Chevron Left
Voltar para Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods da instituição Universidade Técnica da Dinamarca (DTU)

4.7
estrelas
1,369 classificações
305 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

Melhores avaliações

DJ

Nov 15, 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all\n\nThe documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

KD

Aug 31, 2020

I would personally recommend this course to any student aiming for a brief introduction to antimicrobial resistance and also to anyone looking for a very nice and quick brushup of the concepts.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 302 Avaliações para o Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

por Santosh s b

Jun 23, 2020

.

por Adhiambo L O

May 02, 2017

I enjoyed this course. It was quite informative and good in introducing some concepts for me like the QA/QC/QM topic that I was not very familiar with. A good follow-up would be to present a course on how to build laboratory capacity in this area for countries wanting to get better at AST. I would also suggest that some of the presentations be shortened particularly those which will be presented in much more detail later to avoid the doubling up of information eg like the section on methods were covered almost twice for some material. Also, I would like to suggest use of practical examples when trying to explain these concepts. I thought you presented them well but for better understanding, use practical case study examples showing how you handle the situation in the lab. For example, provide us with when these methods are applied so they are not just random.

Thank you for this course and I look forward to your follow-up course.

por Sangeeth S

Oct 10, 2017

Very detailed and well-explained course. Covers a wide variety of areas in microbiology from resistance mechanisms to even the importance of quality control/standardisation. I would highly reccommend this course to anyone looking to improve their understanding of antimicrobial resistance. As a side note, I was very impressed with the presentation of this course and how, despite being an 'intermediate' level course, you can easily understand and learn from it if you have at least done AS level biology or whatever the equivalent is in your country. :D

por Roshan N

Oct 05, 2017

A nearly perfect course hat gave me entirely new perspective on how antibiotic research are done. What I studied at my university war far less than what is presented here. Much thanks to the instructors and professors who made this course possible. Also thanks to everyone working behind the scene to make the study material available and accessible. Highly recommended to every single person who wants insights on AMR crisis and AMR research.

Eagerly waiting more course from the team and DTU.

por Alejandro M M

Aug 14, 2017

I´m a Microbiologist working in a clinical lab. At this moment my goal was to remember and to practice certain knowldge that is remarkable for my duty. This course help me to do exactly this but its a shame that was a bit too concentrated in the quality control and this sort of things than the actual resistance, i know its an essential part but in my opinion it doesn't fit that much. Really liked the updated topics and the useful slides. It was a pleasant experience.

por Ayse S K

May 07, 2020

Lecture and tutorial (Lina CAVACO) in the first weeks was very fluid and sincere. He even described complex issues in an illustrative way. In general, the course also provided very enlightening information about antimicrobial drugs. However, the topics in recent weeks were a bit detailed and my frequency did not match with the narrators. I would like to thank all the teachers and those who contributed to the course. Good work

por Yuri T C

Apr 10, 2017

Good course, gives a good notion of the basics. Very technical (as in it emphasizes more the technical part of antimicrobial testing) and basic (in the theoretical part). I'm an MD student, currently on my final year. The course brought up new aspects to the antibiogram that I was oblivious about, something that I think is very important for the modern-age physician.

por Marinela V d F M

Jun 19, 2020

The course was very interesting, clear and objective. I learned a lot about AMR, and how to work with AMR at the laboratory and how to report the results with world, now I am more clarified in how to start working in my country in particular in my my lab with AMR.

I want to thank you the Doctors for all the lectures.

Thank you from Angola

por Adya S

Jul 07, 2020

The course of Antimicrobial resistance was indeed good. In a short span of time I have learnt great things. I personally expressed my heartfelt gratitute to Covaco ma'am and the team for the perfect demonstration and easy access to modules. Also I liked the design , the pace of lecture delivery and everything.

por Nausheen F

Jun 03, 2017

it was a nice introduction to antimicrobial resistance and how they can be countered. Some parts of the course at the end go into detail which might get boring for someone who just wants to get basic information. Overall, a good starter course!

por Md. S H

Jun 01, 2020

First of all thanks to all course instructor for taking their valuable time to teach us. I have learnt many things but i would highly suggest to improve the presentation of the topic because i didn't understand some point due to its hardness.

por Malarkodi

Dec 27, 2018

Loved the lectures till Week 4 given by Lina Cavaco. I have no prior background in biology hence those were easy to understand. Week 5 lectures got more technical and I could not understand them.

A great course for understanding basics!

por Leandro C

Dec 04, 2016

This course is very interesting but in some points it get repetitive and it gets boring. I recommend to reduce some videos and not to say the same thing too many time even when it's very important

por cristina c d

Dec 05, 2017

I found it a really good course, useful from the basic topics to the more complex ones. I will recommend it undoubtedly to anyone who would be interested in antimicrobial resistance.

por Cristian J R C

Jan 23, 2017

It was a really good course, but I think there´s a lot of repetitions in many lectures. It´d be good to avoid that aspect in order to provide more information to the people.

por Islam M M M

Sep 12, 2018

It was a very helpful and useful course , I enjoyed it very much , but I hope to be more questions during video as in sometimes get boring and too much information, Thanks.

por Soumya G

May 04, 2020

it was very informative course on antimicrobial resistance and helped a lot in learning about the resistance gained by microbials and how it can affect in long terms.

por Rituparna S

Jun 29, 2016

Great Course!! Some lectures were repetitive. So I'd like to suggest the course advisors to cut down on those lectures. Overall it was a great learning experience!!

por Fabio L F

Jul 06, 2017

Excellent content with a rich subject giving us good basis to explore and learn more on the subject and apply the acquired knowledge into many different fields.

por Lydia S

Feb 26, 2017

I did like to course very much. However, the in the last video, although the lecturer tried to speak clearly, I didn't understand all things very well.

por vijay s

Feb 21, 2019

it is really a good course for a microbiology student, i learned lots of things.

please add more practical evidences and discussions, if possible.

por Jessica L O B

Apr 07, 2020

I learned a lot regarding antimicrobial testing, I work with antibiotic resistance and this course allow me to know and improve my knowledge

por SAYARI D

Dec 31, 2017

Great set of teachers. This course has really helped me in clearing my concepts on Antimicrobial resistance- mechanisms and testing methods.

por PaulaNakase

Aug 16, 2016

I really enjoyed the course, being a complete novice i found it challenging to understand some of the technical terms but learnt alot.

por Adil R

Aug 09, 2020

Great.. Informative.. Good lectures Highly recommended for the people in this field. it was my first course on Coursera. thank you.