Chevron Left
Voltar para Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods da instituição Universidade Técnica da Dinamarca (DTU)

4.6
705 classificações
160 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

Melhores avaliações

DJ

Nov 15, 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all\n\nThe documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

AA

Sep 24, 2017

This i very good course. i recommended to all microbiology and molecular biology students. All three teachers are very good. specially last week lecture about molecular detection of MRSA. CRE.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

por Emily B

Jun 14, 2017

Very practical discussions.

por MUTSHIENE D E

May 04, 2017

Great course, It gave me an overview of antibiotic resistance problems.

por cristian

Apr 22, 2017

excelente curso

por Kanagarajadurai K

Jun 19, 2018

The course was more useful and the contents were appropriate to fulfill the need of the course. The lectures were delivered in a serial manner with a connections between them. The lecturers were confident enough to deliver the lectures.

por Paul C H

Jul 11, 2017

An extremely interesting course that covers important aspects such as the interpretation of results and quality assurance that many short courses on antimicrobial resistance omit. There are a number of very useful links to further information. Module G on Specific Resistances was very interesting and very up-to-date. Thanks to the team at DTU who produced this course and I look forward to taking any further courses in this extremely important area that you pro

por Daniel C G

Jan 09, 2017

Great! Waiting for the next one

por Minimol T P

Jul 26, 2016

Very nice lecure.easily understandable.

por Robert G

Jun 14, 2017

For a student of bioinformatics like me, this course is an indepth case study of a single topic. Antibiotic resistance is covered as it appears in the clinic (briefly), in the laboratory (extensively) and in the genotype (moderately). As such, it is a perfect case study for someone interested in bacterial genetics,

por UMAMAHESWARA R

Mar 05, 2017

It was really a nice course, and it would help me from recollecting the past experience.

My sincere thanks to the Madams, who delivered their valuable speech.

por Shuzhen W

Jan 12, 2017

Very good and helpful!

por Jan K T E

Dec 22, 2016

Thank you to DTU especially to Dr. Lina Cavaco for expanding my knowledge about drug resistance and antimicrobial susceptibility testing. Hoping for more lessons about drug resistance. Thank you once again

por Victor M

Jul 12, 2016

Great teacher and contents.

por Lee V

Nov 06, 2017

Nice overview of issues we face today.

por Deepthi C

Mar 10, 2017

It was good learning experience!!

por 徐进

Jul 05, 2017

very good course

por Depavath A K N

Jul 06, 2018

The course should also include the emergence of microfluidics in AMR.

por Sofija K

Apr 22, 2018

If you are beginner in microbiology world or if you want to brush on some basics, this is a course for you.

por Srivalli B

Feb 05, 2017

Excellent course to refresh or fresly learn about antimicrobial resistance

por Ricardo E A S

Aug 17, 2017

Excelente

por Edgard R

Aug 16, 2016

This course is quite interesting for people interested on microbiological field and research because show general concepts, different techniques and tools which are used on laboratory to identify, monitor how these resistance on microorganism take an important part on public health discussion. I recommended to refresh any knowleadge that have on microbiology field.

por Andrea G T P

Oct 15, 2016

I feal so amazed by all the information, is a complete course and i would like to learn more about antimicrobial resistance. Thank you professor Lina <3

por SUMITRA P

Oct 01, 2017

Hello maam,

Really this course is very interesting. I am a veterinary graduate. As in animals also now-a-days, there is deliberate use of antibiotics and knowledge on this is really very much necessary. Thank you so much for your lectures.

por Damari p J

Nov 15, 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all

The documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

por Nopadol K

Feb 25, 2017

This course teach all things that useful and importance for preparing to everyone who want to know about antimicrobial resistance. Don't think a lot. Take this course and learning it, NOW.

por Anan S

Aug 23, 2017

that is very good really