Chevron Left
Voltar para A Astrobiologia e a Busca por Vida Extraterrestre

Comentários e feedback de alunos de A Astrobiologia e a Busca por Vida Extraterrestre da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.7
estrelas
1,477 classificações
375 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Learn about the origin and evolution of life and the search for life beyond the Earth....

Melhores avaliações

EL

Oct 12, 2015

Very interesting and engaging course. There are longer and more in-depth courses if you want them but if you want a concise overview of astrobiology on your own time, then this course is perfect!

MD

Dec 02, 2017

i have studied phisycs in syria and i have finish it after this great course i am realy thinking in master in astronomy or astrobiology master thank you very much for this amzing course :D

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o A Astrobiologia e a Busca por Vida Extraterrestre

por Adam H

Jan 18, 2016

Great course, Charles does a great job teaching the course! opens up the possibilities of the origins of life and other possible life in our solar system and universe. thanks to Coursera.

por Gaeun K

Feb 08, 2019

Excellent course for learning basic concepts of Astrobiology. It covers various topics including microbiology, history, and social implications of finding extraterrestrial intelligence.

por Marcel P

Feb 25, 2018

The course is general and easy approachable. It discuses many aspects in a public outreach manner. The first three lectures contain a lot of information, while the last two are shorter and simplified. The large number of questions during the exams helps fixing the key points (although few questions are silly, or I could not understand them - maybe due to my bad English). For me, it would have been interesting to get more references to the most relevant papers, and more numbers (in particular in the last lecture where Drake equation is discussed - what are the numbers according to last findings in exoplanets?). Some of the points related to exoplanets have to be updated (bu this is understandable - exoplanets are a domain the grows exponentially). Overall, it was a pleasure to follow this course and I fully recommend it!

por Yash A

Feb 20, 2016

This course has been extremely helpful, captivating, and thoroughly enjoyable! I learned so much from this course, and it has only intensified my interest and curiosity for this field.

PROS:

-Oganization and structure of the content

-Balanced in terms of duration, difficulty, etc.

-Delivery of the instructor, who was very engaging and maintained interest throughout the course, and his personal interest and knowledge in this field was clearly evident.

-The assignments were well weighted, relevant, and a good indicator of my understanding of the course content.

CONS:

-None!

So thank you to the instructor, the institute, and everyone else involved in providing this wonderful course. I look forward to more in the future!

por Riya

Aug 14, 2015

A comprehensive and fascinating introduction to astrobiology. The course is delivered by an excellent team and offers valuable insight into the cutting-edge field.

I would just like to mention to anyone thinking of taking this course that while it is indeed catered to beginners, there are some sections in which it would be helpful to have a basic understanding of cell biology (ultrastructure in particular) as technical terminology is used and could potentially be overwhelming without some prior knowledge.

However this only applies to a small part of the course and the rest is very much accessible. Highly recommended.

por Karthik S K

Jun 13, 2016

Astrobiology is one of the most interesting field in science having profound implications in our view of our daily life. The course has been framed to provide a basic understanding of concepts involved in the field of Astrobiology. Professor Charles Cockell was just amazing to dramatizes events spanning more than 4 billion years of our Planet. The lectures had the materials and stuff to stimulate a persons curiosity, to wonder about his origin and the place in this cosmos. The lecture makes one ponder and was very connective in a deeper sense. TOTALLY EXTRA-TERRESTIAL!

por Kamille M L

Feb 13, 2019

This course summarizes the study of astrobiology in very direct and clear lectures. Every topic relevant to the study is mentioned, including many historic events and discoveries. As someone who has been interested in astrobiology and has been exposed to this new field of study by collaborating in outreach with astrobiologists like Dr. Abel Mendez in Puerto Rico, this course provides a brief compendium and an open invitation to get involved. I look forward to more ways of learning astrobiology online.

por Ilaria E

Apr 03, 2017

Highly interesting and informative course, it gives you a well balanced overview of the subject and act as a springboard to delve further into the study of the Universe and its marvels. Personally I really enjoyed professor Cockell's lessons, I found him amiable and his teaching clear.

If anything, I would say it is advisable to have a second source of information concerning space missions and science discoveries as some of these go back to 2013-2014, when the course was likely prepared.

por Laureline F

Jun 14, 2019

This course was very educational and fascinating. My knowledge of physics, chemistry and biology is close to 0 but I didn't have any issues following the classes. The scientific concepts are explained clearly and the different modules are well structured so everything is easy to follow. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who is interested in the origin and possibility of life on Earth and on other planets.

por Nikitha s

Dec 15, 2018

Some people look at the sky using nothing more than their eyes, I am one among them. I was always been fond of astronomy, looking same sky every day is my hobby. This course is one of the most exciting course that I had completed in coursera which explains us about most interesting questions in astrobiology. At the end of this course I had a better idea about why we're searching for life on other planets

por Susann

May 21, 2019

Excellent course by Professor Cockell from the University of Edinburgh. The lectures are interesting and easy to follow. A wide variety of subject are covered and presented very well. I did speed up the videos a little bit. Only point of criticism I have: In one of the quiz questions one possible answer is "about a decade ago". This of cause does not work well in a course that is online for a longer time.

por James W

Apr 27, 2017

Excellent course! I'm an electrical engineer, not an astronomer nor biologist. However, I've always been interested in both topics. This course delved into both just enough where I stayed focused and understood everything. Each course was extremely interesting and I learned many new things in each. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in the science behind the search for extraterrestrial life!

por Nicholas K

Nov 05, 2018

The Astrobiology course is a brilliant MOOC which briefly explains the basic principles of astrobiology but also some extremely interesting facts in this field. The course has a nice and steady flow which is easy to follow and the deadlines are flexible and easy to manage. Overall, I really enjoyed spending my time on this course. It was the perfect way to learn more on this field. Astrobiology rocks!!.

por Oriane K

May 13, 2017

Very interesting. I enjoyed learning more about biosignatures detections and proper conditions for life on other planets. I recommend this course for everyone interested in the subject. Please note the course seems to date back to 2013, and new discoveries have been made afterwards - like the TRAPPIST-1 system found in 2015 and recently announced by the NASA. But the fundamental notions remain the same.

por Diana D B

Sep 04, 2015

This is a terrific course! I really enjoyed Dr. Cockrell's lecture style. He is very articulate and presents and explains the material very well. The photos and graphics were very useful for following the lectures and understanding the material.

I found the "What Have We Learned" summaries after each lecture very helpful. I would like to take more courses offered by Dr. Cockrell in the future.

por Rosa S

Mar 22, 2018

I would strongly reccomend this course to anyone who would like to have a first approach to the outstanding topic of Astrobiology. I was always fascinated by such argument, and this course have provided me the basic notions on it. Now I know which specific topics I would like to deepen. Moreover, prof. Cockell has the hability to make every subject understandable and interesting.

por Amber S

Jan 24, 2020

Very interesting course. I studied this topic in my biology degree and wanted to learn some more about astrobiology. It was interesting and engaging. The tests were fair, not too easy, not too hard - the right level of challenge. I recommend the course! Maybe for a beginner to the topic, it could be hard at first with the new vocabulary, but the course is well explained

por Sidhartha S S

Nov 11, 2018

First of all, thank you for such a wonderful course. Special thanks to prof. Cockell for teaching in such an informative and relatable way. After this course my love and fascination for this subject has increased. Let's see how far our civilization goes succeed in finding extra terrestrial intelligence. Once again thanks for these wonderful lectures.

por Karen D

Sep 11, 2018

This course was extremely helpful and exciting for an aspiring astrobiologist like myself.

The instructor explained everything very clearly and was very direct.

My favorite part was when he talked about the possibility of life in our solar system, such as on Europa and Titan.

He made learning about astrobiology exciting and fun. I was never bored.

por Daniela V D

Mar 03, 2016

I really enjoyed it, the first modules where the ones i consider more important and tho it was pretty informative i would like to recommend the update of a few lectures and data of the same. In the case of the arrival of the spacecraft new horizons, i mean. But in general i really liked it, it compliments my college formation.

por Pratika P

Aug 23, 2015

Amazing! Thank you professor. Easily one of the best professors I've come across. The course was not too complicated, at the same time it was extremely understandable. May there be many more courses like this on the subject (as it develops and spreads worldwide). Cheers! Highly recommended. Thanks again! Thank you Coursera!

por Lauren S

Oct 18, 2015

I really enjoyed this course. I felt like some of the videos from the first week were a little too long, I preferred the shorter ones, and there was a mix up where the second week ended up being due before the first week which threw me off a little but the content itself was very interesting and I'm glad I took part in it.

por David D

May 23, 2019

This was an outstanding course. The material presented was varied and interesting, the quizzes well constructed and kudos to Charles Cockell who presented this so well. I like his approach of referring to his iPad but being able to deliver the course without constantly reading a tele prompter! This is rare - well done!

por Malvi P G

Nov 09, 2018

An interesting course with a good explanation of basic concepts. The flow of the course expands the spectrum of thought and understanding of astrobiology and extraterrestrial intelligence. It also allows one to think for oneself if certain implications about aliens are outlandish yet logical or logical yet outlandish.

por Nitya P

Dec 29, 2019

Course contents are very interesting, and easy to understand. Even though my background is mathematics and Physics, I didn't feel any difficulty to understand the fundamentals of specially biology part. Another thing which I liked is the study timing flexibility. Thank you very much coursera and Prof. Cockell.