Chevron Left
Voltar para Transtorno do Espectro Autista

Transtorno do Espectro Autista, Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
715 classificações
190 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

Understanding the characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their implications for behavior, learning and the ability to process information is critical for anyone working or interacting with those on the spectrum -- educators, clinicians, counselors, therapists, medical staff, family and employers. This course will give you a fundamental understanding of what ASD is, how it is diagnosed, the primary areas of impairment, and why prevalence is increasing. Examine the developmental and sensori-motor differences that may impact academic, play, social and self-help skills at different stages of life, including the transition to higher education and employment. Gain a clear understanding of how sensory regulation differs for individuals on the spectrum, and explore practical tools for identifying triggers and communicating feelings. Learn to use evidence-based practices to provide effective interventions and explore typical strengths and weaknesses of individuals on the spectrum in relation to identified impairments. The course culminates with a description of the ASD system of care, an overview of the National Standards Report studies and treatments, and an explanation of how evidence-based practices are established and implemented. Those seeking a more in-depth, instructor-led experience are encouraged to check out the Professional Concentration in Autism offered by UC Davis Extension: https://extension.ucdavis.edu/certificate-program/professional-concentration-autism-spectrum-disorders...

Melhores avaliações

por MF

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting and informative. I taught children with special needs for 33 years. I think this course would be very helpful to new teachers and anyone interested in learning basic info on ASD.

por KS

Sep 15, 2017

Loved the videos, lots of good material. Wish there had been more discussion, but I was so busy, I might not have been able to participate very much. Overall helpful and useful in my profession.

Filtrar por:

186 avaliações

por Rosann Russo

Feb 11, 2019

Easy to navigate. Videos and readings were helpful and informative. I appreciated the real life examples given throughout. One critique was that sometimes the data tables were blurry and difficult to read.

por Elio Chalhoub

Feb 06, 2019

Very well explained and very interesting.

por Carson Rogge

Feb 01, 2019

Great basic learning about ASD!

por Rodrigo Silveira Santos Rocha

Jan 27, 2019

Really nice course. Good videos, clear and informative, in-video quizzes that help memorize the most important aspects in each lecture and indications of supplementary material. Also, very informative about how ASD is treated in general, and especially in California. The interviews with parents are amazing!

por Andrea gp

Jan 13, 2019

Very helpful to understand ASD, the impacts in different skills at different ages, evidence based practices, and the fantastic job at the UC Davis MIND Institute.

por Kateryna Tarab

Jan 06, 2019

Thank you for such great opportunity to study the ASD in completely new way. I am not American, so it was really wonderful for me, to look at ASD from another side.

I think this course could be a little bit deeper in questions like teaching methods for children with ASD, but this topic is so big, that it`s hard to learn it just in 5 weeks.

Nevertheless, I have finished this course in 1 day, not 5 weeks.

I would like to appriciate for the scholarship, which gave me a Certificate, which I will use in my future work.

Hope to study more about ASD, so I will think about applying to the University of California, Davis, for Master`s degree.

Good luck everybody!

por Jessica Farmer

Jan 04, 2019

Great overview!

por Marco Adda

Dec 25, 2018

wonderful course, terrific instructors!

por Tom Graham

Dec 21, 2018

Clear and factual course with well presented materials. I found the scope of the course to be very narrow though, lacking a diversity of perspective and no consideration given to the new directions that international autism research is taking. For example, the challenges to the role of theory of mind in autism deficits or the research being conducted by autistic academics. There are autistic individuals working in academia who are responsible for more than photocopying and making the tea! It is also somewhat telling that Autism speaks features prominently in the recommended reading, not to mention the implied ABA bias in the intervention module.

por Gary E Masters

Nov 25, 2018

The course presents a great deal of material and statistics regarding the determination of the large range of behaviors associated with children with autism. What was most surprising for me was how many areas of learning, development and social interactions are affected by autism, e.g. Theory of Mind, and how difficult and varied the interventions.