Chevron Left
Voltar para Archaeoastronomy

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Archaeoastronomy da instituição Politecnico di Milano

4.5
stars
466 classificações
135 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

Melhores avaliações

WT

Sep 17, 2019

It is a great course. I have enjoyed each of the segments covering many more ancient sites than I have known about in the past and explaining the ones I did know about in much greater depth.

FL

Sep 25, 2019

A really interesting course, both wide-ranging and detailed. I found some of the astronomical data hard to get my head around, but still thoroughly enjoyed the course - thank you!

Filtrar por:

126 — 135 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Archaeoastronomy

por Kate G

Apr 23, 2017

This course has amazing information in the lectures, but it is difficult in the video lectures to pick out what bits of information are going to be relevant in the quizzes, you will have to re-take quizzes a number of times, no matter how well you are taking notes. Also the very last section is entirely made of a rushed-maths lesson, and a quiz based on that rushed maths lesson that is VERY difficult. I would highly recommend this for anyone who already knows basic Astronomy Math, and caution anyone who doesn't.

por Angel B

Jan 03, 2018

I initially really enjoyed this class. I just feel that the last week felt tacked out. The same care was not given to it that was given to the other ones when it came to lectures et al. And talking about the moon and venus, I feel this could have been handled in similar ways to the other sections of the course to make it palpable, a visceral experience of the information instead of just bleating back info from articles.

por Jinisha L

May 21, 2018

The content was really good,especially unraveling the astronomical connection behind monumental architecture around the world. However, as a layperson the astronomy part was difficult to understand. So you will have to go through that part multiple times. I even enlisted the help of an astronomy enthusiast to further break things down for me.

por Joy S

Sep 05, 2017

Should be a fascinating subject. Ancient peoples knew a lot about the stars and placed structures so as to observe them in various ways. Instructor has an extremely strong accent. Almost need subtitles.

por Rhiannon H

Jun 25, 2018

A good course but I needed a better understanding of the basic astronomy before starting, the archaeology sections by comparison were easy so and could have been more complex

por Emma R

Feb 04, 2017

interesting course but you cant do the tests if you didnt pay money (any tasts)

por Sara F

Feb 13, 2017

The contents of the course are interesting however it is a shame that you can only access the quiz portion and assesments if you pay for the certificate. Same with the materials, it would be great if the readings and the suggested bibliography details could be downloaded.

por Ginny H

Aug 17, 2017

Too much information crammed together. Videos way too short and astronomy concepts not well explained. The quizzes would be almost impossible if it weren't for the ability to retake them as many times as necessary to pass. I didn't retain much from this class.

por quantum

Apr 30, 2018

The course material doesn't take the student along. It assumes that the student is familiar with many advanced concepts and does not make an attempt to satisfactorily teach basic concepts.

por Aslı T

Oct 14, 2018

The teacher rushes through the material and it's very hard to understand. It's a wonderful subject but could be taught way better.