Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Algae

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Algae da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.7
estrelas
1,018 classificações
295 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course was produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, the National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy. Algae are an extremely diverse group of organisms that can be found in almost every ecosystem on the planet, and they play an essential role for life on earth. They are little bio-factories that use the process of photosynthesis to create chemical compounds that we can utilize for food, feed, medicine, and even energy. We’ve brought together some of foremost algae experts from industry and academia to teach you the fundamentals of algae. This course will cover what algae are, why they are important, and why we are interested in them for both their environmental benefit, as well as their use for products. You will also explore the vast diversity of algae including the characteristics and applications of some of the main types of algae that are in commercial use today. Later you will learn about algal ecology and how interactions with environment, including pests and predators, affect algal productivity. And finally you will examine the processes of algae bio-manufacturing including production processes, as well as some of the products, benefits, and challenges that impact our ability to make commercially viable products from algae....

Melhores avaliações

AZ

9 de abr de 2019

one of the best course to know everything about algae. I recommend all people who decided to work on algae pass this course. I learnt about different aspects of algae and seaweed. thanks Coursera.

PG

15 de abr de 2020

Very interesting and inspiring course! So cool to learn about the history and great diversity of algae, as well as the potential uses of algae in renewable energy and for sustainable materials.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 296 Avaliações para o Introduction to Algae

por Shrihari N

30 de mar de 2020

Great Introductory course! However, I would have liked to better understand the challenges in bringing algae derived biofuels to the market, and more details about other applications of algae, such as wastewater treatment, Hydrogen production etc.

por Alisa V

18 de ago de 2019

This was really a great in-depth introduction to algae! The modules were very well structured and assignments tested the understanding of important concepts. Also very manageable for those people working full-time jobs! Really enjoyed it!

por yogita g

10 de set de 2020

exceptional introduction I must say. I am an BS Aquaculture from URI and an oyster hatchery manager and was more than satisfied with the curriculum and the expertise of the speakers. I would greatly encourage a follow-up course.

por David D R

24 de out de 2018

Excellent overview. Needs some editing for minor errors. Some questions need to be redesigned since many forms of answers could be correct, e.g. energy source for photosynthesis could be light, sunlight, photons, etc.

por Ahmed A

19 de abr de 2022

Excellent course but one suggestion if possible to consider.

It could be quite beneficial to add animations to aid the receiver to understand and visualize the ideas being discussed.

por Frederik D K

19 de abr de 2021

The course provided my first babysteps into the world of kelps/seaweed & was very interesting. However I would have loved to see a more clear split between micro & macroalgae.

por Vanitha.K

19 de nov de 2020

It is very good to have additional course like this which makes us even more informative and keep us on learning.

Good to know about this course its really a useful one

Thank u

por Bruno

27 de jan de 2021

This course is worth to be attended. The quality of material and teachers is high. I suggest to update/add some parts relevant to latest industrial applications.

por Soham S G

7 de mai de 2018

some lectures were pretty boring. just add a little bit of fun and excitement in the professors' voices so that to capture the attention of the students.

por Niko W

7 de fev de 2021

Really great foundational course providing the basics required to understand the benefits and principles of algae farming and production.

por Carolina H M

23 de mai de 2018

Thanks, it was a very good course, but I recommend putting additional bibliography to read and complement the information

por Mohamed S

29 de abr de 2020

its being 4 years since graduation, this course brings much happiness, knowledge and experience.

kind regards.

salem.

por Delphine N

19 de out de 2020

sometimes a little bit too technical for an introduction, but very interesting, well designed and well taught-

por Saskia M

6 de jan de 2019

Very nice course.

It was focused very much on micro algae, I would have liked more info on seaweed.

por Anindita S

11 de mai de 2020

The courses are really great to learn. You will know so many interesting things about the courses.

por KIRYOWA I 1

30 de jan de 2021

it has good content and the tutors are also in position to explain the content fully

por Carl T

5 de mar de 2021

Enjoyed the course. A bit of a mish-mash, but introduced me to a whole new world.

por sean c

8 de out de 2020

Lots of practical industrial material. I had trouble finding reading resources.

por Linda M

10 de abr de 2021

Began class on March 11, 2021 and completed it on April 10, 2021.

por GRANAPU S

16 de dez de 2021

A good course for a basic intro about algae and its applications

por SPANDANA J S 1

24 de set de 2020

It was a very informative course with practicality prioritized.

por Josuah D Z

29 de set de 2020

The online course of introduction to algae is nice and good.

por Daniel M G G

17 de abr de 2018

Muy bueno para ser introductorio al tema de las algas.

por Bimal Y C

14 de jul de 2020

Good course to get basic knowledge related to algae.

por Yoav A

12 de set de 2018

Interesting material and proffesional teachers