Chevron Left
Voltar para AtroTech: A Ciência e a Tecnologia por trás das Descobertas Astronômicas

Comentários e feedback de alunos de AtroTech: A Ciência e a Tecnologia por trás das Descobertas Astronômicas da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.7
estrelas
990 classificações

Sobre o curso

"How do they know that?" Modern astronomy has made some astonishing discoveries - how stars burn and how black holes form; galaxies from the edge of the universe and killer rocks right next door; where the elements come from and how the expanding universe is accelerating. But how do we know all that? The truth is that astronomy would be impossible without technology, and every advance in astronomy is really an advance in technology. But the technology by itself is not enough. We have to apply it critically with a knowledge of physics to unlock the secrets of the Universe. Each week we will cover a different aspect of Astronomical technology, matching each piece of technology to a highlight science result. We will explain how the technology works, how it has allowed us to collect astronomical data, and, with some basic physics, how we interpret the data to make scientific discoveries. The class will consist of video lectures, weekly quizzes, and discussion forums. Each week there will be five videos, totalling approximately 40 minutes. They will be in a regular pattern - a short introduction, an example science story, an explanation of the key technology area, a look at how the technology is used in practice, and finally a look at what the future may hold....

Melhores avaliações

EM

7 de jun de 2020

After completing the course, I was able to understand better some concepts in astronomy such as dark matter and dark energy as well as the technologies that helped uncover more truths in our universe.

BJ

22 de set de 2020

The course was amazing especially when the instructor was explaining by using experiment instruments above all the way the instructors has taught me has completely made me understand the concepts.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 278 Avaliações para o AtroTech: A Ciência e a Tecnologia por trás das Descobertas Astronômicas

por Mrunmayee N P

12 de ago de 2020

Great course . A must taking course for anyone who is interested in Astro topics . This course gave a lot of information about the modern Astro tech , telescopes , etc .

por Kasuntha M

1 de fev de 2021

Great course to learn about The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery. I highly recommend this course. Thank you for offering this valuable course to me.

por Christian A

6 de jun de 2020

Is interesting and a complete course to objectives that are proposed. The topics are basics, making it more advantageous to introduce a person to the world of astronomy

por Khalid Q

27 de dez de 2020

Thank you for a very wonderful course. Instructors were excellent. However, it is a very basic course. Would like to see intermediate and advance courses. Thanks

por Alikhan B

11 de fev de 2020

The entire six week was really wonderful and informative. Andy and Catherine have that special talent to keep the students focused and excited at the same time.

por G

14 de ago de 2020

Thank you for efforts that introduce in the course, although It has for beginners, it has substantial information and I hope another course in the near future

por vanessa k

28 de jan de 2021

Really enjoyed this course. Great engaging talks, provided at a good level. The assessments matched the teaching well. I hope this can be updated and re-run.

por Yo S

17 de fev de 2021

This was a very condensed, but informative course on the different methods used in astronomy! I like the simple 5 question quizzes at the end of each week.

por Nigel R

1 de nov de 2020

Great course. I didn't expect to actually do Physics to pass this course but luckily I knew a decent amount of Physics and Astronomy to get through easily.

por Pushkar P G

10 de fev de 2021

Best ever course about astronomy ever done.

Very skilled lectures. Nice explanation of the topics , well presented great knowledgeable

Given...

por Marta C

26 de mar de 2020

I enjoyed the course very much, professors gave an overview of a complicated matter in a clear and simple way without being trivial, thank you!

por sebastian q

15 de jan de 2020

a great introductory course to understand the technology behind modern astronomy, its recommended if you are a complete beginner to astronomy.

por Yulia B

27 de out de 2019

Very accessible and at the same time informative. Introduction and use of formulas are great for keeping it serious even at the intro level.

por George V P

3 de mar de 2017

A very interesting course for beginners and a very good first step in pursuing deeper knowledge. Thank you Edinburgh University and Coursera

por Leyla M

2 de fev de 2021

Thank you. It was a very nice, interesting, informative course. It was the first time I saw the devices used in the spectrum. Thanks again!

por Aarón G H

1 de mai de 2020

A great option to understand how different astronomical achievements have been possible with the indispensable co-work with technology.

por Pramodini P

5 de ago de 2020

This course was very informative and useful. Both the professors were very good at their teaching. A wonderful course not to be missed

por Nilesh A

16 de mai de 2020

It's a pretty basic course if you want to know astronomically how things are done and to explain it to your kid or students in class.

por Ajith N

6 de abr de 2020

It was really Interesting and informative .. I hope I get chance to do and know more about Astrophysics. Thank you for this course.

por Greg n

19 de fev de 2020

Andy and Catherine do a wonderful job of explaining the cosmos questions and how technology is answering those questions.

Thank you!

por Leonard S

21 de jan de 2020

Very interesting entertaining introduction to this topic. I would look forward to other courses on this topic by these presenters.

por Fabiha N

6 de jul de 2019

Very good course. It gives a very clear explanation regarding the ways adopted by the scientists to discover the amazing universe.

por ADITI N

6 de jun de 2020

I really enjoyed learning about this topics..overall a very good experience and got to learn something new.

Thank you so much

por Ramnath S K

5 de nov de 2020

A very insightful and down to basics course that provided insights into the technology behind explorations of the universe.

por Alexander W

11 de out de 2018

This course was engaging and easy to understand. I'd recommend it to anyone even remoty interested in the subject material.