Chevron Left
Voltar para Age of Cathedrals

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Age of Cathedrals da instituição Universidade Yale

4.7
168 classificações
57 avaliações

Sobre o curso

An introduction to some of the most astonishing architectural monuments the world has ever known—Gothic cathedrals. We shall study the art, literature, intellectual life, economics, and new social arrangements that arose in the shadow of the cathedrals and that were such an important part of the revival of cities in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. The goal of the course is a better appreciation of the High Middle Ages, a world that is still recognizably our own....

Melhores avaliações

CL

Jan 08, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I learned so much about cathedrals and their history. The professor was engaging, the forums were lively, and the imagery and music was beautiful and inspirational.

DO

Apr 05, 2019

Thank you soo much for providing this great course online. I am almost at the finish line, and it’s been a great learning experience for me soo far. Thank you Coursera :), and Yale University.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Age of Cathedrals

por Martha D G

Jan 03, 2018

An excellent course, well organized, lots of reading material concerning the themes studied and an excellent Professor.

por Cynthia L S

Jan 28, 2018

This course far exceeded what I was expecting. He explained the statuary on the exterior, the symbolism relating to the beautiful stained-glass windows and introduced me to

por Francoise m

Feb 19, 2018

I really like The Age of Cathedrals, It is interesting and very complete.

por Anne H

Mar 18, 2018

Loved the content, the pictures, the professor, and the literature included!

por Ronald J D

Feb 24, 2018

A comprehensive, in-depth, and ruminant analysis about Gothic architecture, it's history, the lifestyle it influenced, and everything in between. Perfect for architects, architecture professors, and enthusiasts!

por Montserrat B

Apr 11, 2018

Wonderful if you are interested in Gothic Art!

por Montserrat A V

Nov 13, 2018

Of all the courses i saw here this will be especially in my heart. Really fascinating. Thank you.

por Christine R

Sep 16, 2018

Beautiful and full of information Have recommended it to others.

por Marcela R V

Nov 28, 2018

Excellent course, congratulations.

por Martha P T

May 04, 2019

El Dr. Bloch nos ha mostrado un mundo maravilloso a través de la Catedrales, la literatura y la historia. Conocí múltiples aspectos de la Edad Media. Los reyes, incluso santos como Luis IX,, los héroes como Roldán, los filósofos como Abelardo, extraordinarios abades y constructores como Suger o Sully. Esto nos permitió conocer diferentes formas de vida de la Edad Media.

Me parece, sin embargo, que podría mejorar el curso si se estudiaran más algunos conceptos religiosos y teológicos, que no son los adecuados en el curso. Por ejemplo, al único que se adora es a Dios, lo demás, se venera. En la obra de Dionisio Areopagita, la luz viene de Dios, pero no es Dios.

De todas maneras, le agradezco mucho al Dr. Howard Bloch por este regalo extraordinario.

por Diana K

Jun 14, 2019

A very detailed and interesting course.

por CLAUDIA S S

Jun 27, 2019

EXCELLENT. VERY INTERESTING HOW THE APPROACH TO THE ART FROM THE CATHEDRALS

por Philip J

Jun 29, 2019

This is a fascinating course that teaches one to read the architecture of gothic cathedrals in the context of the social and economic changes of the twelfth century in France. The videos are compelling (and set to glorious music!) and the additional primary reading material is well-selected. I couldn't recommend this course more!

por Masliakova A

Jun 02, 2019

Thank You very much!

por Anna L

Jun 09, 2019

An amazing course! Although it only covers the first century and a half of the history of Gothic architecture (will a brief follow-up on the restoration campaign of the 19th century), it does so in a brilliant way, giving not only an overview on the origins and special features of Gothic as a a style, but also a broad historical and cultural context. Professor Bloch is a masterful storyteller, and listening to him was a real pleasure. All in all, this course is an excellent introduction to Gothic, but even if you already know a lot about medieval history and Gothic cathedrals (like myself), you'll surely learn something new from it!

por Claudette D

Aug 27, 2019

T

por Carolina M

Sep 05, 2019

Un curso muy completo, interesante y muy bien documentado. Ha satisfecho todas mis expectativas.

por Carla L E C

Oct 04, 2019

great learning !

por Karoliina R

Nov 07, 2019

Very interesting material!

por franisco v r

Nov 16, 2019

nice

por SJ T

Jan 26, 2018

great crash course on Gothic cathedrals and French history.

por ALEXANDRA C A

Jun 13, 2018

Lots of peer assessment but a very informative and enjoyable course!

por Kate S

Dec 25, 2017

Great course! I really enjoyed the first 3 weeks and the detailed information on the history of cathedrals and how they were built. Instead of so much interpretation of stained glass windows, panel by panel and scene by scene, I would've appreciated a comparison of different cathedrals in different parts of Europe. But over all a good foundation for history-oriented travelers to France!

por Jo N

Feb 23, 2018

A most enjoyable course - I've learned a lot, some of which I never really wanted to know.

por Joanna S

Jun 28, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. It was so interesting.