Chevron Left
Voltar para Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods da instituição Universidade Técnica da Dinamarca (DTU)

4.6
705 classificações
160 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

Melhores avaliações

DJ

Nov 15, 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all\n\nThe documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

AA

Sep 24, 2017

This i very good course. i recommended to all microbiology and molecular biology students. All three teachers are very good. specially last week lecture about molecular detection of MRSA. CRE.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

por Cristian J R C

Jan 23, 2017

It was a really good course, but I think there´s a lot of repetitions in many lectures. It´d be good to avoid that aspect in order to provide more information to the people.

por Rituparna S

Jun 29, 2016

Great Course!! Some lectures were repetitive. So I'd like to suggest the course advisors to cut down on those lectures. Overall it was a great learning experience!!

por Alejandro M M

Aug 14, 2017

I´m a Microbiologist working in a clinical lab. At this moment my goal was to remember and to practice certain knowldge that is remarkable for my duty. This course help me to do exactly this but its a shame that was a bit too concentrated in the quality control and this sort of things than the actual resistance, i know its an essential part but in my opinion it doesn't fit that much. Really liked the updated topics and the useful slides. It was a pleasant experience.

por Matt K (

Aug 06, 2017

Interesting and informative. Thank you

por zhanxw

Apr 24, 2017

Overall, the course contents is useful. If course slides can be provided, that'll be extra helpful.

por Fabio L F

Jul 06, 2017

Excellent content with a rich subject giving us good basis to explore and learn more on the subject and apply the acquired knowledge into many different fields.

por Simone P

Jul 03, 2017

Nice.

por Jewellia T

Dec 22, 2016

Very educational course, however the lectures are very lull and do not hold attention well.

por Waddi M

Nov 14, 2016

So nice... I've learnt a lot.

por hodan

Feb 26, 2017

This class was very much eye-opening as I have gained knowledge and experience

por Alejandro S M

Mar 26, 2017

Muy instructivo

por cristina c d

Dec 05, 2017

I found it a really good course, useful from the basic topics to the more complex ones. I will recommend it undoubtedly to anyone who would be interested in antimicrobial resistance.

por Ahmed I K

Oct 23, 2016

good course

por Leandro C

Dec 04, 2016

This course is very interesting but in some points it get repetitive and it gets boring. I recommend to reduce some videos and not to say the same thing too many time even when it's very important

por Mohamed S T

Oct 11, 2016

Very important course that help to know several ways of anti microbial susceptibility testing.

por Amr F

Feb 19, 2017

very good and useful

por Sangeeth S

Oct 10, 2017

Very detailed and well-explained course. Covers a wide variety of areas in microbiology from resistance mechanisms to even the importance of quality control/standardisation. I would highly reccommend this course to anyone looking to improve their understanding of antimicrobial resistance. As a side note, I was very impressed with the presentation of this course and how, despite being an 'intermediate' level course, you can easily understand and learn from it if you have at least done AS level biology or whatever the equivalent is in your country. :D

por Madhu K S

Dec 08, 2017

very informative and simple

por SAYARI D

Dec 31, 2017

Great set of teachers. This course has really helped me in clearing my concepts on Antimicrobial resistance- mechanisms and testing methods.

por Islam M M M

Sep 12, 2018

It was a very helpful and useful course , I enjoyed it very much , but I hope to be more questions during video as in sometimes get boring and too much information, Thanks.

por Ahmed E A E

Nov 23, 2018

Thank you so much for this information and this course

por 建樺 陳

Oct 14, 2019

簡單清楚易懂的解釋了抗抗生素的機制、辨識抗生素敏感性的機制...

只是最後幾個章節的電腦工具使用較為困難!

整體學習到頗多基礎抗生素知識!

por Nadia A

Nov 05, 2019

time consuming but really an eye opener

por Shabnam M T

Apr 21, 2017

Thank you so much for the interesting course. My thesis in master was on Antibacterials and (and more subjects) I am much interested in Microbiology. I am going to continue my PhD in Microbiology and this course was a kind of review for me with some new details. Especially ResFinder was really interesting to me. Thank you so much for the class.