandmother of a child with Autism, this type of course is much appreciated to counter all the claims and theories that are made in media, books by non-professionals and anecdotal articles coming from either a romanticized view of Autism or playing on the hopes for a miracle cure that is a predictable phase following diagnosis.

por Lucero B C

Jun 15, 2017

Really helpfull but more of a general look into autism

por Jasen S

Jun 24, 2016

This course was a good introduction to ASD. I was hoping to learn more about how to best serve students with ASD, but this course was not designed solely for educators. I will now look for a more specialized course in ASD.

por Ammar A

Apr 12, 2017

Thanks for the rich and well conducted course. It was very beneficial for me and I recommended it to my friends.

por Areej A

Jul 28, 2017

great course. It would be made even better if it included more medicine. Thank you

por Wong M H S

Apr 10, 2016

It's a really great class to know about Autism. The information is sufficient as well.

por meenakshi b

Dec 25, 2015

very useful course. gave insight into a lot of the issues faced by children with asd. a little more detail would be even more useful.

por Salau R A

Jan 10, 2016

n

por Charis V N M Y

May 27, 2018

It was great as an introduction; but would also like more in-depth content. Also perhaps things like how with "an increased rate of autism" (which as we've just learnt is more about an increased rate of accurate diagnosis), what specialists and therapists are doing. Particularly if the diagnosis is done really early on, but also how to move forward if unfortunately it's only managed to be identified a lot later in life.

por JORGE R M

Jun 06, 2018

Thanks

por Preeti

Jan 29, 2017

Informative for beginners

por Paige P

Jul 02, 2018

Had a fantastic time with this course! The clear, thoughtfully-made lessons were excellent! My only qualms were that the quizzes were on the easy side and the course only took about 3-5 hours to complete-- definitely something you could complete in a single day if you wanted to! I would have liked more content that would have truly taken me 5 weeks to complete. Thanks for the helpful info!

por Maitu B

Jun 02, 2017

El curso es muy completo, pero creo que le hacen mucha propaganda a la universidad.

por Miruna S

Apr 04, 2019

Although it was only a general overview of what autism stands for, this course was quite helpful in explaining the basics. The subject is nevertheless vague even for specialists who cannot exactly point at certain causes or treatments, but it is relieving to know that research is being done and more and more people can receive specialized support for this kind of problems.

It's a pity that one cannot finish the course (that means, do the quizzes) without paying for the certificate, and since I don't need a certificate, I still feel like a lost a bit of what might have been a motivation to pay even more attention to certain aspects of the lessons.

por Tenzin T

Aug 30, 2019

great initiative and very enlightening. thank you.

por Robert T M M

Sep 16, 2019

Nice simple introduction. Opens the doors for learners to follow up on areas of greater detail consistent with their indivudual needs.

por Tom G

Dec 21, 2018

Clear and factual course with well presented materials. I found the scope of the course to be very narrow though, lacking a diversity of perspective and no consideration given to the new directions that international autism research is taking. For example, the challenges to the role of theory of mind in autism deficits or the research being conducted by autistic academics. There are autistic individuals working in academia who are responsible for more than photocopying and making the tea! It is also somewhat telling that Autism speaks features prominently in the recommended reading, not to mention the implied ABA bias in the intervention module.

por Bhrigu M

Mar 11, 2019

Good course covers everything related to ASD ,I feel the lecture goes at a very fast pace without explaining much. anyhow I completely enjoyed the course I being a special educator is confident enough this course has widened my horizons. Thanks to the UC Davis mind institute team.

por Ana C M B

Mar 13, 2017

There are some errors on the quizzes in between the videos. I had to skip a lot of them because it wound't accept the correct answer. I liked the testimonial videos.

por Elizabeth N

Feb 15, 2016

Could be more computer friendly. Had good information but hard to engage because the majority of the lectures are just powerpoints with the professor talking over them.