Chevron Left
Voltar para Analisando o Universo

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Analisando o Universo da instituição Rutgers — Universidade Estadual de Nova Jérsei

4.8
estrelas
192 classificações
81 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Using publicly available data from NASA of actual satellite observations of astronomical x-ray sources, we explore some of the mysteries of the cosmos, including neutron stars, black holes, quasars and supernovae. We will analyze energy spectra and time series data to understand how these incredible objects work. We utilize an imaging tool called DS9 to explore the amazing diversity of astronomical observations that have made x-ray astronomy one of the most active and exciting fields of scientific investigation in the past 50 years. Each week we will explore a different facet of x-ray astronomy. Beginning with an introduction to the nature of image formation, we then move on to examples of how our imaging program, DS9, can aid our understanding of real satellite data. You will using the actual data that scientists use when doing their work. Nothing is "canned". You will be able to appreciate the excitement that astronomers felt when they made their important discoveries concerning periodic binary x-ray sources, supernovae and their remnants, and extragalactic sources that have shaped our understanding of cosmology....

Melhores avaliações

MM

11 de jul de 2017

Excellent professor ,made a dummy like me understand...Also I had no problem understanding him, even though English is not my native language... Very interesting subject, well explained. Recommended

RF

25 de mai de 2018

We learned this fantastic method for analyzing astronomical images using ds9. Dr. Matilsky is a great teacher, he made the difficult topics fun and correctly showed how to solve the problems.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 81 Avaliações para o Analisando o Universo

por Brenden A

25 de abr de 2021

Really awesome class. Prof. Matilsky is that physics teacher we all want to have. He's funny and inspires a positive attitude towards the material. Thank you!

por Yaniv D

13 de fev de 2021

The course was very interesting and encouraged me to dive deeper and deeper into the topics studied. I really enjoyed the lectures and the use of DS9 program.

por Sarah K

21 de jul de 2021

Awesome course! Great teacher, interesting subjects and learned to work with a really cool program (DS9) that uses real x-ray sources from Chandra.

por Wade C

16 de ago de 2020

Fantastic course! I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it and it has sparked so much more additional interest in the subject matter.

por Dr. B P

1 de jul de 2020

It a beautiful course..Even beginners with little mathematics and enormous interest can join this course. A wonderful journey.

por Claudio R

28 de jan de 2022

Excellent content and better the way in which Professor Matilsky was able to share it with us, thank you very much.

por Jan K

23 de mar de 2021

Very interesting, well taught. It was really worth to spend these evenings hearing Professor Matilsky!

por SURAJ V S

20 de abr de 2021

I find it helpful in my university programs. And help me to get good knowledge about universe.

por Kalliroi S

2 de mar de 2021

My absolute favourite course. I will return to it and DS9 for sure. Highly recommend it.

por Eliezer A S

5 de jan de 2021

Very special and excellent level, great learning! Congratulations Prof. Terry Matilsky!

por Mir S H

15 de nov de 2020

It is quite an interesting course. Thanks to my instructor.

por Nallamothu S M

13 de ago de 2020

very helpful to learn many new things and gain knowledge

por TENIN T P 2

4 de out de 2020

The course as well as the instructor are both awesome

por Rakshit R P

4 de ago de 2020

Nicely Explained Everything from the software DS9

por Everett R

31 de ago de 2021

​I really enjoyed the course. Good instructor.

por mohammed a s

10 de nov de 2021

A great and a very Informative course.

por andy p

12 de jan de 2021

Incredible course and instructor.

por Héctor L R

12 de set de 2020

Thank you Professor Matilsky.

por Trond R K

13 de set de 2021

Informativ and interesting.

por Uriah C

5 de out de 2021

best course Ive ever taken

por Krish M

17 de out de 2021

Very informative Course

por Winston A W

13 de ago de 2020

Excellent, thank you.

por Melina A S

17 de set de 2020

Great course!!

por Joe T

31 de dez de 2021

Great course!

por Sathish k

18 de ago de 2020

Very useful