Chevron Left
Voltar para O Cérebro dos Dependentes

Comentários e feedback de alunos de O Cérebro dos Dependentes da instituição Universidade Emory

4.6
estrelas
2,007 classificações
492 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course about addiction to drugs and other behaviors. It will describe what happens in the brain and how this information helps us deal with and overcome addiction. It will also discuss other topics, such as government policy and our vulnerability to take drugs....

Melhores avaliações

ER
23 de Jul de 2020

One of the best course. Before I took up this course I have negative feelings towards the drugs addicts. But this course completely change my behavior and opinions towards them. Thank you so much.

CP
1 de Abr de 2018

I learned a lot from this course that I have been able to use in a ministry capacity. If you are trying to help others with addiction or understand it for yourself, this is the course for you.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 486 Avaliações para o O Cérebro dos Dependentes

por Joslyn L

30 de Out de 2015

Feels underwritten by the DEA, and aimed at perhaps high school students? Very slow pace; info could've been distilled into less than half the lectures (I completed the '7 weeks' in 3 days). Doesn't really distinguish between users without serious problems & addicts (which I believe amplifies gateway effects & experimentation once people meet users who aren't brain damaged or addicts). Creates an exaggerated and arbitrary distinction between prescribed drugs as all good and recreational as all bad, and dismisses any possible benefits of substances that are not legal, noting only that medical marijuana has been helpful for HIV patients, which is certainly an understatement. Components are also helpful for cancer patients, anxiety, and more. Perhaps break this into studies of common drugs, how they work, & effects and separately, the mechanisms of addiction and treatment. However, I appreciated the 'reduce harm' policy economics.

por Anna K

9 de Jun de 2019

Too slow, not enough visual material, not well structured. Shallow, whole program could be packed down to just 3 lectures.

por Rae J H

2 de Nov de 2017

This course taught me the intricacies of our brains and drug use. As an addict it was very informative and it helped in my decision to quit abusing drugs and to be clean and sober. As of the date of this review, I have been sober for 2 years. Thank you for offering this course and for granting me financial aid to pay for the course. Coursera has helped to turn my life around in a positive way.

por Maher K

5 de Jan de 2019

A really good course! It is wide in scope with good depth of the data presented yet is done in a simple and non-complicated way .Relevant literature and refernces were also intorduced which I appreciated .I do recommend it to all my collegues at the clinic where I work !

por Jaime R

8 de Abr de 2018

Great course on the effects on drugs for the brain. Great for me and will have my children go for it as soon as they are old enough. The professor's commitment to harm reduction is touching

por Abe N

29 de Mar de 2017

This course is truly wonderful, many intellectual mind-opening surprises... for example I almost fell out of my chair when I learned of vaccinations development effort to counter addiction.

por Daniel M C

14 de Mai de 2016

very boring and didn't learn anything i didn't already know. this was more like watching an anti drug propaganda film that I couldn't finish it.

por Munzar A S

29 de Set de 2015

Really disappointing course. Content is shallow, despite the impressive credentials of the Professor. Quizzes are ridiculously easy.

por Renate G

17 de Fev de 2018

A lot of prejustice in the way teacher is explaining. I think this course is aiming for addicted students.

por Rick W

20 de Out de 2017

Addiction is a major problem in the U.S. I wanted to gather as much information as possible to understand both the problem and some the major solutions to successfully attack the problem. This course is one I highly recommend to anyone who is concerned and who may wish to work to help reduce drug addiction. Dr Kuhar has offered a great learning experience.

por Sofia L G S

24 de Dez de 2018

Lectures are very easy to follow and covers a lot of information. The extra reading suggested is very useful and helps to understant drugs and their consequiences. I think this course is interesting enough to get deeper into every topic mentioned.

por Giorgia B

11 de Jan de 2019

This a Complete Course, as I was expecting it to be in my best hopes and much more. It covers all sides and shadows of drugs and addiction and analyse the phenomenon a very deep but comprehensible way, even in the most scientific lessons.

por Christy P

2 de Abr de 2018

I learned a lot from this course that I have been able to use in a ministry capacity. If you are trying to help others with addiction or understand it for yourself, this is the course for you.

por Cody J K

29 de Jun de 2016

Helped me understand why my left my family for a life of meth addiction. I am thankful that it has reduced my stress and anger ove3 what she has done. even a small amount of understanding

por M N M

17 de Ago de 2015

Excellent and interesting course on a very important topic. Very professional production and high quality lectures. It was quite easy, apart from the brain chemistry sections.

por Dimitri D

28 de Jun de 2018

have seen a few first lectures re definitions of additions, drugs etc. Not particularly impressive - it didn't seem to be based on the current scientific evidence in the domain to me, so not too encouraging to continue. de-enrolling.

por Dr. S G P

27 de Fev de 2021

Through media, we have an idea that drugs can be addicting. This course is very helpful in understanding how a drug can be addicting. First, the course clearly distinct between addiction and dependence. From there, it classifies various classes (10 to be specific) of addicting drugs, which includes caffeine! As a biologist, what caught my attention were the animations that beautifully explained the neurotransmission process and how it is altered by drugs in the discussion. Michael Kuhar is an excellent instructor. I am confident that I could understand 99 % of the very relevant information provided in this course. I definitely recommend the course to those who are interested in the topic. In addition, the course if mandated in schools or colleges will definitely provide the required awareness in the area of drug abuse and drug addiction.

por azadeh e

1 de Nov de 2015

well, since i got stocked with my university homework, i couldn't get the chance to finish this course as i was expecting to. but, definitely i would like to let you know that this has been an amazing journey for me, an ADHD who is obligated to be on ritalin so that the society gets comfortable around me. although it never made me feel better about myself, but it made people around me to stop complaining about my energy. after all, i am still an addict to this pill, but at the end, thanks to Emory University guys, i succeeded to know my body and what it goes through when i tend to not be ADHD. i have never got to reach the treatment parts, but at least i'm going to give a lecture on the side effects of ritalin in university.

at the end, thanks, for letting us know. that was the best gift ever :)

por Dr.Sujatha N

8 de Mai de 2017

The course is excellent and conveys all that needs to be conveyed in short modules that are simple and at the same time explanatory.

There is an option of treatment for addiction to alcohol and drug use wherein completely stopping the substance is achieved through an in house residential treatment that is absolutely voluntary and that incorporates along with Counseling, various Meditation techniques that have proven to be psychotherapeutic along with introspective writing ; wherein family counseling and therapy is given equal importance . all this in a non judgemental accepting loving luxurious environs. Please visit www.anatta.in

Thank you !

Dr.Sujatha Nair

por Edmund S R

24 de Jul de 2020

One of the best course. Before I took up this course I have negative feelings towards the drugs addicts. But this course completely change my behavior and opinions towards them. Thank you so much.

por Muhammad F D

22 de Ago de 2020

The course was much deeper than I thought and it covered advanced concepts. I am overall extremely satisfied as I was able to enhance my knowledge of on the subject of drugs in particular

por Rajpal C

1 de Fev de 2021

it truly increased my knowledge in the drug addiction problems. fully satisfied

por Ibrahim K M

12 de Dez de 2018

the questions are not very serious

por fernando g u

24 de Mai de 2019

Buen curso.

por Guadalupe G G

13 de Set de 2019

;e es imposible tomar el curso, dado que no se puede traducir al español. Es inaccesible lamentablemente