Chevron Left
Voltar para Age of Cathedrals

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Age of Cathedrals da instituição Universidade Yale

4.7
estrelas
243 classificações
86 avaliações

Sobre o curso

An introduction to some of the most astonishing architectural monuments the world has ever known—Gothic cathedrals. We shall study the art, literature, intellectual life, economics, and new social arrangements that arose in the shadow of the cathedrals and that were such an important part of the revival of cities in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. The goal of the course is a better appreciation of the High Middle Ages, a world that is still recognizably our own....

Melhores avaliações

CL

Jan 08, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I learned so much about cathedrals and their history. The professor was engaging, the forums were lively, and the imagery and music was beautiful and inspirational.

DO

Apr 05, 2019

Thank you soo much for providing this great course online. I am almost at the finish line, and it’s been a great learning experience for me soo far. Thank you Coursera :), and Yale University.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 87 Avaliações para o Age of Cathedrals

por Alice K

Jan 25, 2018

Very interesting and well worth my time taking this course. I helped me appreciate not only the significance of the cathedrals, but the thinking and motivation of the medieval people.

por john c

Jul 11, 2018

A truly sublime course that takes you on a remarkable journey of discovery, in the safe and knowledgeable hands of our eminent guide, Howard Bloch Sterling Professor of French.

por Wendi S

Jan 23, 2018

The visuals for this course were very good. However, the presentation left a lot to be desired. There was a lot of reading to be done, which wasn't the problem. It supported what was being shown in the videos. However, during the videos the professor would then quote very large passages of what had already been read. This took away from the enjoyment of the topic. His voice was very monotonous, and having already read the information, a brief reference would have been better. Too much time was spent repeating information that had been covered. It was very obvious that the professor was reading off his cue cards. The title is misleading as one expects to learn about the cathedrals of the time period. Only three were ever discussed, and the rest of the lessons were only peripherally related.

por Kate J

Jan 01, 2018

This is the fifth Coursera class I have completed. While the topic is fascinating and the lectures good, it did not meet my high expectations based on previous experiences. It was not user friendly as there were wrong answers to quiz questions, writing assignments that did not reflect lecture content, and general lack of response from staff.

por Anna L

Jun 09, 2019

An amazing course! Although it only covers the first century and a half of the history of Gothic architecture (will a brief follow-up on the restoration campaign of the 19th century), it does so in a brilliant way, giving not only an overview on the origins and special features of Gothic as a a style, but also a broad historical and cultural context. Professor Bloch is a masterful storyteller, and listening to him was a real pleasure. All in all, this course is an excellent introduction to Gothic, but even if you already know a lot about medieval history and Gothic cathedrals (like myself), you'll surely learn something new from it!

por Maja B

Jan 09, 2020

An excellent and very inspiring introduction to medieval architecture, history and literature. Makes you want to study more and in-depth.

por Martha P T

May 04, 2019

El Dr. Bloch nos ha mostrado un mundo maravilloso a través de la Catedrales, la literatura y la historia. Conocí múltiples aspectos de la Edad Media. Los reyes, incluso santos como Luis IX,, los héroes como Roldán, los filósofos como Abelardo, extraordinarios abades y constructores como Suger o Sully. Esto nos permitió conocer diferentes formas de vida de la Edad Media.

Me parece, sin embargo, que podría mejorar el curso si se estudiaran más algunos conceptos religiosos y teológicos, que no son los adecuados en el curso. Por ejemplo, al único que se adora es a Dios, lo demás, se venera. En la obra de Dionisio Areopagita, la luz viene de Dios, pero no es Dios.

De todas maneras, le agradezco mucho al Dr. Howard Bloch por este regalo extraordinario.

por Alejandro

Jun 19, 2020

An excellent work, clear, dynamic and well argued and with technical, historical, religious references ... Professor Howard Bloch has taken into account the recipient of the information to understand the essentials of The Age of Cathedrals ... thanks to everyone ... I don't have the money for the certificate today but I appreciate this opportunity to YALE University and Coursera, Thank you very much.

Alejandro Chiodi

por Agnes G

Dec 24, 2018

I've enjoyed every minute of this course, 'The Age of Cathedrals' I would recommend it to anyone interested to learn more about Medieval history and architecture even if it is only a beginners course. It is wonderfully put together. Really very interesting, and we were well looked after by the mentors. Many thanks again to organisers, mentors and fellow students.

por Philip J

Jun 29, 2019

This is a fascinating course that teaches one to read the architecture of gothic cathedrals in the context of the social and economic changes of the twelfth century in France. The videos are compelling (and set to glorious music!) and the additional primary reading material is well-selected. I couldn't recommend this course more!

por Jairo R S S

May 13, 2020

Bien documentado y expuesto por un profesor que sabe muy bien lo que es dictar cátedra. Para mi gusto muy personal se extiende demasiado en el tema religioso y mucho menos en el arquitectónico. De todas maneras es muy agradable de seguir y se aprende bastante sobre ese periodo histórico. Gracias por la oportunidad.

por John K

Jun 15, 2020

A meticulous, comprehensive, and well-organized account of the subject, clearly presented and accompanied by enlightening supplementary materials. I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It deepened my understanding of the period and heightened my appreciation of its accomplishments. Thank you so much.

por Victoria A C

May 03, 2020

Me encanto este curso, sumamente interesante y muy bien explicado. No me arrepiento de haberlo hecho ahora me dan mas ganas de seguir estudiando estos temas!

Solo pediria que las lecturas y las preguntas tambien pudieran estar en español! Pero mas alla de eso, es un excelente curso!

por Evgeniia S

Mar 01, 2018

10/10! Well-structured, well-paced, not too easy, not too challenging. Writing little essays was a particular fun. I've learned a lot, enjoyed every minute and am very grateful to the professor! Would definitely take Age of Cathedrals II if there was one.

por Joy S

Feb 25, 2018

Super comprehensive, everything about the great cathedrals from history to mythical stories portrayed in stained glass to scriptural subjects portrayed. Many beautiful shots of both the cathedrals and their stained glass details. Fascinating.

por Ruben G

Jun 07, 2020

Excelente el curso, aprendí mucho sobre la arquitectura de las catedrales góticas y la motivación de sus constructores, mas las historias de santos, reyes y cruzadas de la "dulce Francia", un abrazo a todos desde Chile! muchas gracias!

por Ronald J D

Feb 24, 2018

A comprehensive, in-depth, and ruminant analysis about Gothic architecture, it's history, the lifestyle it influenced, and everything in between. Perfect for architects, architecture professors, and enthusiasts!

por Carol L

Jan 08, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I learned so much about cathedrals and their history. The professor was engaging, the forums were lively, and the imagery and music was beautiful and inspirational.

por Karen L

Jun 02, 2020

A well presented course that was both interesting and informative.

It has given me a thirst for further knowledge and the system of peer review worked well. I look forward to my next Coursera course.

por Don O

Apr 05, 2019

Thank you soo much for providing this great course online. I am almost at the finish line, and it’s been a great learning experience for me soo far. Thank you Coursera :), and Yale University.

por Cynthia L S

Jan 28, 2018

This course far exceeded what I was expecting. He explained the statuary on the exterior, the symbolism relating to the beautiful stained-glass windows and introduced me to

por Matt S

May 06, 2020

Age of Cathedrals is an excellent course. I enjoyed the videos and most of the readings.

The only negative is that some of the readings are very difficult to get through.

por José A R M

Jun 17, 2020

It has been a great experience because in a few weeks I could see not only the architecture but the ideology and the society that stands just behand

por Baudouin V

Jun 26, 2020

Amazing class if you are interested in architecture or the Middle Ages ! Pr makes it very interesting with a lot of concrete and detailed examples

por Angela T

Mar 28, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and learnt a great deal. It was really well presented with very good lectures and images. It was excellent.