Chevron Left
Voltar para Transtorno do Espectro Autista

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Transtorno do Espectro Autista da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
840 classificações
223 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Understanding the characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their implications for behavior, learning and the ability to process information is critical for anyone working or interacting with those on the spectrum -- educators, clinicians, counselors, therapists, medical staff, family and employers. This course will give you a fundamental understanding of what ASD is, how it is diagnosed, the primary areas of impairment, and why prevalence is increasing. Examine the developmental and sensori-motor differences that may impact academic, play, social and self-help skills at different stages of life, including the transition to higher education and employment. Gain a clear understanding of how sensory regulation differs for individuals on the spectrum, and explore practical tools for identifying triggers and communicating feelings. Learn to use evidence-based practices to provide effective interventions and explore typical strengths and weaknesses of individuals on the spectrum in relation to identified impairments. The course culminates with a description of the ASD system of care, an overview of the National Standards Report studies and treatments, and an explanation of how evidence-based practices are established and implemented. Those seeking a more in-depth, instructor-led experience are encouraged to check out the Professional Concentration in Autism offered by UC Davis Extension: https://extension.ucdavis.edu/certificate-program/professional-concentration-autism-spectrum-disorders...

Melhores avaliações

MF

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting and informative. I taught children with special needs for 33 years. I think this course would be very helpful to new teachers and anyone interested in learning basic info on ASD.

KS

Sep 15, 2017

Loved the videos, lots of good material. Wish there had been more discussion, but I was so busy, I might not have been able to participate very much. Overall helpful and useful in my profession.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Transtorno do Espectro Autista

por Ana P L d C

Aug 06, 2019

Eu realmente gostei deste curso. Seu aprofundamento é excelente e abrange diversos sintomas que não estamos acostumados a ver em pessoas com Espectro Autista. Obrigada pela oportunidade.

por Meredith O

Aug 19, 2019

excellent overview of ASD. You do have quite a few typos in the course text and slides which was distracting. As a former editor, I would recommend you have someone review your materials--it makes UC Davis and the MIND institute look unprofessional. . Also how do I get my certificate of credits earned? The website is not navigable in this respect.

por provost

Aug 21, 2019

Great

por Ganesan T

Aug 21, 2019

very informative and clear lectures

por Richard K

Aug 25, 2019

well done course

por Roya A

Aug 24, 2019

This course was very clear, simple and practical designed to learn about Autism Spectrum Disorder. We get enough information about condition of the people who are struggling with Autism and how we can help them.

Thanks a lot Professor, for creating such a useful course. 🌹🙏🏻

por Margaret J C

Sep 02, 2019

A clear, concise, highly informative course. Thank you!

por Richard S A

Sep 13, 2019

Very insightful.

por Jessica F

Jan 04, 2019

Great overview!

por Miruna S

Apr 04, 2019

Although it was only a general overview of what autism stands for, this course was quite helpful in explaining the basics. The subject is nevertheless vague even for specialists who cannot exactly point at certain causes or treatments, but it is relieving to know that research is being done and more and more people can receive specialized support for this kind of problems.

It's a pity that one cannot finish the course (that means, do the quizzes) without paying for the certificate, and since I don't need a certificate, I still feel like a lost a bit of what might have been a motivation to pay even more attention to certain aspects of the lessons.

por Kyle D M

Mar 11, 2019

Wonderful course !

por Dorothy F

Mar 18, 2019

This course has a lot of information it. However, I felt I was left with more questions than answers. But, that could also be due to the lack of information and research available. It could also be restructured into a different order of the classes/weeks.

por Kateryna T

Jan 06, 2019

Thank you for such great opportunity to study the ASD in completely new way. I am not American, so it was really wonderful for me, to look at ASD from another side.

I think this course could be a little bit deeper in questions like teaching methods for children with ASD, but this topic is so big, that it`s hard to learn it just in 5 weeks.

Nevertheless, I have finished this course in 1 day, not 5 weeks.

I would like to appriciate for the scholarship, which gave me a Certificate, which I will use in my future work.

Hope to study more about ASD, so I will think about applying to the University of California, Davis, for Master`s degree.

Good luck everybody!

por Georgia B

Sep 12, 2018

Statistics not relevant for those outside of US, but good general info regarding ASD

por Olaf

Aug 18, 2018

Too much USA focus.

por Anusha C

Aug 02, 2018

It is wonderfully created. Although i must confess I was expecting a little more on the side of neurobiological explanations

por Kate C

Dec 18, 2016

Very good and clear overview of the diagnosis and characteristics of childhood autism and the assessment and choice of effective evidence-based treatment and education. There is very little about adults with autism, and there is no interaction facilitated between learners or between learners and educators.

por Judy

Feb 12, 2016

This course was a great overview introduction into ASD. The information was presented so the information was not overwhelming. You begin the course by looking at ASD from a wide-lens down to details. This is recommended for anyone who is interested in learning more about ASD and then to take more details classes as needed. The videos that were part of the course were informative. There was not a lot of discussions nor was this class led by any instructor. I wished it had links to more articles or more in-depth information, especially the weeks on the developmental areas.

por Daniela V

Mar 02, 2016

It was excellent, but I expected more feedback in the discussion forums.

por Oxana T

Dec 23, 2016

nice but too short.

por Wong M H S

Apr 10, 2016

It's a really great class to know about Autism. The information is sufficient as well.

por meenakshi b

Dec 25, 2015

very useful course. gave insight into a lot of the issues faced by children with asd. a little more detail would be even more useful.

por Salau R A

Jan 10, 2016

n

por Igor K

Feb 20, 2016

Good but short course. The statment of acomplishment is unaviable.

50$ for short course is a big price

por Pamela J R

Oct 14, 2017

Thanks for the great information. Hope to see more classes with updated information on research and treatment in the future. As a grandmother of a child with Autism, this type of course is much appreciated to counter all the claims and theories that are made in media, books by non-professionals and anecdotal articles coming from either a romanticized view of Autism or playing on the hopes for a miracle cure that is a predictable phase following diagnosis.