Chevron Left
Voltar para Astronomia: Explorando oTempo e Espaço

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Astronomia: Explorando oTempo e Espaço da instituição Universidade do ArizonaUniversidade do Arizona

4.8
estrelas
3,409 classificações

Sobre o curso

This course is designed for anyone who is interested in learning more about modern astronomy. We will help you get up to date on the most recent astronomical discoveries while also providing support at an introductory level for those who have no background in science....

Melhores avaliações

WB

14 de dez de 2020

I really enjoyed working through the modules of this course. The material was interesting and enlightening. The self-paced format worked well for me and I will look for similar courses going forward.

AM

12 de mar de 2021

I really enjoyed working through the modules of this course. The material was interesting and enlightening. The self-paced format worked well for me and I will look for similar courses going forward.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 1,178 Avaliações para o Astronomia: Explorando oTempo e Espaço

por John E P

17 de nov de 2020

This was a very interesting and well-presented course. I found all the content fascinating and much of the information was new to me. I enjoyed the diversity in the tools and methods, from Monty Python to music and cartoons. I found that once I got started I could not stop. I really enjoyed the section about life. I had taken an online course about Extremophiles at Edinburgh with Coursera but I was very interested in the tree of life based on DNA. It made sense and it showed how human evolution was perhaps more precarious than we imagined. Other life forms may be carbon-based given the number of combinations of molecules possible with carbon but it doesn't follow that the form would be similar to ours.

I enjoyed learning about the new methods being used to construct telescopes and especially the really innovative way that ground based telescopes can use secondary mirrors (Adaptive Optics) to compensate for atmospheric conditions, thereby reducing cost by reducing the need for orbital telescopes. It was exciting to hear that gravitational waves have now been discovered and to learn how dark matter and dark energy affect the behavior of our universe. I liked the way that Chris got us through the subject matter without getting too deep into second level or third level calculus. We learned a little about string theory as well as Gravity and Space-Time. Also, the exciting discovery of the Higgs Bosun particle and field.

I have read some of Issac Asimov's non-fiction books on the table of elements and biochemistry and I was happy to see the table of elements very well explained here too. I found the week on exoplanets really exciting and have always thought that there must be a huge number of planets out there and different forms of life also. I'm not sure how many would occupy the same short time line that we are on, I expect not many but with the numbers of planets that appear to be habitable it might be possible.

Black holes are amazing objects. It would be nice to know more about them and how dark matter and dark energy factor into the equation. I vaguely remember that Fred Hoyle had proposed a steady state theory and I think that would be interesting to read about. The infinite expansion of the universe due to dark energy was news to me and I find this quite amazing. How do we explain the concept of infinity. Are we all on a huge mobius strip? I like the simplicity of Fermi's question: Where are they? I think they are out there somewhere but I suspect that they are quite different to us. Perhaps at the next stage of our life, if there is one, perhaps we can take a flight through the universe(s) in a different form at any speed we want. Wouldn't that be great?

por Carlos O

15 de set de 2020

As a general feedback, first I would ask you to be patient with my lousy English and expecting that you understand what I am trying to express, here it is:

The course is amazing!

I came with the expectation to learn a little bit about Time and Space and, in the end, I was caught by surprise that you have gone far beyond it.

Starting with “The Scientific Method”, going all the way thru “Cosmology” and finalizing with questions about the “Next steps”, this was an incredible and, more importantly, useful journey to me.

I understand and value very much the work involved on providing such comprehensive material, I gladly (most of the time) read, listened, watched, participated in most of them. The course, to me, took 63 days with an average of 6-12 hours a day, monday to monday; besides your material, which I mostly saved, I look for some extra information, mainly on Wikipedia and some other educational sites, I also made a bunch of notes, summaries and found extra references. My ‘final’ document has almost 900 pages in 135 MB. I thought it would be nice to share. Your efforts were not in vain.

One of the interesting extra findings was to learn about “Science for Monks” program. It caught my attention (for several days) for many reasons, one of them is that eastern people do not, in general, try to scientifically explain the nature, the search is much more related to a balance of the self and the nature as it is presented, in my (semi-)oriental point of view. A sort of ‘equilibrium’, the same as planets and atoms and nature as a whole try to reach.

Another reflection was about their martial art, kung fu, and how it is balanced with their spiritual matters and believes. As half japanese and with some Judo background, it took me a while to understand the balance between these two things, supported from what you are teaching in terms of Physics and, in the end, try to make a reasonable sense in my mind.

I believe things are somehow connected and, in the end, seek for balance.

Just to close the above finding, the explanation I gave to myself is that martial art could be understood as “Philosophy in moviment” and being so, it can be explained in terms of Physics. I am ok with that. By the way, as brazilian, shamefully, I suck at soccer too...

I can not thank you enough for making available so much knowledge and, mainly, ‘forcing’ me reflect on many things in several different ways. But, in the end, your guidance made me more curious and inspired to learn even more.

The course is amazing.

Hoping this feedback was ok, I sincerely hope you the best,

Thank you

por Jack

29 de mar de 2021

This is a fantastic introduction to astronomy by Dr. Impey, indeed it is so much more. You will survey topics like the history of science and star gazing, telescopes and instrumentation, planets and the sun, distant galaxies, cosmology and the big bang, and even astrobiology. The course doesn’t assume a lot of science, and math use is practically non-existent, though knowledge of freshman/AP physics and chemistry will help you understand the contents deeper (though these subjects are reviwed). In fact, by the end of the course you will be acquainted with the frontiers of physical sciences and have a conceptual understanding of some cutting edge results, so in that sense you will get a broad overview of modern physics as well.

Throughout, Dr. Impey mixes animation and multimedia to help elucidate concepts and motivate material. Assessments include multiple choice quizzes and essays that have you write out basics of that week’s content. The professor also hosts a weekly Q&A on stream so you ask questions in a live format similar to seeing him in office hours.

Things I came away with by the end of the course include why we have seasons, why we need space telescopes like Hubble, what makes planets like mars and exoplanets hospitable, how stars die and what black holes are, how we know the universe expands, and even some basic geology and nuclear physics. Great place to start learning astronomy, or even science more broadly.

por Sarah

10 de mar de 2020

Really fantastic! I'm an amateur, took the course with my high school daughter who is thinking of a career in astronomy so we wanted to explore basic concepts and understand what astronomers do. This was perfect for that purpose. I'm not sure she'll finish, but I found it so interesting I did. The course is just the right balance of videos, readings, activities. The videos are also well-done and it helps that it is not just a talking head the whole time, or reading of off a slide deck. I appreciate the sometimes fun and humorous asides in videos. Only critical feedback is that it seems to get out of date fast... the videos should have had time stamps on them or avoid terms like "recently", "about to" because we don't know if you are talking about something 5 years ago, or today. Hope to make time for more courses in the futur, thanks for doing this Chris and the Steward Observatory Team (and the teaching assistants, poor things, who have to wade through all of the comments from people confused about how to submit assignments... when there were actual questions, they answered promptly, clearly and well.)

por Richard E

24 de ago de 2017

Note that I am probably an unusual student in that I have both T.A.ed and lectured in the past. I would give this course at least 90% ("A") for a survey of Astronomy course [no Math or Physics prerequisites]. The professor (Dr. Impey) is quite skilled in communicating with non-majors and encouraging them to learn more about Astronomy and Cosmology. Also, the free textbook material superbly matches the course and contains links to more detailed study [excellent!] I'd like to try a course for majors with him as well. Maybe, I'd have to become a UofA student remotely from Dallas?

=================================================

Issues in course (How much is due to Coursera limitations?):

(1) Not enough lab work. Lab reinforces lectures and it is simply a lot of fun, especially for the novice.

(2) The writing assignments are reviewed by inexperienced peers -- we are unqualified and also this practice might tempt some to collusion.

(3) Some of the lectures need an update. Hopefully, this will happen in time for the next session.

por Daniele C

18 de out de 2020

This course has been a wonderful experience, leading and accompanying the student to the most interesting world of astronomy, explaining in the simplest possible way the behavior, origin and evolution of the most complicate thing that is: the Universe. From the history of science, the moon, the solar system, the stars, to the most recent theories regarding galaxies and cosmology and the possibility of life beyond Earth, everything is explained clearly and easily by professor Chris Impey and all the provided material, podcasts and texts.

If there is one thing that could be improved, in my opinion, is the use of external media in some lessons: in some there are used a bit too much, some felt unnecessary, like for example some abstracts from cartoons or comedies. The purpose to lighten and give some break to the explanation is accomplished, it is more a matter of personal tastes.

I rate 5 stars and definitely hope to see in future more courses from the University of Arizona and from professor Chris Impey.

por Sabrina N B

9 de jul de 2020

This was an excellent and very comprehensive course, and it was enjoyable to take as someone who is interested in and curious about astronomy. I found the first week to be quite slow especially because the topic had to do with the sciences in general which I am already very familiar with, and it could have been condensed or limited further. However, after that, the course covered a great range of topics specific to astronomy, rich with details, providing a mix of both insightful questions and amazing answers. Everything was explained well, and it's nice to see the continuous development of astronomy from the past to the present along with speculation about the future.

The assignments weren't too difficult and revolved around details mentioned in the videos. The clips included in the videos helped keep the lectures interesting. All in all, it was well worth my time and I am happy to have taken this course.

por Robert E K P

19 de mai de 2017

Astronomy: Exploring Time and Space is an excellent way to gain an overall view of the science of Astronomy. The course contains just the right amount of rigor to challenge the student and to continuously stimulate the desire to know more about each of the topics copies. There isn't any math or physics to worry about although the role both of these areas play in the study of the universe and the stars and objects it contains is described when necessary. There are peer reviewed writen assignments that help develop a better understanding of the subject material. The course also has some of the best and most involved mentors of any Coursera course I have taken. They are also available to answer questions and are very knowledge of the course materials. Dr. Impey's lectures are clear and very enjoyable to watch and the accompanying course materials are also excellent.

por Surya

3 de jun de 2018

Truly beautiful course, if you've got that tiny bit of love for the night sky or physics just dive into it. It's just perfect. Its the perfect blend of fun references, clippings and simulations with absolutely great teaching imparting so much knowledge and info, every little thing from the videos to the script to the theories and concepts are laid out just picture perfectly. I couldn't have asked for more, it's one of the best courses there is out there if not the absolute best one! One heck of a journey I'll never forget! Thank you so much for everything Prof. Impey! Just owe so much to you! You've put together the best course I could've asked for! You're one of the best teachers ever! Thanks a million University of Arizona! (PS If anyone back in Arizona see's this please, please let the Prof know!) Cheers!

por Marc R

9 de mai de 2020

This is a wonderful course, and I wholeheartedly recommend it, as a layperson with a lifelong interest in astronomy who has always wanted to formally study it. It is a good stepping-stone to more advanced or specialised courses, and the material is engaging and well-presented. The content ranges from introductory concepts, through an exploration of the solar-system, stars and galaxies, to relativity and cosmology, and the course ends with an intriguing and fascinating look at astrobiology and artificial life. The commitment and passion of the convenor, Prof Chris Impey, to his subject is apparent at every stage of the journey. Regular quizzes, short written assignments, discussion forums and videos, and exercises in both citizen-science and remote-viewing with online telescopes keep one engaged throughout.

por Pedro C

8 de dez de 2016

I am very happy to have completed the course. I was able to learn a lot about various aspects of astronomy, especially galaxies and globular clusters that are objects that call my attention. I was able to read much of the material provided in teachastronomy, thank you for the kindness of making the material available. I watched all the videos of Professor Chris and I was able to follow well due to the availability of the subtitles in English, this was important. The interviews I could not follow completely by the lack of subtitles. This was a great opportunity for me that likes astronomy, but because of the distance that I live from the great centers of study, it is very difficult to access good and reliable information. I am very grateful and congratulate the institution for making this course available.

por Vidya S

18 de set de 2020

It is really very interesting course which doesn't require any special knowledge in physics or math. Here you will not find lot of math formulas. Everything is well structured with support of slide and text book. But the main thing which I liked here - is tasks with writing assignments. In order to prepare my answers for related prompts I was forced to read additional materials, re-read text book from the course and review slides from presentation again. When I was trying to formulate my own ideas and understanding about learned material I realized that my understanding about specific topic much more increased! So I got a lot of benefits in sense of understanding from such type of tasks. I appreciate Professor Impey's enthusiasm in teaching others about astronomy a lot. Thanks Professor!

por Joanne K

26 de fev de 2021

I really enjoyed this course and I would like to follow up on it by taking another, related course. I heard that Professor Impey also teaches an Astrobiology course. That is the course I hope to take next. I enjoy his lectures and text, especially his sense of humor and use of popular media to expand upon the topics e.g. the Pink Floyd song "Shine On You Crazy Diamond" and lyrics, to illustrate how the band's tribute to their departed bandmate uses verbal imagery to describe his life and contributions in terms of astronomy, literally, of star birth and death (references to such). I also enjoy the online Q &A sessions and the related streams on Twitch and You Tube by other members of the teaching team, namely Vicky and Michael. I'm glad that I had this opportunity. Thank you.

por Joseph M

13 de jul de 2020

A privilege and a blessing (in the spiritual sense) to have come across this unique course - and so brilliantly choreographed by Prof Chris Impey and his team. The course was very well structured, crisp and precise to a novice in Astronomy like me and to obtain a basic understanding of our cosmos, and our place in the universe. The Earth is unique ands seems to have been created with great care and precision by the superior being or intelligent presence in the universe. I wish I could live forever to be part of the fascinating progress in astronomy and be part of the future explorations and travels into the wider cosmos.

I look forward to enhancing my knowledge gained on Astronomy by undergoing further courses. My best wishes to the University of Arizona.

por Tejas K G

12 de jul de 2020

The Astronomy: Exploring time and space coarse by University of Arizona was very nice. I got new things to learn in the course about Astronomy. As expected the course has covered up all the Astronomy topics from cosmology, solar system to astrobiology. So now I am feeling great after completing the course today. I like the teaching patterns quizes and activities taken in the course. The activities like galaxy zoo and micro Observetory are much more inspiring to us. Also there were lots of live Q- A sections on YouTube by sir Chris Impey to solve the queries of students or learners . So Thank you to sir Chris Impey.

Also thank you very much to University of Arizona for providing such a great coarse to us. Also thank you to caursera.

por Michael F

27 de abr de 2018

What an amazing class and enjoyable experience this has been for me personally. I feel that now I can at least understand some basic fundamental properties of the cosmos. I have been a follower of Dr. Carl Sagan for many years and Professor Stephen Hawking (RIP) as well. I thank my lucky stars (pun intended) for wonderful teachers like professor Chris Impey who has created a remarkable presentation of facts, theories and ideas that we know about the universe and salts our curiosity to continue exploring the big questions of who we are, where we came from, and what does it all mean. That you professor Impey for all you and so many others introduced in this class have done.

All the best,

Michael Fredericksen (Indiana, USA)

por Lewis

11 de abr de 2021

I really enjoyed this course. As a relative beginner in the areas of physics and astronomy, I was concerned the content might end up being overly focussed on formulae and mathematics, but Prof. Chris Impey and the team behind Astronomy: Exploring Time and Space managed to balance the course on the right level of detail. I have found the content engaging and interesting (presented largely through video lectures) and the access to the wider course materials, such as podcasts, live-stream Q&As and online textbooks was a great bonus to build upon that learning. I would recommend this course to anybody who wants to learn the basics about astronomy and satisfy the desire to understand their universe just that little bit more.

por Damir G

26 de mai de 2020

Really great course, enjoyed it a lot, it's easy to follow and a lot of fun. As it turns out it's already 7 years old and the subject of Astronomy has been developing very rapidly that some of the material already requires to be updated. The fun videos to lighten up the subject are great but most of them look like they are from 80's or 90's and the quality of the picture on those are of the same old VHS tape quality. The subject 10 about the Cosmology is a little hard to follow, watched it several times but still hard to get some of the topics and the examples are sometimes confusing. Other than that it's a really great course which I recommend to everyone. Thank you very much for your hard work!!!

por hamid m

24 de mar de 2019

thank you professor chris for making my day(s). really, when i see all the useless things people do, it is your astronomy class that puts things in perspective. plus, i hate to say this on a public forum; playing your videos helped put me to sleep at night, kinda like a bedtime story. truly, i have separation anxiety wondering how i'm going to be able to fall asleep now. the biggest problem i experienced with this was trying to keep track of my videos, because it would autoplay and cycle through an entire week. if coursera could put an option in there for that. i ended up playing my videos in reverse chronological order so when i fell asleep it would cycle through all the ones i had already watched

por veysel a

8 de jul de 2020

This course has taught me every aspect of astronomy. I am graduated from political sciences and now planning to have my own radio telescope as soon as possible. But beyond that, it was a very neat study of science in general and mostly a very exciting period of time. The textbook is quite detailed and well prepared, starting from basic knowledge of physics which was a wonderful starting point for the ones from out of the field. There are bunch of interviews with the scientists from the field on the subject and a livestream available to asking questions each week. The video lessons are very intriguing. I am very thankful to Prof. Chris Impey and his team. and many thanks to coursera.org for this course.

por Hreem M

8 de ago de 2020

Professor Chris Impey does an excellent job of being an Educator about the Cosmos and its related fields. From observational equipment to planetary bodies, stars, galaxies, moons, astrobiology, and even radiation and various wavelengths; he covers all in this course and much more, making it enjoyable to all. Even though I consider myself passionate and well-versed in astronomical concepts, I still learnt so many new things, adding to the vast knowledge one can gain from this field and satisfying as well as growing one's curiosity. Numerous thanks and heartiest regards to Professor Chris Impey, the Steward Observatory Teaching Team, as well as those on Coursera for making this happen. Much love!!

por Owen L

13 de jul de 2020

Very well done course! There's a bit of an over reliance on videos, which sometimes feature silly clips from TV shows or very odd music videos.

But overall the instructor is clear and engaging, the exercises test your attention and understanding, and there's a lot of material covered in a well structured format.

I would have liked to see a bit more physics and math and a wider variety of teaching formats (it's really just a lot of videos - the lecture slides are there but they're kind of useless). I really enjoyed the two projects, and the peer-reviewed writing exercises are useful if flawed. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in learning about the stars.

por Matko Z

4 de out de 2016

I am a First year master in software engineering, but also a really curious "kid". In my search for interesting course related to astronomy I found this one.

Although I am only half way through the course I state that this is the most compelling course I have taken on Coursera. Since I have more then some knowledge of scientific method, physics and other topics talked about in the course, but not as much in astronomy I find the course tailored for me. Especially taking into account that this course is in the right spot between popular knowledge and a little bit of science and engineering.

Prof. Impley is excellent in explaining, even amazing at some points :)

por Deborah C

22 de ago de 2020

I was expecting a low-key introduction to commonly known information about astronomy with some new images from the Hubble telescope. I've taken similar on-line courses for the general public before. This course, in contrast, provided thought-provoking, challenging material in every unit. I found myself re-reading the supplementary materials, re-watching videos, and doing additional on-line research because my curiosity was piqued. Professor Impey is a master teacher, and the supporting materials in the class provide additional depth and perspectives, and sometimes a dose of humor through light-hearted videoclips. Thank you for this excellent course.

por Jennifer R

15 de jun de 2020

This course is fascinating, engaging and of high quality; Professor Impey is obviously interested in sharing his field with a wide audience. Although familiarity with physics and mathematics helps with understanding the material, no math or science background is required to enjoy and complete this course. The lecture videos are interspersed with photographs, diagrams, and videos. An online textbook is available to further delve into the subject matter. Two interesting projects are assigned, involving actual science online. And to top it off, Professor Impey had live Q&A sessions on YouTube live. Highly recommend to anyone curious about our universe!