Chevron Left
Voltar para Advanced Algorithms and Complexity

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Advanced Algorithms and Complexity da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.6
estrelas
578 classificações
110 avaliações

Sobre o curso

You've learned the basic algorithms now and are ready to step into the area of more complex problems and algorithms to solve them. Advanced algorithms build upon basic ones and use new ideas. We will start with networks flows which are used in more typical applications such as optimal matchings, finding disjoint paths and flight scheduling as well as more surprising ones like image segmentation in computer vision. We then proceed to linear programming with applications in optimizing budget allocation, portfolio optimization, finding the cheapest diet satisfying all requirements and many others. Next we discuss inherently hard problems for which no exact good solutions are known (and not likely to be found) and how to solve them in practice. We finish with a soft introduction to streaming algorithms that are heavily used in Big Data processing. Such algorithms are usually designed to be able to process huge datasets without being able even to store a dataset....

Melhores avaliações

FS
21 de Out de 2020

It's was great to learn advanced algorithms and complexity. Besides, I learn new topics that can help me further learning. All the problems and the lectures were very good.

EM
3 de Jan de 2018

As usual, complex arguments explained in simple terms!\n\nSome problems are really tough! (e.g. there's a problem from Google Code Jam).\n\nThank you for this course!

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 108 Avaliações para o Advanced Algorithms and Complexity

por Jason M

26 de Jul de 2019

Very Educational and Enlightening. The only criticism I have is that the starter files generally need more modification than indicated to create a successful program.

por Radim V

7 de Mai de 2018

The only thing I missed in this course (and specialization) was more visual, intuitive approach to explanation. Programming assignments are rewarding.

por Abdur R S

3 de Nov de 2020

after 2 week rest weeks are fun with Alexander S. Kulikov.

Daniel M kane, does not meet our need.

But overall this course has many thing to learn.

por Vasily V

27 de Abr de 2018

Excellent course. One star less just because there are not very clean test cases for one particular problem among programming assignments

por Bharti S

29 de Nov de 2019

Thank you so much. You are doing such a great work but i appreciate if you explain week-2 (linear programming) in detail. Thank you.

por Rihaan U S 1

7 de Abr de 2019

Very informative course with challenging assignments. It will surely make your data structure concepts clearer.

por Shreyansh G

1 de Mai de 2020

Great course! , learned a lot of new algorithms.

although week 2 could have been better.

por Lee B U

15 de Mai de 2020

It was good but it should supplement the contents of Linear programming.

por SHAYON G

3 de Jun de 2020

very crisp and concise! would definitely recommend

por D V S S R

16 de Mar de 2019

nice and some difficult

por Ak@sh

20 de Jun de 2017

Good course!

por Swethaa R

8 de Jun de 2020

Really Nice

por Yuzhe T

21 de Set de 2016

有点难。

por Alexander M

29 de Jun de 2017

.

por Niraj S

11 de Jan de 2017

While I like the content of the course but I felt too much of topics were crammed into one single course. I had to struggle a lot to grasp the concepts on advanced algorithms by just relying on video lectures so I had to look around in the internet for additional resources. Nonetheless it was a satisfying experience though it took me a lot of time and effort to complete the assignments.

por John B

7 de Mai de 2018

A lot of really useful algorithms are covered in this course, however some of the presentation is annoyingly sparse on details (particularly in the section on network flows).

por Juho V

13 de Set de 2018

Lectures are mostly good. Assignments not. They are often very difficult in an uninteresting way such as unintuitive input formats and / or template code.

por Daniel P

31 de Mar de 2018

Too much emphasis on implementation details (99%), so one doesn't get a great intuitive understanding of the logic of algorithms.

por HussamAldeen S

27 de Ago de 2019

Course content is very good, however the lectures are hard to follow because the examples are always at the end.

por Saurab D

15 de Out de 2018

The lectures are very abstract so, I had some difficulty in solving the assignment problems.

por Ahmed A

15 de Ago de 2017

Some of the material was not sufficiently covered or explained

por Valeriano T

7 de Out de 2017

Too much material for the time given :(

por JICHEN W

28 de Jan de 2018

very challenging

por Jose P E

2 de Nov de 2017

I'd give it more stars, but, sadly, when I started the specialization, the professors were very responsive and active in the forums, giving help and guidance.

However, more than a year after the specialization started, (this is the fifth course), the professors were totally absent, precisely when I needed their help!

I hope they'll be back or assign someone else to answer the questions of the students in the forums.

por Dmitri M

9 de Mai de 2017

I have finished the specialization. The first 4 parts were more or less useful. Unfortunately, Advanced Algorithms and Complexity is a poorly implemented course. Some interesting assignments but lectures are pedagogically lacking (e.g., the Simplex Method isn't covered at all).