Chevron Left
Voltar para O Cérebro dos Dependentes

Comentários e feedback de alunos de O Cérebro dos Dependentes da instituição Universidade Emory

4.6
estrelas
1,826 classificações
456 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course about addiction to drugs and other behaviors. It will describe what happens in the brain and how this information helps us deal with and overcome addiction. It will also discuss other topics such as government policy and our vulnerability to take drugs....

Melhores avaliações

ER
23 de Jul de 2020

One of the best course. Before I took up this course I have negative feelings towards the drugs addicts. But this course completely change my behavior and opinions towards them. Thank you so much.

CP
1 de Abr de 2018

I learned a lot from this course that I have been able to use in a ministry capacity. If you are trying to help others with addiction or understand it for yourself, this is the course for you.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 454 Avaliações para o O Cérebro dos Dependentes

por xiaobozhou

13 de Fev de 2016

This course is very helpful. I have kept learning this course and completed the quiz. It helps me understand the mechanism of the addiction, what is dopamine and how it works, the class of the illicit drugs, the animal self-administration model and what can I learn from the animal experiment, the vulnerability for addiction, and risk and protective factors of addiction, neuroimaging studies of addiction. Most of all, I have a better understanding of addiction. The pronunciation of the Professor is so clear and helps me to improve my English. Thanks very much. I enjoy it.

por Maria W

19 de Ago de 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. This has given me plenty of material to discuss with friends and family regarding the effects of drug use, not just through description of symptoms, but also being able to describe how drugs affect neurotransmission in the brain. I have a few friends who have struggled with addiction and this has not only opened up an avenue for me to speak to them about addiction but also helped me understand why they continue to relapse into drug and alcohol abuse. Thank you very much for this course - I learned so much!

por Juste E M

31 de Out de 2018

Woaao i, MALANDILA Juste Elysée confirm you that this course has been amazing, but our wonderful lecture made it possible by his obvious teaching skills. I have learn so much about news good concepts, i have deepen my insight of the addicted brain and most important Complete my Qualification as a MASTER's Degree holder in Fundamentale & Applied Toxicology" & Biochemistry (BSc)....So guys for those who are interested " I Strogngly invite you to benefit & maybe change your perceptive of the ADDICTED BRAIN & more....

por Lourdes C

2 de Set de 2020

I found it very interesting and educational. eventhough I can't agree whn he said that it's not needed the agrement of the addicted to be succesful in treatments, such as court mandates. I strongly believe that willling is needed. in treatment, the drug or addiction is not even near, but in real life it is, and the memory of the "good feeling" and the idea of having succeded, might make them go over again and again. it is needed the acceptance and willingness of the patient to be really succesful.

Thank you.

por Mrudula B

11 de Jun de 2020

Absolutely loved this course! Concepts are well explained and simplified. Definately reccomend this course to those who want to learn about the different types of drugs, its mechanism, who is vulnerable to drugs, etc. This course has changed my perspective towards substance abusers and helped me understand that addiction is a disorder of the brain and how important it is for us to show compassion towards the victims and break the stigma attached towards drug-addicts.

por Taiki K

6 de Mai de 2017

A general introductory course on the biological basis of drug addiction. It is very well-explained, with supporting graphs and animations, which facilitate the understanding of the phisiological mechanisms. At the same time, the lectures raise thought-provoking questions and encourage the student to continue exploring many different areas of research around the vast world of drug addiction at a biological, personal, or social level. Fascinating and instructive.

por Emma C M P

2 de Set de 2019

¡Muy completo! Aprendí cosas que ignoraba por completo, incluyendo aquellas que parecen obvias. Me di cuenta de que, si yo no estaba enterada de cosas que van desde lo sencillo hasta algo más complejo, quienes no están interesados en conocer a fondo el tema de las drogas están más propensos a distintos y mayores riesgos debido a la falta de información. Creo que es importante que todos estemos informados al respecto, sin importar si las consumimos o no.

por Karl J B

18 de Nov de 2020

This was absolutely amazing. I must say that my native language isn't English, so it was hard sometimes, but I couldn't wait for my brain to rest a bit and then take the next lecture. It has motivated me and boosted me with some new energy to do some great things. Hope to use this information in the best way possible. Really greatful! Thank you doctors, operators, and all other people who have been a a part of creating this course. Thnak you!

por Justin D

23 de Out de 2015

This course was beyond informative. I too have been exposed to those afflicted by addiction and am to deal with it on a daily basis with those whom are in life even now. The information taught in an "Easy To Learn" manner by Dr. Kuhar was incredible. I now understand the functioning of an "Addicts" brain much more thoroughly. I'm grateful this course was a presentation in which I was honored to be able to be a participant.

por Paul B

7 de Out de 2015

An extreamly interesting and enlightening course. The instructor, professor Kuhar, is an incredible lecturer with very pleasurable voice and amicable attitude. The topics of drugs and addiction is discussed on many levels, from phisiology to societal changes. I would certainly recommend this course to anyone who wish to better understand the problem of addiction because of either personal reasons or academic interest.

por Helen F

25 de Set de 2015

The individual course topics were evenly distributed and presented in a meticulous, thorough, as well as elaborate manner. The lecturer was inviting and encouraging, whereas the technical specifications of the video lectures and quizzes were exceptionally good. In overall, the ''Addicted Brain'' course positively predisposes me towards opting for more courses provided and sponsored by the Emory University.

por Filipa A M R

9 de Set de 2015

As a trainee lawyer I found this course quite good and helpful.

In Portugal we have a lot of drug issues. Knowing how drug addiction works in the human brain might be helpful, especially on court, where some individuals are convicted for drug issues when, sometimes, it's not only their choice.

Thank you for the course. I hope there are more courses available for this kind of issues.

por GAUTHAM S B R C

7 de Ago de 2020

A very informative course on various addictions due to drugs and the problems caused by addiction to the drugs both in the short run and long run. This course also focuses on the various aspects of legal and illegal drugs, various classes of drugs, neurotransmitters, etc. Overall, it's a great course with follow up questions at the end of each lecture. Recommended for everyone...

por Gita E

4 de Jul de 2019

This course is amazing and well-taught by a wonderful emeritus professor. As someone interning at the ER from 7-5 PM every weekday, the course load for this course is not unbearable. I was able to complete at least 4-5 videos every day while at the ER. Now that I have completed the course, I have a better understanding of how addiction precautions can be applied at the ER.

por Shayantani C

3 de Mar de 2016

One of the finest courses of the Coursera. The topic is interesting as to how certain release of chemical neurotransmitter is involved in day to day life factors . The experiments and scanning of the brain imaging techniques show how the brain responds in various factors like how a drug addicted brain differs from the normal brain in metabolism. Interesting

por Qianyi O

23 de Set de 2015

I did this course last year, since I had psychological knowledge so it was not too hard to understand all the concepts. What really attracts me is the forum, I just tried to post my question about assignment at forum, then quickly got a reply from my peer, from then on, I started to participate on forum discussion and did learn a lot. So, come to join us!

por RISSER-MAROIX

24 de Set de 2015

Highly rated course.

A very good choice for youngs and seniors with addiction or not. Very important to prevent addictive trends and to help addicted people, because Dr Michael KUHAR explains very clearly and very simply with a choice of experiment and other examples, complex brain behaviors. Thank you to Emory University and to Coursera too.

por MARTINE J

1 de Jul de 2018

This course was absolutely great, somehow sometimes difficult because I am not english native and neither in a medical field. All the knowledge I discovered is so interesting! And it also helps to open one's mind to see drug addiction and drug users with an other point of view! Thank so much for the quality of your course. Martine

por RUBEN D M R

27 de Out de 2020

Excelente texto de aprendizaje: recursivo, pedagogico y altamente academico. El material visual de gran soporte pedagógico y la calidad de los correlatos acadmémicos ayudan a darle peso a la seriedad del problema tratado. Las lecturas de gran riqueza académica y al nivel del programa propuesto. muchas Gracias por este regalo.

por Lakshmi V

23 de Mar de 2020

I have taken 7 courses in coursera till now, and among all I find this one the best one. The course was structured beautifully, with case studies, reviews and good end week quizes. The professor was amazing and I truly learnt a lot.I would like to thank emory university for giving me such a great learning experience.

por Malamati V

10 de Nov de 2020

I really enjoyed the course, it was very educational and all the concepts were explained thoroughly and multiple times. I would further suggest the creation of an "honors" extra course (extra weeks included in the existing course) with further information on the neurobiology of drugs in the brain.

por mary h

12 de Ago de 2016

I found this course well structured and concise. It covered a lot of the subject with up to date information. It had helpful diagrams and gave good real life examples. Highly recommend for everyone to help understand substance misuse and possible treatments. Also it's role in the wider society.

por Adriana B d A

9 de Abr de 2017

I learnt so much about addiction and what it does to the brain...I wish I known this since I was a teen. I have been sharing my learning with my family and friends and looking forward to helping my community in this aspect. Thank you ever so much for such valuable AND LIFE SAVING INFORMATION!

por Angela T

2 de Jun de 2016

I am a graduate student of counseling. This course added a dimension to my coursework and future career that was both needed and very much appreciated. Ideas are broken-down into understandable portions. It is helpful to have some knowledge of how neurons work and terms associated therein.

por Alvaro D R L

17 de Jun de 2018

One of the best courses about Drugs, taking them in an objective way, very interesting and complex enough for undergrads, it's good to know also about policies, treatment and decriminalization. Would like to be in a course focused only in pharmacokinetics of drugs by the same insitution.