Chevron Left
Voltar para Animals, Self, and Society

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Animals, Self, and Society da instituição Universidade do Colorado em Boulder

4.7
estrelas
81 classificações
22 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course explores how animals and people are situated within the web of structures and connections known as “society.” Module 1 considers some of the key symbolic roles that animals play in society by investigating the practice of “thinking with animals.” We investigate how people construct different meanings of animals and the implications these meanings have for both animals and humans. You will gain first-hand experience of this by analyzing how animals are represented in the media. Modules 2 and 3 investigate human-animal relationships, including those that involve suffering as well as those that are beneficial. Although many people describe their pets as friends or family members, Module 2 takes a deeper dive into what constitutes friendship and family membership where other species are concerned. Module 3 examines the dark side of these relationships, focusing on animal abuse and its relationship to domestic violence. Module 4 focuses on people’s encounters with those animals outside the boundaries of the home and the farm. The way people understand and regard the species commonly considered “wild” shapes the treatment and moral status of these animals....

Melhores avaliações

CW

4 de jan de 2022

This specialization covers interation between ourselves as a human and other species.It will challenge your thinking and beliefs. Well worth taking even if it is not in your normal area of interest.

JL

21 de nov de 2020

A really great course, easy to follow lectures and great information! I had a really fun time with it, and the peer graded assignment really solidified what I had learnt. I definitely recommend! :)

Filtrar por:

1 — 23 de 23 Avaliações para o Animals, Self, and Society

por GUIDO F K

28 de set de 2020

Leslie Irvine was an excellent teacher. Even though the classes were short, the information was detailed and I learned a lot of different aspects of the animals sorrounding our current society that I had never considered before.

por Cynthia W

5 de jan de 2022

T​his specialization covers interation between ourselves as a human and other species.It will challenge your thinking and beliefs. Well worth taking even if it is not in your normal area of interest.

por Wendy J P

14 de fev de 2021

Awesome course! Learned a lot. Very interesting and easy to learn from. Educational. I am studying to be a vet tech and this will be a valuable course on my resume.

por Rijita M

19 de nov de 2020

very informative and highly reccomended for anyone in the field of human and animals dyad.

por Marcnel J

25 de set de 2020

Easy to follow and understand.

por Winston A W

24 de set de 2020

Excellent, thank you.

por Jen A G

14 de dez de 2020

love the instructor!

por Reshob R

29 de set de 2020

This course provides a lot of examples regarding human and animal relationships. It also encourages us to question the philosophical, psychological, and moral implications regarding human-animal interactions along with racialization and genderization of animals.

por Rhyki W

28 de set de 2020

I don't think that peer-review assignments ought to weigh on our grades, as I have encountered peers not testing my reference links or actually reading submissions which ended up resulting in a non-passing score.

por Osama A M

30 de out de 2021

Need Graphics, & Pictures in Lecture

por Jessica L

22 de nov de 2020

A really great course, easy to follow lectures and great information! I had a really fun time with it, and the peer graded assignment really solidified what I had learnt. I definitely recommend! :)

por Maria C

17 de dez de 2020

It's a very nice, full of information course. I think everyone should lay an eye on this course and learn critical information about animals.

por Brenda L

29 de set de 2020

Excellent course. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Lots of very good information!!

por Melike N D

29 de dez de 2020

It was a very productive course

Congratulations !!!

por W O

17 de jan de 2021

The course was great and challenging

por Aizhan S

30 de set de 2020

Very useful course

por Camilo A M E

18 de jan de 2021

Very informative!

por VICTOR D R B

21 de jun de 2021

excelente curso

por S S

20 de mar de 2021

easy and fun

por Kathy A M

13 de mai de 2022

Course is very informative. WARNING - If you sign up as audit, it will noe let you complete unless you upgrade to paid certificate course.

por Fatima A K

7 de jul de 2021

very informative course

por Ewurajei

12 de fev de 2021

Really worth it.

por Jose J P U

17 de dez de 2021

Very good content, but the lecturer just reads everything throughout the whole course, there is no graphic or visual explanation and the content becomes hard to digest.