Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Algae

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Algae da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.7
estrelas
1,018 classificações
295 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course was produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, the National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy. Algae are an extremely diverse group of organisms that can be found in almost every ecosystem on the planet, and they play an essential role for life on earth. They are little bio-factories that use the process of photosynthesis to create chemical compounds that we can utilize for food, feed, medicine, and even energy. We’ve brought together some of foremost algae experts from industry and academia to teach you the fundamentals of algae. This course will cover what algae are, why they are important, and why we are interested in them for both their environmental benefit, as well as their use for products. You will also explore the vast diversity of algae including the characteristics and applications of some of the main types of algae that are in commercial use today. Later you will learn about algal ecology and how interactions with environment, including pests and predators, affect algal productivity. And finally you will examine the processes of algae bio-manufacturing including production processes, as well as some of the products, benefits, and challenges that impact our ability to make commercially viable products from algae....

Melhores avaliações

AZ

9 de abr de 2019

one of the best course to know everything about algae. I recommend all people who decided to work on algae pass this course. I learnt about different aspects of algae and seaweed. thanks Coursera.

PG

15 de abr de 2020

Very interesting and inspiring course! So cool to learn about the history and great diversity of algae, as well as the potential uses of algae in renewable energy and for sustainable materials.

Filtrar por:

276 — 295 de 295 Avaliações para o Introduction to Algae

por ELIZABETH M

7 de jul de 2020

buen aporte al conocimiento de las algas

por Komal G

30 de set de 2020

it is really good for a beginner.

por Pothi P C

8 de abr de 2020

A good course to start with.

por Richard K

8 de mai de 2018

very informative course

por BASEL A

7 de abr de 2020

very good course

por Claire C

9 de dez de 2020

informative

por Sriram.v

12 de abr de 2020

nice

por Michelle B

4 de set de 2020

A very informative but VERY DRY course that is VERY SPECIFIC to someone wanting to work in biomanufacturing with algae. It is is no way entertaining. It gets a three because it sticks to the modules exactly. I do not feel that I learned anything surprising or interesting regarding algae. the first two weeks are very common sense to anyone that has a biology background. The third week has the potential to be interesting but falls short. the fourth and fifth weeks are solely about algal biomanufacturing and if that is why you are taking this course, you will find it interesting. If you are taking it in hopes of learning something more than just straight out of a text book, do not bother.

por Christel R

28 de fev de 2021

Good material, but not really an "intro" course. To fully understand this material, the student needs a solid background in plant biology and organic chemistry. The slides are over packed and often illegible when blown up to legible size- consider adding a separate document of slides in a better resolution. It would also be helpful to have a glossary of terms, as they were often mentioned with no context.

por Kostas C

18 de dez de 2020

I loved the fact that there was a wide variety of instructors and there was a plethora of topics and applied sides to the subject that were covered. However, the instructors didn't seem enthusiastic at all when speaking, they seemed very anxious and lethargic, making the whole lectures somewhat boring to sit through.

por Edgley C

10 de mai de 2020

Interesting course but not exactly what I was expecting from an introductory course. It is too focused on the applications of algae for the industry. Almost nothing is said about the ecological importance of algae.

por Gustavo S M d S L

12 de jul de 2020

Interesting approach, but I felt some of the lectures were insufficient in clarifying certain informations about algae products biomanufacturing processes

por Seum A

16 de jun de 2020

thhe lecture was good but if it is shown video with lecture it could be better I think

por Diana G

28 de ago de 2019

El programa es mucha teoria y solo al final algo de practica.

por Yusuf M A

3 de jan de 2021

The final week lessons are not up to the mark with the quiz.

por Aparna A S

28 de set de 2020

It got more about algae

por Caelyn M

11 de mar de 2022

This was a really uneven course. Some lectures were really fascinating and informative. Some were kind of vague and just didn'treally cover much of anything. There were factual inaccuracies (the nationaity of a particular historical scientist, where the major sources of phosphate in world are). And then there was one lecture that was basically marketing materials for algea related company.

But it was interesting.

por GINA R

2 de set de 2018

no se encontraron lecturas en learning objectives

profesores no responden preguntas en foros

no se entrego ninguna leccion en manufacturing de macro algas

por Ami E

19 de mai de 2021

The classes were good. I completed the course & didn't receive any certificates for that.

por Joe G

9 de mar de 2021

I had several questions that I posted in the discussion forums. None of the instructors responded. I even tried to contact them through email. No response.