Chevron Left
Voltar para Transtorno do Espectro Autista

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Transtorno do Espectro Autista da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
840 classificações
223 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Understanding the characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their implications for behavior, learning and the ability to process information is critical for anyone working or interacting with those on the spectrum -- educators, clinicians, counselors, therapists, medical staff, family and employers. This course will give you a fundamental understanding of what ASD is, how it is diagnosed, the primary areas of impairment, and why prevalence is increasing. Examine the developmental and sensori-motor differences that may impact academic, play, social and self-help skills at different stages of life, including the transition to higher education and employment. Gain a clear understanding of how sensory regulation differs for individuals on the spectrum, and explore practical tools for identifying triggers and communicating feelings. Learn to use evidence-based practices to provide effective interventions and explore typical strengths and weaknesses of individuals on the spectrum in relation to identified impairments. The course culminates with a description of the ASD system of care, an overview of the National Standards Report studies and treatments, and an explanation of how evidence-based practices are established and implemented. Those seeking a more in-depth, instructor-led experience are encouraged to check out the Professional Concentration in Autism offered by UC Davis Extension: https://extension.ucdavis.edu/certificate-program/professional-concentration-autism-spectrum-disorders...

Melhores avaliações

MF

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting and informative. I taught children with special needs for 33 years. I think this course would be very helpful to new teachers and anyone interested in learning basic info on ASD.

KS

Sep 15, 2017

Loved the videos, lots of good material. Wish there had been more discussion, but I was so busy, I might not have been able to participate very much. Overall helpful and useful in my profession.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Transtorno do Espectro Autista

por Jupiter B

Nov 10, 2016

Great class!

por Andreia R

Oct 14, 2016

Thank you for the knowledge that the course gives all concerned.Congratulations to the whole team involved in this great work. And thank you to everyone who shared their experiences and enriched the content of the course.

por Jonathan G

Mar 29, 2016

I suffer with sensory overload myself and learned a lot from this course.

por Kathy G W

Oct 11, 2016

As a new teacher of students with ASD, I am glad this course was available. I learned great background and foundational information which gave me a better understanding of students with ASD. The course also gave lots of information and resources for further study. I will recommend this course for other individuals who work with or interested in learning about individuals with ASD.

por Sergio H S

Jan 25, 2016

More than helpful. Highly recommended if you're interested in learning more about ASD. Quite useful in terms of understanding people on the ASD. Quite convinient in terms on learning how to interact with people on the ASD.

por Connie L H

Oct 18, 2017

I took this course about 3 years ago when I was first assigned to work with high functioning students with autism. Although I had many years of experience working with students in various learning environments, this position was my first time working specifically with autistic kids. This course was a real eye opener and helped me better understand how the mind of a person on the spectrum works. I gained a better understanding of Autism after taking this course and have used many of the strategies taught in this course with my students. If you are employed in the education system and will be working with students on the spectrum, I would highly recommend taking this course. The information you will discover about this disorder alone is worth investing the time.

por Nadya T

Jul 24, 2017

Enjoyed the videos and explanations. Good introduction to Autism!

por Allison K S

Oct 29, 2016

Very informative. I teach high school and am seeing more and more students mainstreamed with ASD. For some, it works out, for others it does not. Clearly, a case by case experience. I appreciate being able to take this course online and deepen my understanding of ASD.

por Uma R

Dec 11, 2016

I work with kids with special needs, this course has helped to understand kids with ASD better.

por David F

Dec 17, 2016

I took this course because my ten year old son was diagnosed with autism. Although the course was developed for a wide range of individuals (from interested laypersons to professionals who work with children and teens) I would heartily recommend it to any parent, grandparent, sibling, or other relative who would like to know more about ASD.

por Lim K L

Apr 18, 2017

I have more in depth knowledge of ASD

por Eugenia U

Jan 30, 2016

T

por Ashley F

Feb 21, 2018

great info

por Karen B

Oct 07, 2016

Great course

por Ania K

May 11, 2018

What a great overview of what ASD is, thank you for this course! Knowing about the "epidemics" and 1/68 having ASD, I think every educator should take this course to open up their minds for differences.

por Sharon L

Aug 07, 2016

Very informative course, gave me a great insight into Autism Spectrum Disorder.

por Yina T

Aug 31, 2017

Great insights and understanding at a deeper level. Thumbs up!

por Navin S

Jul 20, 2017

Well organised

Flexible

Informative

por 宋兴娇

Oct 25, 2017

great! i learn lost new skills.

por Luiza P L V

May 29, 2017

Muito bom, excelente curso. Muito organizado, descritivo, com muitos exemplos, dinâmico.

por Jude L

Feb 08, 2017

This course was extremely informative. It helped me to understand Autism and corrected all my preconceived notions. With a better understanding of who they are, I am less fearful of them and more willing to interact with them. I am so grateful for this course.

por Rahana-Vishal M

Apr 10, 2018

An excellent pre cursor to understanding Autism, definitely recommended.

por Jennifer V

Sep 08, 2017

very informativre

por Danielle C

Sep 19, 2017

Very Informative. Great for everyone to establish or reestablish introductory level knowledge of ASD.

por Tut A

Dec 07, 2017

Really such a helpful course.