Chevron Left
Voltar para Archaeoastronomy

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Archaeoastronomy da instituição Politecnico di Milano

4.5
estrelas
700 classificações
215 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

Melhores avaliações

II

Mar 03, 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

WT

Sep 17, 2019

It is a great course. I have enjoyed each of the segments covering many more ancient sites than I have known about in the past and explaining the ones I did know about in much greater depth.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 214 Avaliações para o Archaeoastronomy

por John R

Aug 02, 2019

The content was well delivered for the first 5 weeks. The tests, however, often did not relate well to the content discussed, and often could not be completed given the information contained within the course, and the student is left guessing rather than knowing. The week 6 material contained more content then all 5 weeks combined, and it was all reading, and no video. Often topics (and mathematics) were introduced without context, and variables were introduced without being defined (such as "i" for inclination). I have an astrophysics background, and I found the test at the end of week 6 nearly impossible, even though it was material in my own field of study.

por Muhammad W K

Jan 13, 2019

Excellent Course Outline and easy to understand content, Prof. Giulio Magli has done an excellent job to make that all information understandable to the students. Regards!

por Mandy N

May 11, 2019

Fascinating topic taught in a very engaging way! I thought the instructor was very clear, especially with all the new vocab for this subject. The review of stats and probability at the end was helpful to understand how some of the conclusions are made in this field of study. I would like added modules on Pacific and Asian astroarcheological sites too.

por Javier A S A

Dec 20, 2019

Very good course. It would be even better if you attached readings on the topics, especially on position astronomy which I think is very superficial and sometimes these aspects are not understood in the classes.

por Imanuel

Mar 03, 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

por Olivia D

Jun 13, 2018

Insightful and super interesting, would recommend to anyone with an interest in this particular field and is a beginner.

por Alexander P V M

Jul 22, 2017

For me this course did not provide what I was looking for. Thus, as far as I'm concerned this course did not reach its full potential, meaning it neither truly teaches astronomy nor archaeology. Instead, it simply discusses a number of astronomical features to be found at archaeological sites. Though it does introduce a number of the astronomical terms I had hoped to learn, it does so in an unstructured and unguided way. As such, this course might be a good bridge between archaeology and astronomy, it the latter is already known, as well as a good way demystify some of the aspects surrounding archaeoastronomy (or astronomical features of archaeological contexts), but does not live up to the task of introducing the novice into the subject.

por quantum

Apr 30, 2018

The course material doesn't take the student along. It assumes that the student is familiar with many advanced concepts and does not make an attempt to satisfactorily teach basic concepts.

por Manon v U

Aug 10, 2018

Thank you very much for all the interesting lectures and reading material. I have really enjoyed the last 6 weeks and I have learned many new things. I am sure that I will continue to expand my knowledge about Aarcheoastronomy. I have however one remark about the quiz questions. Despite the fact that the level of the questions changed from being rather difficult to really obvious, it happened a few times that the questions belonging to a specific week were not mentioned at all. Perhaps the questions could be more chronologic with the weeks and the mentioned material.

por antonio b

Sep 12, 2019

It changed my way to look at historical sites. I will try to deepen some of the concept and apply them to my travels with my family. for example I checked the Augustus temple in Vienna (France) and nimes (Place career) following the investigation during this summer course. One missing chapter though is the naming of the days in the calendar following the only visible planets in the sky: it would be interesting following this in the different civilisations.

por Barry M F

Mar 20, 2019

Fascinating course, delivered in a most engaging manner with some real challenges for those of us who find the language of mathematics a little baffling. Professor Magli pursues a well balanced perspective on what the connections between 'stars' and the stones of ancient sites might be. A quite brilliant blend of culture, religion, architecture, archaeology and astronomy - as Tina would say ' simply the best'

por Paraskevi G

Nov 09, 2017

This course is approachable for everyone, regardless of their knowledge on the subject. It is very easy for people previously involved in Archaeology although it adds interesting information to what one may already know, combining it with the challenge of Astronomy (the latter not being extremely hard to follow). The lector is very enthusiastic.

por Jaime

Sep 11, 2018

Amazing. I've enjoyed a lot. Thank you very much! Me ha parecido muy completo e interesante. Me ha sorprendido en muchos momentos y creo que está preparado para ser fácilmente accesible por todas las explicaciones y ejemplos que da. Ya lo he recomendado a varios amigos porque creo que ayuda a cambiar la mirada. ¡Muchísimas gracias!

por Batool H

Nov 03, 2017

This course gave me a great insight and curiousity to do more research on the field of monumental architecture and the reasoning/power/myths behind it. I only hand a difficulty to grasp the 6th week but overall it's quite interesting subject especially when you compile it with your own research .

por Ralph T

Jul 05, 2017

Very enjoyable, the beauty in the probable techniques and the depth of purpose that many structures were built is far more fascinating than many purported stories made up to explain such feats. A great course that really should be a must for anyone interested in ancient civilizations.

por Alexander P

Mar 06, 2017

An interesting course both from astronomical and architectural point of view. For me as an architect and amateur astronomer it was a pleasure watching the lectures in this course and learning some new interesting facts about ancient architects-astronomers.

por Christopher R

Oct 10, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course into a fascinating aspect of science and history. There were aspects that were challenging (Mathematics/Equations as well as the lecturers thick Italian accent), but overall, I found it to be eye-opening and rewarding.

por Zsuzsanna J

Jul 17, 2017

Gentile Professore! Grazie per il corso davvero interessantissimo di cui ho imparato tanto dell'argomento. Spero che continua a dare corsi sul sito di coursera che magari hanno anche il sottotitolo italiano. Grazie ancora e saluti dall'Ungheria.

por Manuel P G

Feb 01, 2018

The course is excellent and explanations of Giulio Magli are very clear and pedagogical.

The selected materials (photographs and drawings) are magnificent and help to understand and make content more enjoyable.

I hope a second advanced edition!!!

por Dante P

Sep 18, 2017

Awesome!!! Very very interesting course. A "relative" new SCIENCE. An interdisciplinary way to study the architecture and the mentality of ancient people, and not only from the antiquity but from the beginning of the human history...

por Peta A

Apr 04, 2019

Was great, very enjoyable

a course on this topics subsection spanning a greater length of time would be also worth participating in if it is ever offered in the future.

Thank you again and it was a wonderfully presented course.

por Ana I P G

Apr 04, 2020

Un curso altamente interesante, bien fundamentado, de introducción pero con conceptos muy interesantes y bien comentados por el profesor Giulio Magli. Me ha resultado fascinante, fácil de entender y apasionante. Enhorabuena.

por Paola B d l R

Sep 17, 2017

Un curso excelente que he disfrutado muchísimo de principio a fin y que encarecidamente recomiendo. Muchísimas gracias Giulio Magli y al equipo que ha participado en la realización de este curso.

Un afectuoso saludo, Paola.

por Agrim G

Feb 01, 2020

My second course on Coursera related to Astronomy. Professor Guilio Magli excels at explaining each and every detail regarding Archaeoastronomy, ranging from Angkor Wat to Chichen Itza. Hope this helps me in the future.

por Ekain R

Apr 02, 2017

Increíble. Me ha parecido un Curso con un valor agregado impresionante. Es de los pocos cursos que he hecho que he terminado muy satisfecho por todo lo que he aprendido; tanto a nivel astronómico como a nivel cultural.