Chevron Left
Voltar para Transtorno do Espectro Autista

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Transtorno do Espectro Autista da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
844 classificações
226 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Understanding the characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their implications for behavior, learning and the ability to process information is critical for anyone working or interacting with those on the spectrum -- educators, clinicians, counselors, therapists, medical staff, family and employers. This course will give you a fundamental understanding of what ASD is, how it is diagnosed, the primary areas of impairment, and why prevalence is increasing. Examine the developmental and sensori-motor differences that may impact academic, play, social and self-help skills at different stages of life, including the transition to higher education and employment. Gain a clear understanding of how sensory regulation differs for individuals on the spectrum, and explore practical tools for identifying triggers and communicating feelings. Learn to use evidence-based practices to provide effective interventions and explore typical strengths and weaknesses of individuals on the spectrum in relation to identified impairments. The course culminates with a description of the ASD system of care, an overview of the National Standards Report studies and treatments, and an explanation of how evidence-based practices are established and implemented. Those seeking a more in-depth, instructor-led experience are encouraged to check out the Professional Concentration in Autism offered by UC Davis Extension: https://extension.ucdavis.edu/certificate-program/professional-concentration-autism-spectrum-disorders...

Melhores avaliações

MF

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting and informative. I taught children with special needs for 33 years. I think this course would be very helpful to new teachers and anyone interested in learning basic info on ASD.

KS

Sep 15, 2017

Loved the videos, lots of good material. Wish there had been more discussion, but I was so busy, I might not have been able to participate very much. Overall helpful and useful in my profession.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Transtorno do Espectro Autista

por Sharon L

Apr 29, 2016

Enjoyed the breakdown of the lessons from the core characteristics of ASD, to the DSMV diagnostic criteria, increasing rates and demographics, patterns of strengths and weaknesses, the explanation of Theory of Mind, and finally the evidence based practices and interventions. I am glad that massage therapy was listed as an emerging intervention. Massage has helped my son, and many other children on the spectrum, with sensory regulation and activation of the parasympathetic NS to help calm the fight or flight response, and tactile defensiveness. Would love to see UC Davis MIND institute do more research into this area, like that of the Touch Research Institute. Excited for more research and information!

por Walter F

Apr 11, 2017

excellent, I am very happy to achieve this course.

por Aditya K P

Apr 28, 2018

As an autism parent, I knew everything but the last week. The last week was more than worth it.

por Mónica

Mar 31, 2017

Very good!

Congralutions :)

por Virginia A

Feb 19, 2017

Thanks for this course: it is an important opportunity to learn more about ASD and provides useful and valid references to deepen and acquire tools.

por Mindy J P

Jan 04, 2017

This course provided an excellent review and knowledge of ASD. I think it is imperative that all staff in a school setting take this course to better become aware and familiar with the students

por Kiran a

Feb 21, 2016

The course is quite amazing.. It improved my knowledge regarding behavioral changes and role of educators and therapist in this field.. I must appreciate the way of delivering lectures and the content.. I wish i could attend classes in UC Davis Mind institute as i found this spectrum quite interesting... I hope other classes would be conducted regarding Autism or other neurodevelopmental disorders with further content at coursera so that i could better understand the process of dealing with those suffering individuals.. Thankyou v. Much the instructors :)

por Gisele E d A B S

Jan 05, 2017

I learned a lot of important information that will help me deal with my child, of which I highlight: recognize characteristics of ASD; Strengths and weaknesses; Types of interventions for the treatment of ASD.

por Sasha D

Apr 19, 2017

Great starter course for understanding Autism. My 2 year old son was just diagnosed with a mild case of Autism and this was a lifesaver!

por Dimple m

Mar 22, 2016

An excellent overview of what ASD means and well designed foundation program for new beginners .

por Siti A

Jan 22, 2016

I had problems to understand better about ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder) because my 3 year old daughter been diagnosed as Autism Spectrum Disorder. The doctor explain yet I still couldn't clearly understand about after learning this course I clearly understand what is ASD all about..

por Edna M

Apr 20, 2016

Excellent!

por Nimo A

Jan 06, 2016

Excellent information

por Rizza M M

Jan 27, 2017

very great and very informative. I've learned a lot from this course

por Sadhana M

Jun 29, 2017

amazing course!

por Saida G

Jan 07, 2017

I am extremely happy to have finished this course. Now I have greater security when applying for a job and achieving my ertificacion of certified therapist in autism.

Thanks again.

por Leah P

Jun 06, 2017

This course was a great over-view of ASD. I especially enjoyed the "optional" extension activities that really helped to reinforce my understanding.

por Ahmet A A

Jan 28, 2017

I am verry happy to finish this course. It was very informational and beneficial. I believe that taking this course will help me a lot in clinical environment as an Audiologist.

por Jupiter B

Nov 10, 2016

Great class!

por Chantelle N

Apr 25, 2018

Great course for parents and teachers. Very informative and easy to understand.

por Karen B

Oct 07, 2016

Great course

por Sharon L

Aug 07, 2016

Very informative course, gave me a great insight into Autism Spectrum Disorder.

por Donna B

Dec 24, 2017

Very informative. I work in a group home with Autistic adults. I'm taking this course to expand my knowledge. I have really enjoyed class.

por Dr. D D

Mar 11, 2017

An introductory course for Autism Spectrum Disorders. Useful course. Introduces you to evidence based interventions and modules that could further enhance your knowledge and understanding in the field.

por Lindseysmith717@gmail.com

Aug 06, 2017

This course was a nice overview of individuals with Autism and how to best support them in the most effective and evidence based way.