Chevron Left
Voltar para Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers da instituição Universidade Vanderbilt

4.2
estrelas
654 classificações
181 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This 4 week MOOC builds upon the overview of Java and Android covered in Course 1 by delving deeper into core Android app components, such as intents, activities, and broadcast receivers. You will learn by example how to program these core Android components together with Android concurrency frameworks and basic Java file I/O classes (such as File and InputStream) and Android storage mechanisms (such as Shared Preferences). You'll also learn how to use the Git source code management system. Throughout this MOOC you'll work incrementally on a project involving downloading, storing, and display images from remote websites. Each week you will add additional capabilities to the project, based on material covered in the lecture videos. You'll spend roughly 4 hours per week watching video lectures, taking quizzes, and programming assignments with Java and Android....

Melhores avaliações

AT
7 de Out de 2018

Very good examples, I recomend taking the optional homework if you can. I couldn't take every but you can learn a lot from this course.

CK
16 de Set de 2017

I really appreciate this course, too good to understand the android framework fundamentals and how they work together.\n\nThanks.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 177 Avaliações para o Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers

por Ajay K

16 de Fev de 2017

d

por Ben v d B

5 de Ago de 2019

The lessons themselves were excellent. Unfortunately there is a rather large disconnect between the optional programming exercises and the lessons. Unless you have a background in computer programming and/or don't mind Googling for answers quite a bit you will struggle understanding what's going on in these exercises. You can generally complete the exercises and get a running program, but actually knowing what's going on is something else. It would have been better had they used a smaller/simpler project, that didn't offer so much as an app, but at least would have given students a better insight in how their code and the learned material work. This is in stark contrast to the previous MOOC in this same series. It's clear why these exercises are optional and I assume the majority op people don't actually do them. The majority of comments in the forums are related to not understanding what's going on in these exercises and it's not uncommon to see the last instructor comment being over a year old and usually not very helpful. You are on your own in this one!

por Andreas G

16 de Mar de 2018

This course might better be called "Android system programming" - and is not even particularly bad at that. Being a beginner at mobile App development, I would have expected some hints on designing a good and userfriendly UI, preparing the basic control flow in an App and - yes - using Intents to tie them together. As the course is designed, the UI is not even mentioned once, let alone designed by the learner - it's just given pre-defined as a "black box" in the - fully optional - "fill in the blanks", non-graded programming exercises

If you are interested in a theoretical overview of the technicalities of Intents and Broadcasts, this course will give you plenty to chew on. If you are looking for some more hands-on practical experience, it would be my advice to look somewhere else.

por Lidiya I

22 de Ago de 2017

On one hand, there were simple and explicit things told for a too long time. I regret about attending a few lessons of the course, because it would be enough for me to look at the source code of demo applications, I guess no one would be eager to listen about the source code for minutes instead of looking at it. It's well documented and pretty obvious, why should any other explanations be provided?

On another hand, I learned a few things I missed earlier and got a few ideas for better realizations in my projects, so thank you for that.

por Joshua D

5 de Jan de 2017

There is a lot of good information in the course about how different components communicate with each other in android; however, there is way too much information way too fast. I really enjoyed the rhythm in the first course but, this course left me lost more times than not. Its a great course if you plan on spending large amounts of time searching the web for other resources to complete the optional assignments

por Moh. A R

14 de Abr de 2020

This course is good but totally theoretical course. You need to self study. Topics are not connected well and a rushed course. If you are a beginner then you will face a lot of issues just like I did. You will also end up crying. Practical stuffs are totally less. If you are ready to do self study then you can do this course or else this course is not for you.

por jesus

10 de Fev de 2017

It was a good Mooc, but I think it should imply many more examples to be made by the own students along the course. I really liked the previous one (Java for Android) and of course I´m going to finish the rest of courses. It´s worth it. On the other hand, examples are good and explanations properly presented. Good... but not as good as the previous.

por David W

14 de Ago de 2020

Would've been a good course when it was released, now all the projects are out of date, causing them to be very difficult to get to build let alone complete the assignments. In addition, there are no project solutions provided to check if the code I wrote is correct or not.

por Ryan C

27 de Nov de 2017

I missed having the required programming assignments from the Java for Android course. I feel like I learned more (even though I did the optional assignments). Also feel like the videos barely teach some critical basics that come up in the programming assigment

por Isabelle D

14 de Ago de 2019

What happened to the basics of Android development, like how to create a UI and interact with it? Receiving input and so on? I am glad I had those basics down beforehand, but someone new to android would have trouble following along

por greg a

27 de Jul de 2020

There were no required programming assignments, therefore the optional assignments were not properly updated, i.e. their testing units failed to compile. I saw little evidence that the instructor responds to any student questions.

por Mandy

1 de Nov de 2016

Overall it is OK, but the example framework is more like created for teach purpose which is not practical in industry. Moreover, it seems there are many incorrect part in the assignment especially optional code assignments.

por Nafi-Us S

17 de Ago de 2020

Codes provided were buggy. Could not run in Android Studio. There was no good work-around this issue in forums either. Other than that, a good course. Made a lot of topics clearer.

por Kristopher G

8 de Out de 2017

Great conceptual overview of the topics, although a bit too immersive. The module would benefit from simpler exercises to consolidate a student's understanding

por Margerite B

25 de Jun de 2017

I good a overview of the topics but I don't understand them well enough to implement them. For me the course is too fast.

por bantobalazs

19 de Ago de 2017

The second part of the course was developing overly complicated apps, for downloading imageges.

Disappointed

:(

por Rajatendu D

16 de Dez de 2018

Understanding this course was really difficult.Should have used easier techniques to teach students.

por Bavlly m

7 de Jul de 2020

i could understand some parts of the sample code and the explanation wasn't good enough

por ALLADWAR S S

2 de Mai de 2020

the codes provided for practice are a sudden jump in complexity

por Scott W

31 de Jan de 2017

Not enough coding opportunities.

por Vasu D S

3 de Jul de 2019

Please try to include more code

por Ada_rash

6 de Jul de 2020

Not good explanation of codes

por Gabrielle L

29 de Nov de 2020

Sadly, this just wasn't as good as Java for Android Coursera class (also done by Duke University). You spend a lot of time figuring out how to implement the concepts that are introduced. For example, with intents, they mention explicit and implicit and spend a lot of time on implicit as that can be mentally challenging. When you get to the homework part where you are doing explicit intents, you have no idea where to start. I'll be taking the local community college class on this topic so I can actually do this stuff rather than having a manager's overview of what these are for rather than the actually process doing them.

Also, there are several items that are incorporated into the class with no explanation. Perhaps including another introductory module to cover Toasts and Lambda might be useful.

I would really like this to be better. It makes me glad I didn't pay for the whole certification track.

por Yulim L

2 de Ago de 2020

Very good at explaining and showing the high-level information.

Terrible at showing how to implement at the code level.

Their assignments are thankfully optional, as they are all out of date, filled with typos, and have vague instructions. I suggest reading the Android official guides on activities, intents and their documentation to complete these assignment and get a good idea how to actually do them. Also check out other tutorials for more thorough teaching on the code level information.

por sebastian t

24 de Ago de 2020

This is a poorly structured course compared to the awesome first MOOC in this specialization. The first assignment, for example, arrives well before students are equipped to handle it. I would advise not attempting this MOOC until you've gotten a handle on these topics elsewhere first.