Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Algae

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Algae da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.7
estrelas
983 classificações
286 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course was produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, the National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy. Algae are an extremely diverse group of organisms that can be found in almost every ecosystem on the planet, and they play an essential role for life on earth. They are little bio-factories that use the process of photosynthesis to create chemical compounds that we can utilize for food, feed, medicine, and even energy. We’ve brought together some of foremost algae experts from industry and academia to teach you the fundamentals of algae. This course will cover what algae are, why they are important, and why we are interested in them for both their environmental benefit, as well as their use for products. You will also explore the vast diversity of algae including the characteristics and applications of some of the main types of algae that are in commercial use today. Later you will learn about algal ecology and how interactions with environment, including pests and predators, affect algal productivity. And finally you will examine the processes of algae bio-manufacturing including production processes, as well as some of the products, benefits, and challenges that impact our ability to make commercially viable products from algae....

Melhores avaliações

AZ
9 de Abr de 2019

one of the best course to know everything about algae. I recommend all people who decided to work on algae pass this course. I learnt about different aspects of algae and seaweed. thanks Coursera.

PG
15 de Abr de 2020

Very interesting and inspiring course! So cool to learn about the history and great diversity of algae, as well as the potential uses of algae in renewable energy and for sustainable materials.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 284 Avaliações para o Introduction to Algae

por Mohamed S

29 de Abr de 2020

its being 4 years since graduation, this course brings much happiness, knowledge and experience.

kind regards.

salem.

por Delphine N

19 de Out de 2020

sometimes a little bit too technical for an introduction, but very interesting, well designed and well taught-

por Saskia M

6 de Jan de 2019

Very nice course.

It was focused very much on micro algae, I would have liked more info on seaweed.

por Anindita S

11 de Mai de 2020

The courses are really great to learn. You will know so many interesting things about the courses.

por KIRYOWA I 1

30 de Jan de 2021

it has good content and the tutors are also in position to explain the content fully

por Carl T

5 de Mar de 2021

Enjoyed the course. A bit of a mish-mash, but introduced me to a whole new world.

por sean c

8 de Out de 2020

Lots of practical industrial material. I had trouble finding reading resources.

por Linda M

10 de Abr de 2021

Began class on March 11, 2021 and completed it on April 10, 2021.

por GRANAPU S

16 de Dez de 2021

A good course for a basic intro about algae and its applications

por SPANDANA J S 1

24 de Set de 2020

It was a very informative course with practicality prioritized.

por Josuah D Z

29 de Set de 2020

The online course of introduction to algae is nice and good.

por Daniel M G G

17 de Abr de 2018

Muy bueno para ser introductorio al tema de las algas.

por Bimal Y C

14 de Jul de 2020

Good course to get basic knowledge related to algae.

por Yoav A

12 de Set de 2018

Interesting material and proffesional teachers

por jacopo b

13 de Mai de 2020

perfectly made with an overview of everything

por ELIZABETH M

7 de Jul de 2020

buen aporte al conocimiento de las algas

por Komal G

30 de Set de 2020

it is really good for a beginner.

por Pothi P C

8 de Abr de 2020

A good course to start with.

por Richard K

8 de Mai de 2018

very informative course

por Basel A A E

7 de Abr de 2020

very good course

por Claire C

9 de Dez de 2020

informative

por Sriram.v

12 de Abr de 2020

nice

por Michelle B

4 de Set de 2020

A very informative but VERY DRY course that is VERY SPECIFIC to someone wanting to work in biomanufacturing with algae. It is is no way entertaining. It gets a three because it sticks to the modules exactly. I do not feel that I learned anything surprising or interesting regarding algae. the first two weeks are very common sense to anyone that has a biology background. The third week has the potential to be interesting but falls short. the fourth and fifth weeks are solely about algal biomanufacturing and if that is why you are taking this course, you will find it interesting. If you are taking it in hopes of learning something more than just straight out of a text book, do not bother.

por Christel R

28 de Fev de 2021

Good material, but not really an "intro" course. To fully understand this material, the student needs a solid background in plant biology and organic chemistry. The slides are over packed and often illegible when blown up to legible size- consider adding a separate document of slides in a better resolution. It would also be helpful to have a glossary of terms, as they were often mentioned with no context.

por Kostas C

18 de Dez de 2020

I loved the fact that there was a wide variety of instructors and there was a plethora of topics and applied sides to the subject that were covered. However, the instructors didn't seem enthusiastic at all when speaking, they seemed very anxious and lethargic, making the whole lectures somewhat boring to sit through.