Chevron Left
Voltar para O Cérebro dos Dependentes

Comentários e feedback de alunos de O Cérebro dos Dependentes da instituição Universidade Emory

4.6
estrelas
1,473 classificações
368 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course about addiction to drugs and other behaviors. It will describe what happens in the brain and how this information helps us deal with and overcome addiction. It will also discuss other topics such as government policy and our vulnerability to take drugs....

Melhores avaliações

CP

Apr 02, 2018

I learned a lot from this course that I have been able to use in a ministry capacity. If you are trying to help others with addiction or understand it for yourself, this is the course for you.

AN

Mar 30, 2017

This course is truly wonderful, many intellectual mind-opening surprises... for example I almost fell out of my chair when I learned of vaccinations development effort to counter addiction.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o O Cérebro dos Dependentes

por Justin D

Oct 23, 2015

This course was beyond informative. I too have been exposed to those afflicted by addiction and am to deal with it on a daily basis with those whom are in life even now. The information taught in an "Easy To Learn" manner by Dr. Kuhar was incredible. I now understand the functioning of an "Addicts" brain much more thoroughly. I'm grateful this course was a presentation in which I was honored to be able to be a participant.

por Paul B

Oct 07, 2015

An extreamly interesting and enlightening course. The instructor, professor Kuhar, is an incredible lecturer with very pleasurable voice and amicable attitude. The topics of drugs and addiction is discussed on many levels, from phisiology to societal changes. I would certainly recommend this course to anyone who wish to better understand the problem of addiction because of either personal reasons or academic interest.

por Helen F

Sep 25, 2015

The individual course topics were evenly distributed and presented in a meticulous, thorough, as well as elaborate manner. The lecturer was inviting and encouraging, whereas the technical specifications of the video lectures and quizzes were exceptionally good. In overall, the ''Addicted Brain'' course positively predisposes me towards opting for more courses provided and sponsored by the Emory University.

por Rae J H

Nov 02, 2017

This course taught me the intricacies of our brains and drug use. As an addict it was very informative and it helped in my decision to quit abusing drugs and to be clean and sober. As of the date of this review, I have been sober for 2 years. Thank you for offering this course and for granting me financial aid to pay for the course. Coursera has helped to turn my life around in a positive way.

por Filipa A M R

Sep 09, 2015

As a trainee lawyer I found this course quite good and helpful.

In Portugal we have a lot of drug issues. Knowing how drug addiction works in the human brain might be helpful, especially on court, where some individuals are convicted for drug issues when, sometimes, it's not only their choice.

Thank you for the course. I hope there are more courses available for this kind of issues.

por Gita E

Jul 05, 2019

This course is amazing and well-taught by a wonderful emeritus professor. As someone interning at the ER from 7-5 PM every weekday, the course load for this course is not unbearable. I was able to complete at least 4-5 videos every day while at the ER. Now that I have completed the course, I have a better understanding of how addiction precautions can be applied at the ER.

por Shayantani C

Mar 03, 2016

One of the finest courses of the Coursera. The topic is interesting as to how certain release of chemical neurotransmitter is involved in day to day life factors . The experiments and scanning of the brain imaging techniques show how the brain responds in various factors like how a drug addicted brain differs from the normal brain in metabolism. Interesting

por Rick W

Oct 20, 2017

Addiction is a major problem in the U.S. I wanted to gather as much information as possible to understand both the problem and some the major solutions to successfully attack the problem. This course is one I highly recommend to anyone who is concerned and who may wish to work to help reduce drug addiction. Dr Kuhar has offered a great learning experience.

por Qianyi O

Sep 23, 2015

I did this course last year, since I had psychological knowledge so it was not too hard to understand all the concepts. What really attracts me is the forum, I just tried to post my question about assignment at forum, then quickly got a reply from my peer, from then on, I started to participate on forum discussion and did learn a lot. So, come to join us!

por RISSER-MAROIX

Sep 24, 2015

Highly rated course.

A very good choice for youngs and seniors with addiction or not. Very important to prevent addictive trends and to help addicted people, because Dr Michael KUHAR explains very clearly and very simply with a choice of experiment and other examples, complex brain behaviors. Thank you to Emory University and to Coursera too.

por MARTINE J

Jul 01, 2018

This course was absolutely great, somehow sometimes difficult because I am not english native and neither in a medical field. All the knowledge I discovered is so interesting! And it also helps to open one's mind to see drug addiction and drug users with an other point of view! Thank so much for the quality of your course. Martine

por LAKSHMI V

Mar 23, 2020

I have taken 7 courses in coursera till now, and among all I find this one the best one. The course was structured beautifully, with case studies, reviews and good end week quizes. The professor was amazing and I truly learnt a lot.I would like to thank emory university for giving me such a great learning experience.

por mary h

Aug 12, 2016

I found this course well structured and concise. It covered a lot of the subject with up to date information. It had helpful diagrams and gave good real life examples. Highly recommend for everyone to help understand substance misuse and possible treatments. Also it's role in the wider society.

por Adriana B d A

Apr 09, 2017

I learnt so much about addiction and what it does to the brain...I wish I known this since I was a teen. I have been sharing my learning with my family and friends and looking forward to helping my community in this aspect. Thank you ever so much for such valuable AND LIFE SAVING INFORMATION!

por Angela T

Jun 02, 2016

I am a graduate student of counseling. This course added a dimension to my coursework and future career that was both needed and very much appreciated. Ideas are broken-down into understandable portions. It is helpful to have some knowledge of how neurons work and terms associated therein.

por Alvaro D R L

Jun 18, 2018

One of the best courses about Drugs, taking them in an objective way, very interesting and complex enough for undergrads, it's good to know also about policies, treatment and decriminalization. Would like to be in a course focused only in pharmacokinetics of drugs by the same insitution.

por Jannatul M R

May 24, 2020

I have completed the course. 😇 I think, Michael J. Kuhar is an amazing instructor and I am impressed by his teaching capabilities. It was quite easy to follow the whole materials. Loved this course and eagerly waiting to do more courses on addiction. Thank you Coursera and Mr. Kuhar.❤️

por Somya M

May 21, 2020

Listening to this course by Michael Kuhar gave an immense feeling of satisfaction of understanding a complex subject in a simpler way and that too with interest. Adding to the icing is the review towards the end of each week and after last week. The best on Coursera so far! Thank you!

por Niranjana B

Jan 02, 2018

The Course had a good view of the Drug classes and the structured ways of getting out of it, the compulsions and the related health syndromes that makes one to relapse.

This is a good course for any one who wants to get to the ways of Brain functions and the drug interactions.

por Pat C

Oct 05, 2015

Great course. I liked the deadline notification option. I also liked the opportunity to complete work at my own pace with the final deadline the end of the course. With my busy schedule, this option was wonderful and allowed me to complete all of the assignments for credit.

por George C

Sep 16, 2019

Lessons are very informative and some in the advanced weeks can be very challenging if you do not have a science background. But all round, the professor explains all concepts very clearly and gives review questions at the end of every video lesson. The quizzes are good too.

por Anubhav Motilal

Apr 23, 2020

This course is a fairly good course if you want to learn the basic mechanisms that underlie substance abuse and the consequences on an individual and the society as a whole. It is substantiated with research studies and gives you a pretty comprehensive understanding of it.

por Larissa A

Apr 17, 2020

The course was very well structured and with the right amount of information for beginners. I would love to deepen my knowledge in future courses about other types of "addictions" such as how the mechanisms of food reward happens and leads humans to emotional eating issues.

por Abigail W

Apr 10, 2020

This has really helped me have a better understanding of addiction. I am a high school human development teacher, and I will be able to give this information to my students and feel more confident about it. It will strike some interesting conversations, and I cannot wait!

por Kamila Ś

Nov 09, 2016

A wonderful and enlightening course with clear and precise explanations on how does a drug influenced brain function. The course also looks into human and animal behaviour and the nature of addiction and motivation. I recommend it to anyone interested in the matter.