Chevron Left
Voltar para At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

Comentários e feedback de alunos de At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC da instituição Sapienza — Universidade de RomaUniversidade de Roma "La Sapienza"

4.5
estrelas
354 classificações
142 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Which are the deepest roots of that mix of cultures that we use to call ‘Mediterranean Civilization’? Which are comminglings and exchanges which produced its most complete fruit, i.e. the city, a place for landscape-modelling communities? And which elements did contribute to build up that baulk of customs, ideas, and innovations which compelled to confrontation and hybridizations different peoples for millennia? What did it made, from pottery to metallurgy, from gastronomy to architecture, from art to religion, of a sea a cradle of civilization? Archaeology may help in disentangling such questions, seeking unexpected answers , by tinkering what ancient Mediterranean peoples left buried in the ground. A privileged point of view of our course is the ancient Phoenician city of Motya, located exactly at the centre of the “sea in the middle”. Throughout the live experience of excavation, with images taken on the field, this course will let you touch the many tesserae of the great mosaic of the Mediterranean Civilization. The field diary of the archaeologist, and the handpick will be the two tools, which will lead us across the sea to discover what such early cities actually were, and how their contribute is still a major part of our shared memory....

Melhores avaliações

CH
13 de Mar de 2021

This was a great course, it was great to be out 'on location' with the archaeologists and Lorenzo Nigro. There was also a great selection of reading material which offered more in-depth information.

DA
9 de Ago de 2017

wonderful explanation along with good slides and maps and incredible readings\n\nbut the main organization was my favorite part because I learned so much about ancient cities as well as Motya

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 142 Avaliações para o At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

por Diane W

1 de Out de 2020

A very interesting course for anyone looking to learn more about the growth of urbanism in the Mediterranean. The professors English is not perfect but is easily good enough to understand and he is an engaging teacher and obviously knows his material inside out. The course transcripts need some work on them! A glossary would also be useful for non-specialists.

por Rodrigo C S M

8 de Ago de 2020

Great course! It was really interesting to know the ancient origins of Motya and how were conducted the the archaeological studies of its remais. I would only point out that the english text of the lectures has several mistakes. Other than that I really appreciated the course!

por Ellen S

30 de Jun de 2019

I enjoyed learning this material. It was fun trying to interpret the English text which I assume was done by machine with some strange results. Most, but not all, of the time I was able to figure out the word by listening to the audio in slower speed.

por Fethi O Ö

7 de Jul de 2017

Phoenician is a specific subject in the Ancient Mediterrenean History.Why Phoaenicians came to the west from the east? Where did they live in the west? Many thanks Sapienza University and Lorenzo Nigro for the laborious course.

por SUZANNE R

13 de Set de 2021

Interesting focus on the settlement of the Phoenicians in Motya and the digs carried out there by the University of La Sapienza. The enthusiasm of Professor Nigro gave me a new appreciation of archeology.

por KERRY S

29 de Abr de 2021

A fascinating course. I had to work hard to understand the material, but I enjoyed the challenge. I intend to review the course materials - I'm sure I will learn even more the second time through.

por Daniel V

29 de Nov de 2017

Very informative and the lecturer is quite engaging. The items in the quizzes are sometimes a bit cryptic and every now and then one finds oneself guessing at exactly what is being asked.

por Heather C

5 de Jan de 2021

I really enjoyed this hands on approach to teaching. the professor was enlightening and entertaining and passionate about the subject. loved it being on site most of the time8

por Vasiliki C

6 de Fev de 2020

The material was extremely interesting. I have learned many interesting things. Unfortunately, the subtitles were so bad that I had to spend a lot of time to decipher the text.

por Teddy v D

24 de Mar de 2021

Very interesting course, but it would be much improved with a good translation into English. Not only a proper translation of the video's, but especially of the quizzes.

por Elizabeth G

13 de Abr de 2020

Some of the lectures were difficult to understand ( names and places) and the translation texts were incorrect. Good course otherwise, enjoyed it!

por Judith M S

1 de Mai de 2018

Really interesting course! The quizz needs some improvements in terms of grammar (some questions/answers are difficult to understand). Thank you!!

por Rafael M

7 de Jan de 2019

Bom curso, o professor é querido, mas muitas vezes pareceu mais uma série de leituras de relatórios arqueológicos do que uma aula de história

por Federico C

8 de Out de 2018

Great course. I enjoy the most when a Proffesor talks about his passion, like in this case. 5 stars if the Proffesor spoke better English.

por David B

21 de Fev de 2021

Interesting and informative. Both wide ranging in detail and narrow in outlook since in mainly concentrates on one site. Enjoyed this.

por Shiva P P

4 de Ago de 2020

Please try concentrating on the clarity of the subtitles. It was too difficult to follow the professor without the correct subtitles.

por Karen W

28 de Abr de 2020

It was very interesting. It was sometimes hard to understand what the Professor was saying and the written notes didn't always help.

por David J H

16 de Abr de 2019

A very interesting course with lots of information. The translations were at times a little challenging.

por Anton B

24 de Jul de 2021

A very interesting course which contributed further to my little knowledge on the island of Motya.

por Isabel G C

7 de Nov de 2019

Muy interesante y útil, aunque un poco confusas algunas explicaciones y preguntas de los test

por Rebeca P M

21 de Ago de 2017

It is a very interesting course to know the Phoenician city of Motya.

por Charles B

30 de Ago de 2020

was well paced would have liked a little more history

por Dennis W

2 de Jun de 2018

My first try at a subject like this. Very well done.

por Benedict S

6 de Jul de 2020

5/5 Lorenzo Nigro

4/5 content

3/5 translation