Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to the Arctic: Climate

Introduction to the Arctic: Climate, University of Alberta

4.5
166 classificações
48 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

The University of Alberta, the University of Tromso and the University of the Arctic invite you to explore this four week course that examines the environment and climate of the circumpolar North. This course is the result of an international collaboration and provides you with an insight into our planet's North. Following an overview of regional geography, we will focus on the cryosphere (ice), as well as the atmosphere and ocean of the region. We will learn why the Arctic is cold and ice covered, and how that impacts its climate and ecosystems. We will also consider how the Arctic is connected to the rest of the world. Finally, we will examine present day climate change, the processes driving it, and evidence for it in the Arctic, before looking at the implications in the rapidly evolving North. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/arctic-climate...

Melhores avaliações

por TO

Jun 16, 2016

Great! I love the fact that it is a very simple course and information is easy to understand! I also adore the professionalism that is present in every lecture. Absolutely fantastic!

por DG

Feb 18, 2018

Very good course. No previous Arctic knowledge, and now thanks to this course I can understand things much better. Looking forward to more Arctic related courses. Thank you.

Filtrar por:

47 avaliações

por Gabriel Hirlav

Dec 03, 2018

Surprisingly thorough course, although the lectures can be improved and more material can be included in the lecture notes. I personally wasn't keen on watching the lecture material and only studies the notes, maybe a point to improve.

por Ian Rubin

Nov 12, 2018

some of the content was interesting. the lectures were horrendous.

por Maulik Hajarnis

Aug 06, 2018

This course has enhanced my knowledge base and has deepened my perspective of the phenomenon of Global warming. As an Urban Planner, I now understand the Arctic Climate, Global climate, Climate change, its impact on the life of living species in the Arctic and elsewhere. The fundamental terminologies of Ice Sheets, Sea Ice, Glaciers, Ice berg, Ice caps, Albedo, Layers of the Earth's atmosphere, etc. were explained very well and in a simplified manner.

por cheuk wing yip

May 15, 2018

not well supported by the use of graphs, particularly when theory / ideas involve with progression

por Anne Gregory

Mar 17, 2018

Very interesting. Easy to understand. Prof seemed very enthusiastic about the topic.

por Dhiraj Kumar Bishnoi

Feb 19, 2018

THIS COURSE IS AN INSIGHT IN THE REAL WORLD OF ARCTIC

por Ran Tao

Feb 19, 2018

very interesting and thorough introductory course the the arctic system science, enjoyable though some exam questions are tricky :)

por Deborah Guisado

Feb 18, 2018

Very good course. No previous Arctic knowledge, and now thanks to this course I can understand things much better. Looking forward to more Arctic related courses. Thank you.

por Maria

Feb 17, 2018

Wonderful course. Lots of useful information and beautiful and easy to understand infographic.

por S Crasto

Jan 22, 2018

This course successfully expanded my understanding of the impacts of human-caused climate change on the Arctic, and the world as a whole. I highly recommend this course for increasing your Geo-Literacy.