Chevron Left
Voltar para Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers da instituição Universidade Vanderbilt

4.2
estrelas
769 classificações

Sobre o curso

This 4 week MOOC builds upon the overview of Java and Android covered in Course 1 by delving deeper into core Android app components, such as intents, activities, and broadcast receivers. You will learn by example how to program these core Android components together with Android concurrency frameworks and basic Java file I/O classes (such as File and InputStream) and Android storage mechanisms (such as Shared Preferences). You'll also learn how to use the Git source code management system. Throughout this MOOC you'll work incrementally on a project involving downloading, storing, and display images from remote websites. Each week you will add additional capabilities to the project, based on material covered in the lecture videos. You'll spend roughly 4 hours per week watching video lectures, taking quizzes, and programming assignments with Java and Android....

Melhores avaliações

AT

7 de out de 2018

Very good examples, I recomend taking the optional homework if you can. I couldn't take every but you can learn a lot from this course.

CK

16 de set de 2017

I really appreciate this course, too good to understand the android framework fundamentals and how they work together.

Thanks.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 205 Avaliações para o Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers

por greg a

27 de jul de 2020

There were no required programming assignments, therefore the optional assignments were not properly updated, i.e. their testing units failed to compile. I saw little evidence that the instructor responds to any student questions.

por Mandy

1 de nov de 2016

Overall it is OK, but the example framework is more like created for teach purpose which is not practical in industry. Moreover, it seems there are many incorrect part in the assignment especially optional code assignments.

por Ilham

20 de dez de 2020

The content is fantastic but I would've liked more graded assignments with intents and broadcast receivers. Furthermore, the optional assignments have several build issues unlike MOOC1

por Nafi S

17 de ago de 2020

Codes provided were buggy. Could not run in Android Studio. There was no good work-around this issue in forums either. Other than that, a good course. Made a lot of topics clearer.

por Henock A

29 de nov de 2022

I like this course and am planning to stick with it till the end but i rather find the app review sessions boring I prefer when instructors writes the code not reading it.

por Kristopher G

8 de out de 2017

Great conceptual overview of the topics, although a bit too immersive. The module would benefit from simpler exercises to consolidate a student's understanding

por Margerite B

25 de jun de 2017

I good a overview of the topics but I don't understand them well enough to implement them. For me the course is too fast.

por Ilia K

30 de jul de 2021

I would like to get more detailed information about intent, broadcast recievers and activities. I need more code tasks.

por Lukas B Z

26 de jul de 2022

The presentations are good, but I need more instructions to actually know what to do in the programming assignments.

por Balazs B

19 de ago de 2017

The second part of the course was developing overly complicated apps, for downloading imageges.

Disappointed

:(

por Rajatendu D

16 de dez de 2018

Understanding this course was really difficult.Should have used easier techniques to teach students.

por Bavlly m

7 de jul de 2020

i could understand some parts of the sample code and the explanation wasn't good enough

por Jordi G

28 de jan de 2021

I think it should cover more basic examples before increasing difficulty

por Jay K

19 de ago de 2021

good for learning concept. but the practice projects are just way off.

por ALLADWAR S S

2 de mai de 2020

the codes provided for practice are a sudden jump in complexity

por madalv

16 de ago de 2022

Too much boring theoretical stuff.

por Scott W

31 de jan de 2017

Not enough coding opportunities.

por Vasu D S

3 de jul de 2019

Please try to include more code

por Ada_rash

6 de jul de 2020

Not good explanation of codes

por Dhananjay S

5 de jul de 2021

good but not satisfactory

por MOUSSILIOU M F

25 de ago de 2021

excellent cours

por Rashi S

9 de out de 2022

It is good

por Christopher E

16 de jan de 2022

I had very high expectations after taking the preceding course in the "Android App Development Specialization" - however, I'm afraid that I had a somewhat poor experience with this one. Giving the course two stars was a difficult decision. There's definitely a lot of useful information here, and I think the course left me with a solid conceptual understanding of how Android intents, activities, and broadcasts receivers work. The main problem I had is that the course felt somewhat disjointed: There's a brief module on git, which seems a little out of place with regard to the rest of the material - especially since there's no real application for it in the rest of the course (except perhaps cloning demo repositories). I don't feel like the lectures provided adequate preparation for the programming assignments (granted, the assignments were optional). Most of the time I spent working on them wasn't spent designing, implementing, or reading documentation - it was spent trying to figure out which pieces of documentation I should be looking for to get started. This was an issue I struggled with particularly in the first assignment, which as far as I could tell involved method calls that weren't addressed until the following week.

por Yulim L

2 de ago de 2020

Very good at explaining and showing the high-level information.

Terrible at showing how to implement at the code level.

Their assignments are thankfully optional, as they are all out of date, filled with typos, and have vague instructions. I suggest reading the Android official guides on activities, intents and their documentation to complete these assignment and get a good idea how to actually do them. Also check out other tutorials for more thorough teaching on the code level information.

por Anouk W

17 de ago de 2022

Very disappointed. The code feels more like a show-and-tell than an explanation and doesn't make me feel confident with anything taught at all. Furthermore, AsyncTasks are depricated and the code hasn't been updated in 5 years. The theory can be useful, but you will need some other courses to actually be able to build any apps.