Chevron Left
Voltar para Arch of Titus: Rome and the Menorah

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Arch of Titus: Rome and the Menorah da instituição Universidade Yeshiva

4.5
93 classificações
30 revisões

Sobre o curso

The Arch of Titus: Rome and the Menorah explores one of the most significant Roman monuments to survive from antiquity, from the perspectives of Roman, Jewish and later Christian history and art. The Arch of Titus commemorates the destruction of Jerusalem by the emperor Titus in 70 CE, an event of pivotal importance for the history of the Roman Empire, of Judaism, of Christianity and of modern nationalism. Together with your guide, Professor Steven Fine, you will examine ancient texts and artifacts, gaining skills as a historian as you explore the continuing significance of the Arch of Titus from antiquity to the very present. Course members will accompany Professor Fine on virtual "fieldtrips" to museums and historical sites in Los Angeles and New York where you will "meet" curators, scholars and artists. You will attend an academic colloquium and even "participate" in office hours. Students will participate in the latest advancement in the study of the Arch - the restoration of its original colors. You will learn how color was used in Roman antiquity and apply that knowledge to complete your own 'color restoration' of the Arch of Titus menorah relief....

Melhores avaliações

RS

Aug 23, 2016

I rate this course as excellent. It was fascinating and I enjoyed the detailed study. I also enjoyed the beautiful filming of the various locations and especially the Arch of Titus itself

MB

Mar 29, 2016

Interesting and inciteful. Dr. Fine is an excellent instructor! Thank you, sir. I hope you will present more classes from Yeshiva University!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Arch of Titus: Rome and the Menorah

By David H

Feb 06, 2018

An excellent course which before I had no real knowledge of. Opened my mind to want to learn more. Very relevant in mankind's history.

By Rebeca P M

Sep 13, 2017

It is an amazing trip to one of the most characteristic monuments of Imperial Rome: the Arch of Titus.

By Leticia L

Jul 11, 2017

too religiuos for me, but the same curse with another point of view would be perfect

By heather b

Jul 08, 2017

Fantastic course - I truly enjoyed this and learned so much - many thanks to Professor Fine and team.

By Victoria M

Jun 09, 2017

The only art history class I've ever taken from a Jewish perspective.

By Rea U

Jun 08, 2017

A superbly informative yet easy-to-follow course that leaves plenty of room for the students' own thoughts and encourages us to look for more information online or in the printed media. I especially enjoyed Professor Fine's inspiring, thought-provoking way of presenting the information. He is a personality who challenges his listeners, in a positive way, and who gives his subject matter true spirit and perspective. Thank you!

By Aneirin C P

May 31, 2017

I absolutely loved this course; as a Classics major, I never really got the other perspectives in the Roman world aside from the Romans. It was enlightening to approach interpreting archaeological evidence through a Jewish lens rather than through that solely of the Romans.

By Michelle R

May 31, 2017

A brilliant and fantastic course for anyone who enjoys history.

Professor Steven Fines has a great teaching ability about him, I really enjoyed listening and watching his enthusiasm on the topic.

The reason I only gave 4 star instead of 5 is quite an insignificant reason really but it is because any close up camera action was not the best quality.

I can not fault any of Professor Fines work, he's ability to explain and capture the essence is refreshing. Thank you very much.

By Claudette D

May 16, 2017

F

By James G

Apr 06, 2017

A great class, a great professor

By Lucy I D L R T

Mar 31, 2017

First to congratulate the teacher, who impresses the class with a unique dynamism and uses tools so that history to be narrated so brilliantly, enters the body and is impregnated every neuron about information, which becomes a part of your life , Since that structure becomes a film that is narrating a history as a whole, that of Rome and that of the Jewish people.

By Robert K

Jan 07, 2017

Very disappointing course. Far too much repetition. A lot of opinion based on scant evidence. It would have been much better as a 30 minute video without all the fluff and unsubstantiated inferences. I would not recommend this course.

By Jorge E M A

Dec 25, 2016

I think, I can understand, the more and less of living rooted in a common history. The description of life with the elegies and sorrows can be seen in the panel of the Arch of Titus. The most important teaching is positivism in the face of difficult facts and the capacity of the human being to give a different meaning to adversities.

By Kimiko G

Dec 10, 2016

Closed world view

By Rebecca S

Aug 23, 2016

I rate this course as excellent. It was fascinating and I enjoyed the detailed study. I also enjoyed the beautiful filming of the various locations and especially the Arch of Titus itself

By Anne A

Aug 12, 2016

I didn't really feel that there was enough material here to make a six-week course, so that there was a great deal of repetition, and very little context of the Roman period.

By Emily M

Jul 01, 2016

This wasn't quite what I expected. A lot of the "lectures" were very repetitive, which was annoying. However, I learned a lot and enjoyed the assignments. The Arch of Titus Project sounds really interesting and I'm looking forward to their next findings!

By Rahul R

Apr 22, 2016

Historically the basic background have been discussed. Effort was to make it nationalistic and emotional.

Significance of Menorah as a symbol is absolutely missing. All the emphasis was on the Arch but the Arch looses its very significance without the menorah. So this should be covered or shared properly. For example Questions like why 7 hands needs to be replied. Why 3 legs needs to be replied

Why painting ? This learning was not supposed to be in it. Someone might or might not like painting as a concept to learn and the course title also gave no indication towards that.. Wrong to make it a mandatory part as an assignment.

By MaryAnn B

Mar 29, 2016

Interesting and inciteful. Dr. Fine is an excellent instructor! Thank you, sir. I hope you will present more classes from Yeshiva University!

By Alison U

Feb 28, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. It both further my reading and knowledge in some areas, while introducing new topics to me that I'd not yet encountered.

My only problem was with the final assignment - it does not do justice to the topic of the final week, which is the issue of colour on ancient monuments (in particular the arch, of course) and the implications of colour on composition and on later perceptions of antiquity. The assignment itself did not give me an opportunity to really explore these issues.

By YURI D L P

Feb 21, 2016

The last assignment is a time-waster and really poorly designed. Not all adults are into coloring; this is not elementary school and what's the point of coloring a picture of the Arch for you? Frankly I can't be bothered to look up sources for the descriptions of Roman soldiers' attire, and especially to figure what each number is pointing to. It wasn't even always clear what the numbers on the template referred to and two of the numbers were missing. In addition, there were a lot of glitches with the grading software. Finally our questions were almost never answered. Otherwise I found this to be an interesting course and I learned quite a bit from it, although it could have been condensed into three or four classes at the very most. The video lectures were videotaped a bit strangely, with Professor Fine often seeming to talk to an invisible person on the right or the left of the camera, instead of at the viewer. The videos I liked were mostly the office hours ones and the one with the interview with Rabbi Elliot Cosgrove at Park Avenue Synagogue. I could have gotten a very good grade on this course, but the last assignment ruined that. No, I will not be recommending this course or any others by this Professor.

By Carmelo M

Feb 16, 2016

Highly recommended for the would-be historian of Rome and ancient Judea. A course which challenges the common viewpoint of both Christians and Jews, with major implications for the reinterpretation of other artifacts surviving from the classical period.

By Leonidas T

Feb 13, 2016

It was a very interesting, insightful and enjoyable course. A lesson of history which I wasn't consider like that before. The passion of Pr. Steven Fine was obvious and strong. Thank you for the opportunity to learn from you.

By Sarah M

Feb 12, 2016

Enjoyable

By kenneth j j

Feb 07, 2016

great course