Chevron Left
Voltar para Archaeoastronomy

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Archaeoastronomy da instituição Politecnico di Milano

4.5
estrelas
941 classificações
287 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

Melhores avaliações

II
2 de Mar de 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

WT
16 de Set de 2019

It is a great course. I have enjoyed each of the segments covering many more ancient sites than I have known about in the past and explaining the ones I did know about in much greater depth.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 285 Avaliações para o Archaeoastronomy

por Wijesinghe A D V M

13 de Nov de 2020

This course is very interesting. It would be good to join a course on South Asia as well.

por Nitesh G

24 de Set de 2020

The course length could have been more long, since this is a wast subject

por VIDHUKRISHNA C U

4 de Jun de 2020

A course which gives fascinating relation between stones and stars

por julio c t g

6 de Abr de 2020

Very interesting. I would likke this course to have a longer time

por Ines G

20 de Fev de 2018

Very interestig. Sometimes the English was hard to grasp.

por Gerardo S

14 de Nov de 2018

bueno pero falta una traducción completa al español

por Kelly L S

2 de Set de 2020

Very interesting but hard!!

por Anne H

22 de Jan de 2018

Brief but extremely complex

por Christopher F

27 de Dez de 2019

Great introductory course.

por Harshit S

6 de Mai de 2020

Nice learning experience!

por Richard K

26 de Mai de 2017

interesting perspective

por Litty C

21 de Mai de 2020

informative.

por Amairani R F

10 de Abr de 2019

muy bueno

por Yaseen A

26 de Nov de 2020

سهر غوت

por Jay G

13 de Nov de 2017

Very interesting information. I am going to pursue this field and it was good to learn first hand what to expect. However, I found both the Speaker and viewpoint very biased. There comes a time when the world has to realize that People of Color belong in it. In history, and in the beginning of time. Sorry, we did not just evolve when Europeans enslaved us. And our names were not Toby or slaves. This is something that was done to us, not who we are or ever were. We were and continue to be of a highly race of people, damaged and trodded upon by European thinking. Especially, its constant need to write us out of history. Therefore, this very informative class suffered two stars.

por Radek C

25 de Mar de 2020

Nice lecture but your obsession regarding so-called "pseudo" science ruins it. I have visited almost all the sites you were talking about personally (Egypt, Peru, Bolivia, Cambodia...) and I have to say that, in many cases, official archeology cannot hold water.

Archeology itself is very inaccurate science especially when looking at ancient civilizations. It is creating theories that usually cannot be properly proved or are backed up by inexact and misinterpreted radiocarbon dating.

I hope that archaeoastronomy will help archaeologists to open their minds and change their views on history, namely the dating of stone monuments.

por Sylvie B

13 de Ago de 2020

Mixed review. General impression; think of it as touring very popular touristic sites with a well-paid professor providing more in-depth knowledge than the typical, local less well-paid tour guide. Positives: high quality visuals, short duration, useful information for trip planning, no multiple choice answers (which is very handy for the extremely difficult quiz on week 7). Negatives: bad enunciation of words ending in "ed", questionable audio quality, uneven content between weeks (week 7 is unnecessary and extremely diff

por Kate G

23 de Abr de 2017

This course has amazing information in the lectures, but it is difficult in the video lectures to pick out what bits of information are going to be relevant in the quizzes, you will have to re-take quizzes a number of times, no matter how well you are taking notes. Also the very last section is entirely made of a rushed-maths lesson, and a quiz based on that rushed maths lesson that is VERY difficult. I would highly recommend this for anyone who already knows basic Astronomy Math, and caution anyone who doesn't.

por Angel B

2 de Jan de 2018

I initially really enjoyed this class. I just feel that the last week felt tacked out. The same care was not given to it that was given to the other ones when it came to lectures et al. And talking about the moon and venus, I feel this could have been handled in similar ways to the other sections of the course to make it palpable, a visceral experience of the information instead of just bleating back info from articles.

por Jinisha L

21 de Mai de 2018

The content was really good,especially unraveling the astronomical connection behind monumental architecture around the world. However, as a layperson the astronomy part was difficult to understand. So you will have to go through that part multiple times. I even enlisted the help of an astronomy enthusiast to further break things down for me.

por Desiree A

20 de Nov de 2020

The material is very interesting, I enjoyed learning about alignments and monuments through videos and lectures. However, Week 7 introduced a number of mathematical concepts which could have been taught and integrated into videos in the previous weeks. The quizzes were also very hard and required doing research on my own.

por Julia S

20 de Jul de 2020

The information was really cool, but I had a hard time understanding the professor at points. I used subtitles most of the time, but then when week 7 hit there were no more videos, and I think it would have been more beneficial to have videos in that week to talk about the mathematical concepts in the readings.

por Jillian L K

4 de Mar de 2020

Very interesting information about the connection between ancient monuments and the alignment with astronomical constellations. The instructor had a very heavy accent and was difficult to understand, however he seemed very well versed in Archaeoastronomy.

por Joy S

5 de Set de 2017

Should be a fascinating subject. Ancient peoples knew a lot about the stars and placed structures so as to observe them in various ways. Instructor has an extremely strong accent. Almost need subtitles.

por Rhiannon H

25 de Jun de 2018

A good course but I needed a better understanding of the basic astronomy before starting, the archaeology sections by comparison were easy so and could have been more complex