Chevron Left
Voltar para Advanced Algorithms and Complexity

Advanced Algorithms and Complexity, University of California San Diego

4.5
233 classificações
54 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

You've learned the basic algorithms now and are ready to step into the area of more complex problems and algorithms to solve them. Advanced algorithms build upon basic ones and use new ideas. We will start with networks flows which are used in more typical applications such as optimal matchings, finding disjoint paths and flight scheduling as well as more surprising ones like image segmentation in computer vision. We then proceed to linear programming with applications in optimizing budget allocation, portfolio optimization, finding the cheapest diet satisfying all requirements and many others. Next we discuss inherently hard problems for which no exact good solutions are known (and not likely to be found) and how to solve them in practice. We finish with a soft introduction to streaming algorithms that are heavily used in Big Data processing. Such algorithms are usually designed to be able to process huge datasets without being able even to store a dataset....

Melhores avaliações

por EM

Jan 04, 2018

As usual, complex arguments explained in simple terms!\n\nSome problems are really tough! (e.g. there's a problem from Google Code Jam).\n\nThank you for this course!

por AS

Jun 15, 2018

Another great course in this specialization with challenging and interesting assignments. However, this one is somewhat harder but rewarding.

Filtrar por:

52 avaliações

por Kehan Bao

Nov 06, 2018

This module is by far the hardest in this specialization, but at the same time, it is rewarding. The only complaint I have is the Linear Programming part. I wish there was more explanation or some toy examples to go through the algorithm.

por Chin Jung Cheng

Nov 06, 2018

really hard

por João Henrique Lisboa Figueiredo

Oct 22, 2018

Great course, thank you! My only remark is that it sometimes assumes that you have lots of prior knowledge on programming in my opinion. I'm a non-tech guy trying to increase my knowledge of the field, and I've had a very hard time trying to find additional resources to solve some of the problems and to grasp some of the content. If we could have a bit more color on some of the harder parts during the course it'd be great.

por Saurab Dhoubhadel

Oct 15, 2018

The lectures are very abstract so, I had some difficulty in solving the assignment problems.

por Madhusudan H J

Oct 14, 2018

When they say advanced algorithms and complexity, they mean it. I was initially under the presumption that it would be a straight forward video course, without any assignments. But when I had to start with programming assignments that's when the real test started. Amazing set of tutorials. Would have liked if the courses had more varied examples.

por To Phung Huy

Sep 27, 2018

Very bad course content for some modules

Many abstract concepts and mathematical terms but with severe lack of explanation of the terms and lack of specific, concrete examples to help learners to understand them

For example: in LP module there should be example of how the primal and dual matrix looks. How simplex algorithm is used on a specific example (showing explicit graph). I undertood only 25% of what was discussed about in this module

No motivation to move on after week 2!

Other weeks are slightly better

In summary: Too many abstract concepts with little examples

por Juho Vuori

Sep 13, 2018

Lectures are mostly good. Assignments not. They are often very difficult in an uninteresting way such as unintuitive input formats and / or template code.

por Joseph Gonzalez Nowak

Sep 02, 2018

An incredible course,the exercises were very interesting

por Raunak Narayan

Jul 31, 2018

this course gave me hell of a time

por Henry Read

Jul 21, 2018

Very hard to follow the lectures, completly lost without Reference books such as Introduction to Algorithms.