Chevron Left
Voltar para Transtorno do Espectro Autista

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Transtorno do Espectro Autista da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.7
estrelas
1,626 classificações
413 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Understanding the characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their implications for behavior, learning and the ability to process information is critical for anyone working or interacting with those on the spectrum -- educators, clinicians, counselors, therapists, medical staff, family and employers. This course will give you a fundamental understanding of what ASD is, how it is diagnosed, the primary areas of impairment, and why prevalence is increasing. Examine the developmental and sensori-motor differences that may impact academic, play, social and self-help skills at different stages of life, including the transition to higher education and employment. Gain a clear understanding of how sensory regulation differs for individuals on the spectrum, and explore practical tools for identifying triggers and communicating feelings. Learn to use evidence-based practices to provide effective interventions and explore typical strengths and weaknesses of individuals on the spectrum in relation to identified impairments. The course culminates with a description of the ASD system of care, an overview of the National Standards Report studies and treatments, and an explanation of how evidence-based practices are established and implemented. Those seeking a more in-depth, instructor-led experience are encouraged to check out the Professional Concentration in Autism offered by UC Davis Extension: https://extension.ucdavis.edu/certificate-program/professional-concentration-autism-spectrum-disorders...

Melhores avaliações

MF

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting and informative. I taught children with special needs for 33 years. I think this course would be very helpful to new teachers and anyone interested in learning basic info on ASD.

KS

Sep 15, 2017

Loved the videos, lots of good material. Wish there had been more discussion, but I was so busy, I might not have been able to participate very much. Overall helpful and useful in my profession.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 414 Avaliações para o Transtorno do Espectro Autista

por Anna P

Oct 18, 2018

By the end of the first week of the course, I was feeling that the authors are thinking about ASD as a disease that needs to be cured (as opposed to the idea of neurodiversity). The shameless promo of the MIND institute at the end of week one made me do some research on them — and what do you know, at least two of co-founders are adepts of 'vaccines cause autism' religion, which kind of explains it all. As an adult diagnosed with ASD, I find this course extremely dangerous, misleading and offensive.

por Markus R

Feb 29, 2016

Short, superficial, and sometimes even condescending towards people with ASD.

por Tom G

Dec 21, 2018

Clear and factual course with well presented materials. I found the scope of the course to be very narrow though, lacking a diversity of perspective and no consideration given to the new directions that international autism research is taking. For example, the challenges to the role of theory of mind in autism deficits or the research being conducted by autistic academics. There are autistic individuals working in academia who are responsible for more than photocopying and making the tea! It is also somewhat telling that Autism speaks features prominently in the recommended reading, not to mention the implied ABA bias in the intervention module.

por Camila A P R

Jun 27, 2020

Me encantó. está muy bien hecho, es concreto, da una mirada general pero precisa del espectro, y creo que es muy útil para familias con niños con trastorno del espectro autista, o profesionales que traten con niños con autismo, como profesores, personal de la salud, cuidadores, etc. De verdad muchísimas gracias

por Mindy J P

Jan 04, 2017

This course provided an excellent review and knowledge of ASD. I think it is imperative that all staff in a school setting take this course to better become aware and familiar with the students

por Luiza C M

Mar 17, 2019

It is a good introduction couse, but I think it would be really helpfull if they provide further reading for each topic.

por Aleksandra P

Jul 03, 2018

It promotes ABA.

por Ming Z

Mar 07, 2016

My 2-years old niece in China has just been diagnosed as a ASD child. I took this class to help the parents understand the disorder and take prompt steps to start intervention when she is still young. The class is concise and informative. The 5 week contents provide just enough information for parents who have ASD children that has just been diagnosed to briefly understand the challenge and solutions of having an ASD child. I find the videos that illustrates how ASD children behave and what the proper intervention needed from parents, friends, and teachers very useful. By participating the class, I understand what ASD disorder is and I will pass what I have learnt to our big family so everyone has a correct and positive perspective to ASD and offer help to alleviate the anxiety for the parents. This is a very good course.

por Connie L H

Oct 18, 2017

I took this course about 3 years ago when I was first assigned to work with high functioning students with autism. Although I had many years of experience working with students in various learning environments, this position was my first time working specifically with autistic kids. This course was a real eye opener and helped me better understand how the mind of a person on the spectrum works. I gained a better understanding of Autism after taking this course and have used many of the strategies taught in this course with my students. If you are employed in the education system and will be working with students on the spectrum, I would highly recommend taking this course. The information you will discover about this disorder alone is worth investing the time.

por Sharon L

Apr 29, 2016

Enjoyed the breakdown of the lessons from the core characteristics of ASD, to the DSMV diagnostic criteria, increasing rates and demographics, patterns of strengths and weaknesses, the explanation of Theory of Mind, and finally the evidence based practices and interventions. I am glad that massage therapy was listed as an emerging intervention. Massage has helped my son, and many other children on the spectrum, with sensory regulation and activation of the parasympathetic NS to help calm the fight or flight response, and tactile defensiveness. Would love to see UC Davis MIND institute do more research into this area, like that of the Touch Research Institute. Excited for more research and information!

por Anne P

Aug 26, 2018

This course has been very informative. Each lecture is very well organized and provides detailed descriptions of the many difficulties that many autistic children have to face and try to learn coping skills so that they can be in a world that may frighten or upset them. I did an internship at the League school in Brooklyn and much later saw a child with Aspergers Syndrome from the age of four to the age thirteen. This course described the many programs and the availability of information about Autism for teachers and parents. I learned about the wide variety of the symptoms of children with Autism Spectrum Disorder. I really enjoyed taking the course.

por Kiran a

Feb 21, 2016

The course is quite amazing.. It improved my knowledge regarding behavioral changes and role of educators and therapist in this field.. I must appreciate the way of delivering lectures and the content.. I wish i could attend classes in UC Davis Mind institute as i found this spectrum quite interesting... I hope other classes would be conducted regarding Autism or other neurodevelopmental disorders with further content at coursera so that i could better understand the process of dealing with those suffering individuals.. Thankyou v. Much the instructors :)

por Karina E

Jun 24, 2020

Such an eye-opening course featuring a remarkable work of the experts at UCDavis Mind Institute. Thank you for sharing such valuable and practical lessons. I like the mini quizzes in between lectures as they help review the lessons in chunks. The videos and the variety of suggested activities are really helpful and make the learning dynamic and exciting, igniting my curiosity (from watching Temple Grandin movie, signing in to Autism Navigator to deepen our understanding to reading the reports on Evidence Based Practices). Thank you so much!

por María I A G

Jun 25, 2020

Hola, me encantó el curso. Evidencia una gran cantidad de prácticas basadas en evidencia útiles para el trabajo como profesional de educación. Asimismo permite identificar las principales fortalezas y debilidades que presentan los estudiantes con TEA en algunas áreas cognitivas y académicas y reconocer el trabajo a partir de las fortalezas e intereses de los niños, como también que muchas supuestas "debilidades" pueden ser utilizadas como oportunidades de aprendizaje. Excelente curso, muy claro !! Muchas gracias.

por Tara K

Apr 29, 2016

I work in a Verbal Behavior classroom for toddlers diagnosed with ASD, and i am also the mother of a little girl who has Angelman Syndrome (a severe neurodevelopmental disorder with many crossover symptoms of ASD). I found this to be an very well done introduction and overview of the basic aspects of Autism Spectrum Disorder. I was pleased to see that the sensory integration issue was addressed so nicely.

Thank you so much for this course. I hope it will be helpful to families and new staff alike.

por Brenda T

Nov 26, 2016

An excellent overview of the developmental characteristics, academic implications and the emotional and behavioral challenges individuals diagnosed with ASD experience. It also provides some challenges families face when caring for a child with ASD. The importance of understanding evidence based practices and access to evidence based practices for individuals affected by ASD across the ages is paramount.

por Karmen R

Feb 17, 2020

The course provided a great introduction to Autism for any level of learner. I have had prior experience with children on the spectrum but found this to still be helpful. Week 5 I think could have been a course by itself! I would recommend this course to others who interact with children on the spectrum in any form whether it is a friend of a family with a child on the spectrum or other roles.

por Kathy G W

Oct 11, 2016

As a new teacher of students with ASD, I am glad this course was available. I learned great background and foundational information which gave me a better understanding of students with ASD. The course also gave lots of information and resources for further study. I will recommend this course for other individuals who work with or interested in learning about individuals with ASD.

por Paulo L B

Jul 25, 2017

This course gives us important information about the ASD which can be usefull for professional who due with kids and adults with ASD such as families whose have kids or adults with the ASD.

I am a Brazilian doctor and I've a sister diagnosed with ASD. I'm sure that what I've learned will be very usefull for me either as a professional either as a sibiling of a kid with ASD.

por Tamara Š

Mar 06, 2016

This is a very well organized and very interesting course, with a lot of useful information for those who work or intend to work with children. It also gives you an insight into the world of adults with autism, which is not a subject you can usually hear a lot about. This course can motivate you to investigate further about ASD, and it gives you good reference points.

por Patrícia G M

Feb 13, 2020

This course has encouraged me in continuing my studies on the autism spretrum disorder in many aspects. On one side, I am a med student, and all knowlodge on dealing with any disorder is critical, and this course is definitely a base for who is still beggining; on the other hand, I know autists, and studying will help me to be a better friends, colleague and relative

por Margo L

Jun 22, 2017

This course is very informative and I have learned what I wanted to know. I recommend this course to all that are in contact, on any level, with individuals on the Autism Spectrum. I would like to recommend including what the incidence of co-morbit conditions such as OCD, Depression, ADD/ADHD and the like, in individuals with Autism, at any level. Thank you

por Meredith O

Aug 19, 2019

excellent overview of ASD. You do have quite a few typos in the course text and slides which was distracting. As a former editor, I would recommend you have someone review your materials--it makes UC Davis and the MIND institute look unprofessional. . Also how do I get my certificate of credits earned? The website is not navigable in this respect.

por Gary E M

Nov 25, 2018

The course presents a great deal of material and statistics regarding the determination of the large range of behaviors associated with children with autism. What was most surprising for me was how many areas of learning, development and social interactions are affected by autism, e.g. Theory of Mind, and how difficult and varied the interventions.

por David F

Dec 17, 2016

I took this course because my ten year old son was diagnosed with autism. Although the course was developed for a wide range of individuals (from interested laypersons to professionals who work with children and teens) I would heartily recommend it to any parent, grandparent, sibling, or other relative who would like to know more about ASD.