Chevron Left
Voltar para AtroTech: A Ciência e a Tecnologia por trás das Descobertas Astronômicas

Comentários e feedback de alunos de AtroTech: A Ciência e a Tecnologia por trás das Descobertas Astronômicas da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.7
estrelas
974 classificações
277 avaliações

Sobre o curso

"How do they know that?" Modern astronomy has made some astonishing discoveries - how stars burn and how black holes form; galaxies from the edge of the universe and killer rocks right next door; where the elements come from and how the expanding universe is accelerating. But how do we know all that? The truth is that astronomy would be impossible without technology, and every advance in astronomy is really an advance in technology. But the technology by itself is not enough. We have to apply it critically with a knowledge of physics to unlock the secrets of the Universe. Each week we will cover a different aspect of Astronomical technology, matching each piece of technology to a highlight science result. We will explain how the technology works, how it has allowed us to collect astronomical data, and, with some basic physics, how we interpret the data to make scientific discoveries. The class will consist of video lectures, weekly quizzes, and discussion forums. Each week there will be five videos, totalling approximately 40 minutes. They will be in a regular pattern - a short introduction, an example science story, an explanation of the key technology area, a look at how the technology is used in practice, and finally a look at what the future may hold....

Melhores avaliações

EM

7 de jun de 2020

After completing the course, I was able to understand better some concepts in astronomy such as dark matter and dark energy as well as the technologies that helped uncover more truths in our universe.

BJ

22 de set de 2020

The course was amazing especially when the instructor was explaining by using experiment instruments above all the way the instructors has taught me has completely made me understand the concepts.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 275 Avaliações para o AtroTech: A Ciência e a Tecnologia por trás das Descobertas Astronômicas

por Kinnari S B

5 de mai de 2020

Too good!Andy and Catherine don't just explain us things they make us feel like we are actually doing them especially the detector technology and spectroscopy part.I would surely recommend this course to one who is an astrophile + a tech enthusiast.

por Carla P M N

31 de mai de 2017

It gave me a more deep notion about how some of the most important space discoveries have been done and I'm truly amazed by their beautiful complexity and ingenuity, it also let me with the feeling that there is still so much more to understand.

por Sai G P

11 de mai de 2020

Great explanation and teaching! learnt a lot of new things and clarified my doubts. I would recommend this course to any budding Astronomer to under how do the devices work which are used to capture and understand the ever-expanding cosmos.

por BHOSLE S S

20 de jun de 2020

An excellent opportunity for astrophysics enthusiast for anyone in an enginnering or an applied physics background as you get a clear understanding of various celestial objects and how modern astronomy differs from the ancient astronomy.

por RAJA V M

25 de jul de 2020

This course helped me build my basics about astronomy. I now know things i couldn't have learnt otherwise. Such an intriguing course. And for an amateur astronomer this is definitely the course that I would recommend. Simply loved it.

por Priyanka V B

24 de ago de 2020

This course was really interesting and it gave an insight of some of the essential topics of astronomy. I enjoyed watching all the videos and the concepts were explained in an easy and lucid manner by Andy and Catherine. Thank you!

por farid h i

22 de jun de 2020

I am excited to learning a new knowledge about

Physics and Astronomy. It is new experience to me in this course.Thanks for our lecturers/tutors for given this opportunity to learning this knowledge. And sorry for my poor English .

por ANSHUL S

1 de out de 2020

Highly insightful and very basic and short course. Would appreciate if an advanced version of the course is taught as well, where one can learn some skills in practical astronomy. Maybe complex mathematical models or simulations

por Gustavo A Z D

25 de jun de 2020

Excellent course, it was an amazing opportunity to learn from very kind and smart persons like Prof. Andy and Prof. Catherine, I really learned a lot about space, things that I never thought they existed, and how things work.

por Robinson R

19 de mar de 2021

This course was fantastic in it's approach of teachings the fundamentals of astronomy & astrophysics. As a post-undergrad major in Astrophysics/Astronomy, I was able to learn and refine my skills that I picked up in college.

por Vivek S

4 de jul de 2020

ONE OF THE BEST INSTRUCTORS I HAVE EVER STUDIED UNDER. Ms.Catherine and Mr.Andy did an exceptional job in offering us a FUN and KNOWLEDGABLE course on BASIC ASTROPHYSICS!!! Must learn course to all inspiring Astrophysicists!

por Utkarsh D

15 de mai de 2020

It was a great experience learning about the universe and the modern technology that we use to understand the nature of the universe and explain scientifically about the various phenomenon taking place in space.

Thank you

por Antonio g d

25 de ago de 2021

A good course well explained in a simple but very pleasant way because everything is understood very well. Especially chapters 5 and 6 as well as telescopes. I really liked the good and brief twice good.

ANTONIO GAL VAN

por Shubham S

17 de nov de 2020

This is course really great. I learnt a lot from this course and got to know, how astronomers are using technologies to detect new galaxies and star. Really great course. Thank you Coursera and Thank you, professors.

por Bessie S

14 de mai de 2020

The maths questions struck a great balance between challenging intuition but accessible (maths skills wise) and the explanations of concepts were really clear! Enjoyed and would definitely recommend :)

por Antonio B

11 de jul de 2017

Explanations are clear and insightful. The concepts discussed are far from simple, but they are exposed in a very natural way. An extended, deeper version or a follow up course would be nice!

por Anubhab S

24 de jul de 2020

An excellent course for beginners who are willing to explore Space Technology at greater depths. The instructors are great and the knowledge imparted is fluid and easy to understand.

por Karan C C

3 de abr de 2020

Over all good experience, subject taught very well, and also practical things experimental set up and telescope were explained very well. Both instructors are explaining very well.

por Khondaker t m

21 de jun de 2020

I think the course is easy to understand for college level student. Now, i have a clear understanding of Many known things. Thanks for the well described lesson and teachings.

por manoj k

14 de out de 2021

Wonderful Course and Awesome Lectures! Thank you coursera and University of Edinburgh for this amazing course and really helped me to understand astro technology in detail :)

por Anagha M

6 de ago de 2020

A great experience. Very well explained. Practical things experimental set up of spectroscopy and telescope were explained very well. Both instructors are taught sincerely.

por Talha S

7 de jul de 2020

The whole course was explained in a convenient and outstanding way especially in the last week , the spectroscopy instruments , that helps a lot for a better understanding.

por Claudia T

4 de abr de 2022

I loved this course. I would like an update especially when the James Webb Telescope starts to gather more data, but it was a wonderful course and I loved the professors.

por Mrunmayee N P

12 de ago de 2020

Great course . A must taking course for anyone who is interested in Astro topics . This course gave a lot of information about the modern Astro tech , telescopes , etc .