Chevron Left
Voltar para At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC, Sapienza University of Rome

4.4
96 classificações
39 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

Which are the deepest roots of that mix of cultures that we use to call ‘Mediterranean Civilization’? Which are comminglings and exchanges which produced its most complete fruit, i.e. the city, a place for landscape-modelling communities? And which elements did contribute to build up that baulk of customs, ideas, and innovations which compelled to confrontation and hybridizations different peoples for millennia? What did it made, from pottery to metallurgy, from gastronomy to architecture, from art to religion, of a sea a cradle of civilization? Archaeology may help in disentangling such questions, seeking unexpected answers , by tinkering what ancient Mediterranean peoples left buried in the ground. A privileged point of view of our course is the ancient Phoenician city of Motya, located exactly at the centre of the “sea in the middle”. Throughout the live experience of excavation, with images taken on the field, this course will let you touch the many tesserae of the great mosaic of the Mediterranean Civilization. The field diary of the archaeologist, and the handpick will be the two tools, which will lead us across the sea to discover what such early cities actually were, and how their contribute is still a major part of our shared memory....

Melhores avaliações

por DA

Aug 10, 2017

wonderful explanation along with good slides and maps and incredible readings\n\nbut the main organization was my favorite part because I learned so much about ancient cities as well as Motya

por D

Nov 02, 2018

este curso es muy bueno te ayuda a aprender mas acerca de nuestro hermoso pasado su cultura, arquitectura , su sociedad entre otras cosas\n\nmuchas gracias\n\nsaludos desde VENEZUELA

Filtrar por:

39 avaliações

por Oscar Trelles

Nov 29, 2018

The videos are excellent but the choice of lectures and the quiz need more work.

por daniela perez

Nov 02, 2018

este curso es muy bueno te ayuda a aprender mas acerca de nuestro hermoso pasado su cultura, arquitectura , su sociedad entre otras cosas

muchas gracias

saludos desde VENEZUELA

por Wojciech Wawrety

Oct 20, 2018

Fascinating journey through Mediterranean. You can learn a lot about Phoneicians and their Sicilian colony of Motya. The course is amazing also because professor Lorenzo shows real excavations and takes You to museum to better understand the topic.

por Federico Cardelle

Oct 08, 2018

Great course. I enjoy the most when a Proffesor talks about his passion, like in this case. 5 stars if the Proffesor spoke better English.

por Imanuel

Oct 04, 2018

Great videos from the professor, but the tests are made in unacceptably bad broken English, and the video subtitles have sometimes terrible quality. Also, the suggested reading materials are often in French, Spanish, German, Italian, and sometimes they aren't even links- am I supposed to purchase these books in order to follow the suggested readings? What is this?

por Analia C. Cangini

Sep 02, 2018

Me ha fascinado el curso, sumamente instructivo, felicito al Profesor Nigro y a su staff de la Universidad La Sapienza por tan importante investigacion acerca de una culura fenicia, de la que no se profundiza demasiado en algunos ambitos de la enseñanza y que tanta importancia tuvo en esos intercambios culturales con otras civilizaciones del Mediterraneo.

Los materiales aportados como de apoyo han sido fantásticos y permiten continuar profundizando el tema.

Dos unicos puntos que quisiera sugerir si se me permite, serian: el aporte de lineas de tiempo histórico en los videos pues en ocasiones algunos eventos y construcciones que son contemporáneos entre sí al ser proyectados en diferentes videos dio cierto trabajo sincronizarlos y los mapas de cada una de las construcciones que son pequeños en las proyecciones y eso dificulta su visualizacion, (tal vez deberian estar solos en una imagen, no con otros elementos, pues al ampliarlos se pierde mucha definicion...pero solo son sugerencias.

por Deleted Account

Aug 14, 2018

This was my first time studying anything related to the Phoenician civilization. I enjoyed how much of the lecture was on the field in Motya. The professor's English was surprisingly good.

por Damon Todd Roman

Jul 07, 2018

I

por CRAN

Jul 05, 2018

Excellent cours, présenté avec beaucoup de pédagogie. Riche et varié. Très bonnes illustrations et documentation bien structurée. Bravo au professeur Nigro et son équipe. J'espère pouvoir assister à un autre cours !

por Charles Edward Miller

Jun 27, 2018

G