Chevron Left
Voltar para Age of Cathedrals

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Age of Cathedrals da instituição Universidade Yale

4.7
estrelas
386 classificações
148 avaliações

Sobre o curso

An introduction to some of the most astonishing architectural monuments the world has ever known—Gothic cathedrals. We shall study the art, literature, intellectual life, economics, and new social arrangements that arose in the shadow of the cathedrals and that were such an important part of the revival of cities in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. The goal of the course is a better appreciation of the High Middle Ages, a world that is still recognizably our own....

Melhores avaliações

CL
7 de Jan de 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I learned so much about cathedrals and their history. The professor was engaging, the forums were lively, and the imagery and music was beautiful and inspirational.

JK
13 de Abr de 2021

Really enjoyed it. The information and way it was presented was very interesting. I would even do it again as it had a lot of information in it...cant wait to visit the cathedrals we studied about.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 150 Avaliações para o Age of Cathedrals

por Alan G

15 de Abr de 2021

Although an enjoyable course, it didn't quite live up to what I was expecting. probably more on the architecture and less on the biblical quotations, I know it is about cathedrals, would have been more enjoyable. I also felt that the qiuizzes/peer reviews did not seem to be in sync with the relevant week's lecture.

And as for peer reviews and this is a constant bugbear with me on Coursera courses, why have them?

por Debbie B

15 de Mai de 2020

I enjoyed the material and learned quite a bit about this time period. I am sure the developers of this particular course do not read the reviews. BUT would someone tell the developers, apparently not for the first time, that the essay question for Week 7 does not have anything to do with the course materials for that week. It is a waste of time to write an essay to a question that has already been asked.

por Kate S

24 de Dez de 2017

Great course! I really enjoyed the first 3 weeks and the detailed information on the history of cathedrals and how they were built. Instead of so much interpretation of stained glass windows, panel by panel and scene by scene, I would've appreciated a comparison of different cathedrals in different parts of Europe. But over all a good foundation for history-oriented travelers to France!

por Joao C B

21 de Jul de 2020

I liked the course and enjoyed many chapiters of it. But, I think that the Urban Phenomena's week could focus on more interesting topics than Peter Abelard and sexual behavior - why not, for example, St. Thomas Aquinas, or the guild's system? The suggested readings are not very specific too: entire works with hundreds of pages.

por Catherine S

15 de Abr de 2018

A little heavy on French history, but very interesting. I’m not a fan of peer reviews, and this has plenty of them, but at least the grades were a combination of quizzes and peer reviews.

por Sharon M

28 de Jan de 2021

A good course! I was hoping for more in-depth information on the actual design and construction of the cathedrals, but a lot was covered in the course and it was well worth it.

por Andrés B

2 de Jun de 2020

Un curso IDEAL para quien está fascinado por el período gótico y desea conocer más profundamente de la época y de sus construcciones y su vida

por Stanislava F

29 de Nov de 2017

Very interesting, but I would prefer more animated lectures and more details about the structure, since it is very important

por Jo N

23 de Fev de 2018

A most enjoyable course - I've learned a lot, some of which I never really wanted to know.

por Oleg P

4 de Abr de 2021

Great overview on history of a wonderfull piece of medieval culture — gothic cathedrals.

por jordi o j

22 de Abr de 2018

learnt a lot of things about medieval cathedrals, specially from saint Louis life.

por Alexandra C

13 de Jun de 2018

Lots of peer assessment but a very informative and enjoyable course!

por SJ T

25 de Jan de 2018

great crash course on Gothic cathedrals and French history.

por Olofin J P

29 de Jun de 2020

LECTURER WAS PHENOMANAL

VIDEO PRESENTATION WAS EXITING

por Joanna S

28 de Jun de 2018

I really enjoyed this course. It was so interesting.

por Jorge P F

2 de Mai de 2020

Very interesting course and I love the teacher

por Jéssica M

14 de Dez de 2020

Very good!

por Ygor K B

6 de Jun de 2019

Very good.

por Fatosin J F

8 de Jul de 2020

Good

por Merete M

19 de Dez de 2017

I have participated in another course at Yale, and there were not the many faults as in this course (wrong answers in quizzes). I find that questions in the essays were very different from the titles, and I find the questions in the four essays were very alike. I would have liked to write about "Biblia Pauperum"! Too many videos were more guide material than university level. Anyway it was interesting and I will look at the cathedrals in another way. Thank you.

por Susan A

28 de Jan de 2018

Mostly interesting overview of the building and architecture of a few of the great cathedrals, with a lot of sidebars about the lives of the kings and saints.

por Nathalie S F

17 de Jun de 2021

i​nteresting class, but not very varied, and a bit too long ...

por Francisco H

1 de Jul de 2020

las entregas de texto no se conducen con los videos

por Linda W

3 de Jun de 2019

I started out optimistically, but in the end I was disappointed by this course:

No list for further reading

No interesting discussions on the forums

Very long texts to read that did not really contribute to my understanding of the course

No active mentoring

Many frustrated people because there were not enough essays to review

por Anne S

14 de Jul de 2021

So far, the lectures are monotonous and mostly consist of the reading aloud of quotes, making them pretty hard to get through. Might depend on which angle you're interested in, but for those interested in art history, this course lacks high-quality visuals and interpretation and focuses on contextual details that don't always seem relevant or engaging. You're better off reading a good textbook.